Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to change TV settings when watching this
This is not the first 3D DVD or blu-ray, yet I still see reviews from people that do not understand that "good" 3D requires technology that does not yet exist in our homes. I even saw one review reference the fact that using blue and red glasses does not consitute 3D. Anaglyph 3D has existed for decades.

Anaglpyh 3D will have varied results from person to...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Jonathan I. Statt

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1-3
I really enjoyed the first three movies in the Final Destination series (mini-reviews of all 3 earlier in this thread) because of their inventive death scenes surrounding an interesting storyline and better-than-average-for-a-teen-Hollywood-horror dialogue. The fourth film, wittingly titled The Final Destination by some idiotic Hollywood worker who has obviously never...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by BPR


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1-3, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the first three movies in the Final Destination series (mini-reviews of all 3 earlier in this thread) because of their inventive death scenes surrounding an interesting storyline and better-than-average-for-a-teen-Hollywood-horror dialogue. The fourth film, wittingly titled The Final Destination by some idiotic Hollywood worker who has obviously never catalogued titles at home in alphabetical order, is unfortunately not as good as the rest of the series. The opening accident is actually quite good and there is a rather cool death by tyre, but after that, the imaginitive deaths I have come to love have been replaced by death scenes which, although a little different, pail in comparison. The main cast are nowhere near as interesting as the Clear's or Wendy's of previous installmants and I just found it got old a little fast. It's still enjoyable enough for a viewing, and fans of the series should get some enjoyment out of it, but it's overall disappointing and a low-end rental. 2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin., 16 Jan 2010
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
Though they aren't gonna win any awards, I love the final destination films, they're a bit of fun , not really scary but don't take them too seriously and you won't be disappointed. This instalment is definately not as good as the first two and is probably on a par with the third but it's still worth watching.The product itself is fine , it has two discs ,one in 2d and one in 3d though I wouldn't bother with the 3d version at home , it is only effective in cinemas with the proper glasses and will probably give you a headache.There are also a selection of special features which are not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to change TV settings when watching this, 31 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not the first 3D DVD or blu-ray, yet I still see reviews from people that do not understand that "good" 3D requires technology that does not yet exist in our homes. I even saw one review reference the fact that using blue and red glasses does not consitute 3D. Anaglyph 3D has existed for decades.

Anaglpyh 3D will have varied results from person to person. For example, in this film, it uses red and blue lenses where the red lens covers the left eye. Due to the wavelength of red, this means the left eye will not get any other colour information. This means the wider colour information comes in to the right eye with the blue lens. Most people have a "dominant eye", a bit like being right or left handed. If that dominant eye is your left eye, then you will likely see little or no colour other than red. If your dominant eye is your right eye, then you will get a better experience. Interestingly some blu-ray 3D movies have used magenta and green lenses, where the magenta lens is over the right eye. So this alternative scheme standard works better for those who are left-eye dominant.

It is very important when watching this film to increase the brightness setting on your display. The glasses will cause a loss of light, and you need to compensate for that. You may also find it beneficial to increase contrast as well. This will minimise ghosting and increase the 3D impact. Of course we are not dealing with videophile accuracy here...just creating an enjoyable 3D experience. Note that anaglpyh 3D can cause a level of eye strain and so you may need to stop mid-way for a break. Not compensating the TV settings first to allow for the glasses will likely increase eye strain.

It ia also important to understand that 3D immersion depends on screen size. For example, Avatar is playing at both regular cinemas and IMAX cinemas in 3D, but the 3D effect observed in the huge IMAX screen is much greater. So in the home, expect the experience to be one of greater depth with slight "out of the screen" rather than feeling something is coming out to 2 inches infront of your nose.

I have watched this through. If you understand what the movie is from the outset, a semi-horror flick with some gore and some cringe moments, and you like that kind of thing, you will enjoy it. If you are expecting some deep meaningful drama with a coherent storyline and plot, you are in the wrong place.

The 3D worked quite well on this film having adjusted the display. I felt it was one of the better anaglpyh 3D encodings so far. The image depth was maintained throughout the movie and there were quite a few moments where images popped out of the screen.

It's a harmless bit of fun, and the 3D does work for right-eye dominated people who adjust their TV settings first :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great 3d got my neigbor in to watch it we both enjoyed it very much will be buying more 3d dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great film, and a lot of fun!, 11 Jan 2010
By 
G. Nibbs (milton keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
i love all the previous final destination films and was really looking forward to this and wasnt disappointed, its not like the first one which has reached cult status and is some what serious but its not surposed to be its light hearted and sometimes sickly funny the deaths are well thought up and gory as hell the swimming pool and escalter being the best, well worth buying but if you dont have the rest buy the box set!!!!! BUT dont bother with the 3d its just not worth even watching and doesnt work due to this effect the effects are somewhat patchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Final Destination 4 in 3D, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Milne (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
The poor relation of the first three instalments. Weak story line, anodyne and instantly forgettable characters. Probably more enjoyable in 2D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the franchise, 8 Mar 2011
The film is alright. Still entertaining, but the worst of the franchise. Good effects and plenty gore, but predictable and doesn't offer anything new to the other 3. Couldn't watch it in the 3d, gave me a headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film, 4 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
If you have seen any of the previous 3 final destination films you will have a rough idea what they are about, they are based on somebody that experiences premonitions(can see what will happen in a certain situation before it happens),I did not enjoy this one as much as the first 2 films( they should have stopped after no 2).
The story is a group of 4 friends that go to a speedway, when one of them has a premonition that an accident is going to happen and people in the audience will be killed. They all end up leaving only to end up being killed in the same order that they would have been killed whilst going about their everyday lives.

This film lacks a good storyline, the graphics are really poor, I found myself struggling to stay awake until the end. If you don't mind watching a film which is quite slow and very predictable then give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3D Experience, 18 May 2010
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
I recently bought this 2 set DVD. I think that this film is excellent and very gripping if you are in to these kinds of films. the problem lies in the 3D viewing. The 3D glasses have one red lense and one blue lense and every person has whats known as a 'dominant eye' if, like me, your dominant eye is the left eye, everything is in red. however if your domininant eye is the right, seeing out of the blue side has a much better veiwing experience. Also, when the glasses are on, the image is blurred slightly and eyes can ache slightly when they are removed. the 3D itslef does work but not as effectivly on a smaller screen than a larger screen.
Overall the product arrived very quickly and i was not disapointed but if some better/ newer 3D glasses that are not coloured in the lense can be purchased, i would buy those instead to ensure a better viewing experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 78 minutes too long !!, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Destination [DVD] (DVD)
I really was looking forward to this as i had enjoyed the previous 3,but what a disappointment,my advice to any one thinking of buying this film don't !!.If you like a film with a few good shocks and some inventive deaths try the remake of "ONE MISSED CALL",Yes i know it didn't exactly set the world alight but it's a lot better than this.Finally my advice to film makers do not make any more "final destination films" the idea has become exhausted try and come up with something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Destination [DVD]
The Final Destination [DVD] by David R. Ellis (DVD - 2009)
4.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews