Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Boost Vertical!
Contains all 39 black-and-white episodes from both series of Gerry Anderson's early Supermarionation series. Also included is an extras disc with the nearly 2-hour long documentary "Full Boost Vertical - The Supercar Story" covering the beginning of AP Films and the making of the show. The extras disc also includes some special effects footage from the title sequences,...
Published on 30 April 2005 by soundtrackmusicfan

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Supercar
Well packaged product with great extras. The show itself didn't entertain me as much as Gerry Anderson's later stuff like Thunderbirds, but it's well worth collecting and watching.
The episodes are in b/w, with great marionation.
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by Pj Thorp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Boost Vertical!, 30 April 2005
Contains all 39 black-and-white episodes from both series of Gerry Anderson's early Supermarionation series. Also included is an extras disc with the nearly 2-hour long documentary "Full Boost Vertical - The Supercar Story" covering the beginning of AP Films and the making of the show. The extras disc also includes some special effects footage from the title sequences, French and Spanish versions of the main titles, and PDFs of three early 60's Supercar annuals. As Dr. Beaker would say: Satisfactory, most satisfactory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back when telly was good...., 30 April 2005
By 
Mr P. D. Kinnear "Paul Kinnear" (Wirral, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I vividly recall the 1980's, when there was no multi-channel competion and the main broadcasters felt the need to actually show decent programmes - Often, during the school summer holidays, Gerry Anderson's FIREBALL XL5 was one of the delights screened for bored kids. Already a fan of THUNDERBIRDS and STINGRAY, I was hooked on the exploits of STEVE ZODIAC and tried to learn more: That's how SUPERCAR came to my attention but for years it remained a mystery to me beyond a few fuzzy photos in genre magazines.
Then in 1990 we got a few VHS tapes that hinted at the quality of the series, but now with this digital release we find something that is truly "The marvel of it's age". All 39 episodes and great extras make for a very attractive package, and is very good value at the price. The package splits up series 1 and 2 into two indivdual cases along with an extras disc, so will look good presented on a shelf - The artwork on these cases is simple yet effective, showing SUPERCAR "up into space", "under the sea" and "flying in the air" seperately on different covers.
The episodes themselves have been mastered to an excellent standard, and the detail seen as a result is a joy to behold. The stories remain as interesting and sophisticated as they have always been, and if people dismiss this series on the basis of the 'crude' puppets or black and white photography (two notions I don't actually share!) then they are missing out on some suprisingly smart and well written adventures. Some instalments even try to be educational, throwing many scientific & historical titbits that kids may find fascinating.
Extras are amazing too - I bought the recent "Full Boost Vertical" documentary seperately, but for those who haven't seen it you will find one of the most insightful and interesting stories of how a television series was made in the 1960's. It's great (and also rather sad) to see so many of the production team getting togther in what used to be the AP studios (the building is now a tyre centre!).
Thanks and congratulations to NETWORK for releasing this set and for doing such a good job on it. Like FIREBALL XL5, it's a show I can't possibly grow tired of and I look forward to their imminent release of FOUR FEATHER FALLS to complete my "Anderson" collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Gerry Anderson show ever!, 19 May 2005
By A Customer
I rented out this box set a few months ago with Amazon's new rental system and it is a piece of sheer Anderson cake. The stories are pretty advanced for the day it was made in, the Supercar its self is a machine that I wish was real and best of all the excellent stunts that the car is showed performing are breath taking. A must see for all GA fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the marvel of the age!!!, 14 Feb 2012
By 
Ms. A. Crane (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supercar The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Well, full credit to Network for fianlly getting this hard-to-find, seemingly forgotten series out on DVD. Earlier video releases messed about with the chronology of the episodes, or joined them all together to make one long episode out of four similar stories, so for the first time, this release has restored them back to their orginal glory - with greatly enhanced picture and sound quality to boot.
I'm assuming that anyone considering buying "Supercar" will already be acquainted with some of the more accessible shows of Gerry Anderson? If so, then trust me, this is one of the best. The puppets may look a bit primitive (compared to, say, "The Secret Service"), and the stories are less plausible than in some of his later shows (assuming "Thunderbirds" is plausible..), but what this one has over all Anderson's subsequent shows is a great sense of humour. The characters, and the incidents they find themselves in, are funny, without falling into the realms of comedy; one has the impression they weren't taking themselves too seriously when they made this, they just set out to entertain, both themselves and the viewing public. And, as with other early Anderson shows, this one features the token animal assistant, in this case, Mitch the monkey!
Overall, a charming show, and, with 39 episodes of it on this collection, you definitely get your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Supercar, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Great box set for a great price, and you get 2 series plus a surprisingly in-depth 2 hour documentary about the making of Supercar. There is a marked improvement in the model work and effects during the second series when Derek Meddings came on board and developed the kind of effects we all grew to love. For me the charm of the show was in the simple and innocent idea....it was a car, and it was super, hence Supercar.

This wouldn't impress the kids of today, but for men (and possibly a few women) of a certain age, it's a little bit of nostalgic magic. Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supercar superset, 7 Mar 2011
By 
As a member of the baby boomer generation I remember watching Supercar on an old black and white TV. I remember when it ended and some "normal" programme took the slot while we waited for Stingray to appear. Oh wonderful days. The show will be a classic for some time. Even my granddaughter is now showing an interest despite the hi tech offerings available.

This box set is complete (every episode of this relatively short series in bite size chunks) and a must for anybody with nostalgic memories of the classic early Gerry Anderson.

But it doesn't stop there, the extra special features are worth the purchase on their own. You not only get pdfs of some classic annuals, a Supercar story book and some great galleries but you get the full length documentary "Full Boost Vertical - The Supercar Story". It is a fascinating behind the scenes look at the making of the shows with all the secrets that they had to improvise for the first time.

History in the making and a must for fans of the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd totally recommend this package, 6 Jan 2007
By 
M. Maher "Mike" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Had this for Christmas - and I'm glad to say that it's turned out to be all I could have hoped for. The digitally restored pictures are so sharp and clean.

In the Extras, one thing really had my eyes wide open - there's a sequence from an episode (originally made in black and white) which has been computer colourised. It's gob-smackingly fantastic! Even though it's only 13 seconds long, it makes you realise just how much colourisation has improved in the last few years. I can remember the Laurel and Hardy colourised videos (released in the late 1980's?) and they were not much better than blocks of solid colour stamped onto the image - every person had exactly the same flesh colour and all the houseplants were the same shade of green - ugh! The Supercar colourisation section is far superior and of a standard to easily convince that it was originally made in colour - it really is that good.

Maybe, one day, we will get "Supercar - The Entire Series" released as a colourised DVD. Here's hoping!

Until then, I'd totally recommend this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for any Gerry Anderson/Thunderbirds fans, 15 Jan 2011
By 
SteveINtheUKok "SteveINtheUKok" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you love Gerry Anderson I think you will love this.

Mike Mercury and the gang get into and out of trouble using the amazingly powerful flying SuperCar.

This SuperMarionation film has the feel of Thunderbirds but is filmed in black and White, don't let that put you off, the shows are quality.

Again the series has the feel of Fireball-XL5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good innocent fun, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supercar The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
As a die-hard Thunderbird/Stingray/Scarlet fan, I bought this boxset to expand my Anderson collection, and it entirely met expectations by being well-made, good fun and entertaining.
It sits in a sort of middle-ground between the whimsical world of childhood escapism and more exciting adventure of fancy uniforms and big machinery.
The characters are caricatures, but somehow don't quite have the charm of the old Wild West caricatures in Anderson's earlier puppet show, Four Feather Falls. But they are still strong and very likeable. With the exception of Mitch, the chimp. Even in the 1960s, when having a token 'cute-sy' character seemed to be fashionable, Mitch is rather unnecessary. The whole show has great kid-appeal, so Mitch can come across as rather like the extra layer of icing on a cake that doesn't need it. The rest of the characters are engaging and have some well-scripted tongue-in-cheek lines.
This is great, innocent entertainment, with a healthy dash of adventure and intrigue. Adults can enjoy as well, though not perhaps as easily as with Anderson's later supermarionnation shows. You get the feeling that Anderson and his team are really getting into the swing of making and handling puppets and their excellent sets and special effects. This means he can focus a bit more on character and plot.
I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to give their kids something good to watch. The only reason it doesn't get the full five stars is because, for me, Anderson's later shows scream out that Anderson, his entire team - and even the musicians - are having a WHALE of a time, and that good feeling is infectious. 'Supercar' doesn't quite have that big-grin feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dawn of supermarionation, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Early 1960's: Producers Gerry Anderson - and his soon to be wife Sylvia - had just come off the back of making three children's puppet shows in a row. And were getting pretty frustrated with being able to get them to walk in a convincing manner.

So they hit on the idea of putting the puppet characters into a vehicle, and thus they would move around most of the time in that. And you wouldn't need to see them walking too often.

The concept was called 'supermarionation.'

It gave shows such as Thunderbirds and Captain Scarlet, fondly remembered and still a part of the national psyche to this day.

But Supercar, the very first of these shows, remains a more obscure title. Being roughly fifty years old now, in black and white and never having seen all it's episodes released on vhs, it took the advent of dvd to get the show out of the vaults.

All thirty nine twenty five minute long episodes are presented here. The first season of twenty six shows are in one box spread over four discs. The second season of thirteen shows are in another spread over two discs. All episodes are in black and white.

And there's a seventh disc in another box with a few extras.

There are no subtitles.

The only language option is English.

Supercar is a fantastic vehicle [by the standards of the time when this was made] which can fly and go underwater as well. And also drive on roads if required. Built by scientists Dr. Beaker and Professor Popkiss, it's flown by test pilot Mike Mercury. And the team operate out of a base in the desert near Black Rock, Nevada.

After rescuing young orphan Jimmy Gibson and his pet monkey mitch from danger in the first episode, the two become part of the team. Many adventures follow, and they are often troubled by evil villain masterspy and his bumbling sidekick Zarin who would like nothing more than to get their hands on Supercar. The two are thinly veiled pastiches of Sidney Greenstreet and Peter Lorre. A fact that might have meant something to kids back then.

Supercar is fifty years old now so it would be churlish to be too critical, but it isn't quite as good as the Supermarionation shows to come. And it does take a while to find it's feet. Mike, the Professor and Jimmy are very one note characters. The early episodes tend to not step up too much in the writing style from other kids shows of the time. But for grown ups, the quite delightful eccentricities of Dr. Beaker do still offer a fair amount of entertainment.

Masterspy is rather overuseed in the first fourteen episodes, then all but vanishes for the rest of the season, only returning four times in the second one.

Yet watching Supercar now you will get into it after a while. Probably more so in the second season, when the Andersons take over the writing and the show gets a little more ambitious. It uses narration to start some episodes plus stock footage for certain scenes and tries a bit of action and drama wherever it can. For which a certain suspension of disbelief will be required as you're watching fifty year old modelwork. But it's not hard to do that.

The second season also tries to add character and comedy by beginning a lot of episodes with domestics at the black rock ranch. This approach does succeed rather well.

Gerry Anderson provides a commentary to the opening episodes of both seasons.

The second season does alter the opening music somewhat, a fact that comes as rather surprising when you hear the new arrangement.

Every disc allows you to play all the episodes on it or just select one. But doing the latter won't start an episode, it isntead takes you into the chapter access menu for it, so you have to hit the first chapter to get it going.

The extras disc offers a superb and very in depth making of documentary. But be aware this does run for just under two hours, so might be a bit long to watch in one go. Although it does have direct chapter access so it can be watched in sections.

This disc also offers:

The main titles in french and spanish.

The main titles with no text on the screen.

The opening titles background footage with no text on it from each episode.

The main title footage with an effects only track.

The logo cards shown at the start and each of the commercial break in the middle of the show.

As PDF Files accessible by putting the disc into a computer: complete scans of two supercar annuals and a storybook.

And a stills gallery of images from supercar. Plus some from subsequent supermarionation series Fireball XL5.

The best Anderson shows were yet to come. But the gems of greatness can be seen in this one. And it's a fine box set for a charming piece of tv nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supercar The Complete Series [DVD]
Supercar The Complete Series [DVD] by Bill Harris (DVD - 2009)
£32.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews