Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic collection, but why no Traffic?
I've been waiting for a Tati collection for a while now. And when one finally appears it doesn't include the worthwhile Traffic, but does include the fairly irrelevant Parade. Anyhow, I've never clicked fully with the first Jour De Fete. I'm glad his postman character never returned as he's not a particularly interesting comic creation. The idealized slice of rural French...
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Blackhorse47

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expectations too high
DVD was fine but I found the films too disjointed even though Jaques Tati's Monsieur Hulot is a good character. The films did not live up to my memory expectations.
Published 11 months ago by Margaret Maddox


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jaques Tati collection, 19 Nov 2011
By 
J. S. Hartley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
An excellent collection of Tati's films that were quickly despatched. Thoroughlly recommended to all Tati fans and those interested in finding out about this great French film star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Tati Collection, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. William Kearney (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
This is a marvellous collection of some of the most humorous films ever made. I am 80 and remember these films when they were first shown in cinemas. The have lost none of their sparkle and I hope that young people will feel the same as I do about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jour de Fete, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
I've only stsrted to view this box set and Jour de Fete was first for shaving. I was hugely disappointed to find the scene where Francois the postman pops in for an aperifif and starts dancing to "le jazz" playing on a juke box has been omitted from the colour version.I've found it on YouTube but its not the same.I know he filmed in B&W and Colour so perhaps he didn't film this particular scene in colour but still.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaques Tati films, 15 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
Mostly what I expected, films I watched in the 1960s. Pleasantly surprised by the fact that some of them were actually in colour!
Don't expect belly laughs, this is very clever, visual humour, in french, but you don't need to know the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tati , a genius of cinema, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Andrew N. Vargo (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
This is a collection of great films. Always an individualist Tati established a unique approach to film. He acted and directed in these, always a difficult task as he had to balance the conflicting needs of actor and director. This also freed him to develop the character of Monsieur Hulot, an impossibility had the roles of director and actor been separated. Monsieur Hulot is one of the great creations of the twentieth century, the genius of Tati has allowed the audience to witness his gradual maturity as an individual. He has also carefully crafted a character the audience empathises with, this is beyond identification, the audience joins Monsieur Hulot in his attempts to cope with Modern Life. The humour is beyond a joke but is hilarious, the incidents are familiar to the audience but had never presented with such force and direction before. Many of the themes are serious issues which had not appeared on film, using humour as a means of introducing these Tati disarms the audience into understanding the dilemmas his hero faces and consequently identify with. This is why these films will last, they are satirical and employ a wide range of comic effects but they also very intelligent observations of what it is to be a human in a bewildering world. In 1947 Tati looked at the impact new management efficiencies have upon a postman (some issues never change) the impact of theoretical management models upon the practical needs of a real jobs. Hands up if you have come across this one? Monsieur Hulot first appears in a film about a holiday. If you think about it the idea of a holiday is odd, how often do they turn out as you expected and how do we cope with the disruption and dislocation which often occurs? The scene in the railway station is priceless, how often are we shunted around by disemboweled voices who haven't a clue of what is really happening and where exactly you should be in order to catch your train, plane, bus. It is at these moments I remember this scene and laugh. Tati helps you cope. It is his genius to recognise the familiar but give it an edge. Mon Oncle 1958 studies the changing domestic landscape as Monsieur Hulot in agreeing to take care of his sister's home comes into contact with the world of technological innovation and change. How often are we now admonished by halfwits who barely understand the new technologies let alone appreciate their impact, to embrace change and uncritically accept "new" products. Tati is in his element this film. How do we cope with innovation? Is it all necessary? Why make simple procedures unnecessarily complex. What is all of this doing to individuals, Monsieur Hulot is BC (barely coping) and secretly most of the audience is with him but are frightened to admit it. Again all part of the genius of Tati real fears the audience can share without losing face. There is an added edge to this film in France where it is seen as a challenge to American Culture which the French have always had a love / hate relation with. Playtime destroyed Tati as it was a financial and critical flop. It left him penniless as he had invested all his money in its production. The film has been successful as new audiences have responded to what many regard as his best film. But this is a silly comparison all his films are excellent and this collection is goldust. Having seen these you will have to buy Trafic recently rereleased, another gem about cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential purchase, 9 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
the mere fact that 'Playtime' contains a feature commentary by film historian Philip Kemp - which the US Criterion DVD/bluray doesn't have gives the BFI edition a huge bonus to purchase for Tati fans - now if BFI could source a bluray from an actual 65mm negative, another thing Criterion failed to do, that'd be icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect set, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
It was exactly what I wanted. I knew the films already but did not have them on DVD. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys visual comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jacques Tati Collection, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
Pure and simple fun. Tati was so clever with his films and acting. An absolute inspiration for the young who aspire a future in acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
I found only the Vacance (holiday), Mon Oncle and Jour de Fete were worth watching in order of best to worst. The other two are a waste of time watching where Tati goes on an ego trip filming himself in older age doing mainly mime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M..., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jacques Tati Collection - Jour de fête (1949)/ Les Vacances de M. Hulot (1953)/ Mon Oncle (1958)/ Playtime (1967)/ Parade (1974) [DVD] [2009) (DVD)
Disappointed with content. Does not correspond to what I thought it would be like. But I will probably give it a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews