Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, good selection - but most released before
Previous reviewers of this item (and the series that preceded it) correctly identified some mixes are not 80s Oiginals atall (most are listed so you know), and also there is no real mastering in terms of the relative volume of adjacent tracks.

These are two fairly minor gripes, but when Track 1 Disc 1 is mistitled, and is not the Special Extended Dance Mix of...
Published on 25 Sept. 2009 by M. B. Wilson

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned: Not all "Original", some 90s remixes here!
While I like the most of the tacks listed here on 6 CDs they are not all the genuine article! There are some tracks here which were given a "remix" treatment in the 1990s and sound nothing like their original mixes back in the 80s, look out for Blondie, Human League, Simple Minds and Heaven 17 1990s remixes here.

The Spandau Ballet track "True" is actually the...
Published on 26 Mar. 2010 by Mr. Tony Magnier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, good selection - but most released before, 25 Sept. 2009
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Previous reviewers of this item (and the series that preceded it) correctly identified some mixes are not 80s Oiginals atall (most are listed so you know), and also there is no real mastering in terms of the relative volume of adjacent tracks.

These are two fairly minor gripes, but when Track 1 Disc 1 is mistitled, and is not the Special Extended Dance Mix of the classic "Don't You Want Me", but a mid 90s extended remix, that isn't the most encouraging of starts! However the odd revamp can be easily programmed out if you wish, or listened to once to compare with the original 12". Some of these mid 90s mixes are very of their time, but generally quite decent if you aren't a total purist (Simple Minds "Waterfront" is not an easy listen tho').

The volume issue is a shame, and in particular the Erasure and Talk Talk mixes on CD1 are guilty of being far louder than their neighbours. Again usually the remote volume control can correct, but the latter track was piercingly overloud when listening through headphones! Presumably the compiler didn't listen the the CDs!

The sound quality is generally excellent, although some sound like they could be sourced from vinyl (cleaned up, so to be honest this is barely noticeable).

This is a very 'pop' compilation, but it does contain some rarities amongst the usual suspects, and is therefore still a worthwhile investment. The Human League's "Fascination" is the 12" a-side, not the dub that usually surfaces, which is a nice inclusion. Great value too, as all discs are crammed full of pretty well-known 80s acts. As usual, no Mode or Kraftwerk, but lots of Duran Duran....

4 stars simply because it isn't quite as good as it could've been, and there are other more thoughtful 80s compilations out there, albeit in a different price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be warned: Not all "Original", some 90s remixes here!, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
While I like the most of the tacks listed here on 6 CDs they are not all the genuine article! There are some tracks here which were given a "remix" treatment in the 1990s and sound nothing like their original mixes back in the 80s, look out for Blondie, Human League, Simple Minds and Heaven 17 1990s remixes here.

The Spandau Ballet track "True" is actually the album version! Most are original but have had their play time cut back to fit in more of the 72 tracks on here, Duran Duran's "Union of the snake" has had nearly a minute lopped off. I remember vinyl LP compilations in the 70s and 80s would deliberately shorten tracks in the same way, to fit more songs in.

I rather have the full version of the track at the expense of filling up CDs with more cut tracks.

I notice Erasure's "The Circus" is the 7" version, not the 12".

Audio re-mastering could have been done a lot better and so this compilation is let down further by poor audio quality on a lot of tracks, so I'll give this 3 stars for effort in putting this together but loses 2 stars for its 90s remixes, shorter running times on some tracks, and 7" versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "THIS IS NOT ORIGINAL EIGHTIES", 6 Aug. 2011
really disappointed with this collection especially as sonme of them have been remixed and not in original format???? there are just a few tracks on this that are good but very few and far between so my advice is look at another cd there has got to be something there better than this one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 12 inch collection, 18 Dec. 2009
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great album. It is always an improvement having the 12 inch version.

At the time of writing, there is no track listing for this album (that may have changed by the time you read this). The tracks on it are:

Disc 1

1. Don't You Want Me (Special Extended Dance Mix) - The Human League
2. Gold (12'' Mix) - Spandau Ballet
3. The War Song (Ultimate Dance Mix) - Culture Club
4. Girls On Film (12'' Mix) - Duran Duran
5. Temptation (Brothers In Rhythm Remix) - Heaven 17
6. Genetic Engineering (Extended) - Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
7. Sometimes (12'' Mix) - Erasure
8. Together In Electric Dreams (Extended) (2003 Digital Remaster) - Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder
9. Too Shy (12'' Extended Version) - Kajagoogoo
10. Icing On The Cake (Remix) - Stephen Duffy
11. It's My Life (Extended Mix) - Talk Talk
12. Loves Great Adventure (12'' Version) - Ultravox

Disc 2

1. Atomic (Diddy's 12" Mix) - Blondie
2. Love Missile F1-11 (Ultraviolence Mix) - Sigue Sigue Sputnik
3. Kids In America (D-Bop's Bright Lights Mix) (Edit) - Kim Wilde
4. Dancing With Myself (Extended Version) - Generation X
5. Wild Wild Life (Long E.T. Mix) - Talking Heads
6. Simply Irresistible (Extended Version) - Robert Palmer
7. Don't You (Forget About Me) (Jam And Spoon Remix) (Edit) - Simple Minds
8. Flesh For Fantasy (Below The Belt Mix) (2002 Digital Remaster) - Billy Idol
9. Reap The Wild Wind (12'' Version) - Ultravox
10. Ghost Town (Extended Version) - The Specials
11. Rat In Mi Kitchen (12" Version) - UB40
12. Tomorrow People (Reggae This Remix) - Ziggy Marley & The Melody Makers

Disc 3

1. Some Like It Hot (12'' Mix) - The Power Station
2. Waterfront (Union Jack Remix Edit) - Simple Minds
3. Hot In The City (1988 Remix) - Billy Idol
4. Call Me (Original 12" Mix) (1999 Digital Remaster) - Blondie
5. Crushed By The Wheels Of Industry (Extended Dance Version) - Heaven 17
6. All Stood Still (12'' Version) - Ultravox
7. The Sound Of The Crowd (12'' Version) (Complete) - The Human League
8. Situation (12" Remix) - Yazoo
9. Is It A Dream (Extended Version) - Classix Nouveaux
10. Imagination (12'' Version) - Belouis Some
11. Today (Extended Mix) - Talk Talk
12. She Blinded Me With Science (US Mix) - Thomas Dolby

Disc 4

1. Solid (Special Club Mix) - Ashford & Simpson
2. Hangin' On A String (Original 12" Mix) - Loose Ends
3. Everybody's Laughing (12" Version) - Phil Fearon & Galaxy
4. Some Guys Have All The Luck (Extended Version) - Maxi Priest
5. Cherry Oh Baby (Dub Mix) - UB40
6. Every 1's A Winner (12'' Version) - Hot Chocolate
7. We Close Our Eyes (12' Version) - Go West
8. Union Of The Snake (The Monkey Mix) - Duran Duran
9. Christian - China Crisis
10. He Ain't No Competition (12'' Version) - Brother Beyond
11. True (12'' Mix) - Spandau Ballet
12. Summertime (Extended 12'' Mix) - Fun Boy Three

My personal opinion is that this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as it seems., 25 Feb. 2011
By 
If you like your 80's music with a bit of Stock, Aitken, Waterman type 90's pop sound then this is for you, if you are looking for the original 80's extended 12"'ers look elsewhere, unfortunately, as good as this compilation could have been if what it said on the cover was on the discs, 70% of the time they are 90's remixes. 2 stars for the few rare 80's originals that survived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many wrong mixes, 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wrong mixes abound.

The following are not original period 12" mixes, rather more recent clubbed up remixes

1) Don't You Want Me
2) Temptation
3) Atomic
4) Kids in America
5) Don't You (Forget About Me)
6) Waterfront
7) (We Don't Need This) Facist Groove Thang

- and there may be more

The following are not 12" mixes:

1) The Circus
2) Imagination
3) Is There Something I Should Know
4) Hot In The City

and quite possibly
5) True
6) Set Me Free

So that's at least 11-13 mixes that are not right. I sent mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection!, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it! Lots of the tunes I liked but never bought back then. It's not filled with obscure music no one has heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's revival time, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - 80s 12'' (MP3 Download)
Takes me back to my past when I used to buy 12" singles in the 80's. A great place to get them all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 80s fans everywhere!, 23 Dec. 2009
By 
C. GRAY "clflossie" (leicestershire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for myself as a nostalgia trip and for music to work out to on my step and exercise bike. It was a bargain and I haven't regretted buying it. It contains many old faves (which are on every 80s compo going) plus some rarer classics and some songs I can barely remember. An absolute must for anyone who grew up in the 80s, or who wish they had! Best track: 'Some like it hot' by the Powerstation. A belter of a song, much under-rated in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisit your 80s party experience!, 28 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stick these discs on, and those of a certain age will find the memories (good and bad) come flooding back. You could really only hear these extended versions at a disco or in your bedroom, as the radio stations rarely played them.
There are a number of similar rival products out there - namely the "12"" series, which are extremely good. However, this product is on a par, simply because it is a 'throw enough darts at the board and some are bound to hit the target' package. In other words, there's a ton of stuff spread across these discs, so there has to be at least a handful of tunes that will get you bopping.
Some of the versions offered are curious choices, but then, the extended mixes market went into serious overdrive during this era, with many groups releasing 3 or 4 remixed versions of the same track, so a selection headache is bound to occur now and then!
Many compilations neglect the major artists of the period, because either the artist refuses permission to have their work included, or the label can't afford the cost of using it. So it is refreshing to see some of the biggest-selling bands on this product such as Culture Club, Spandau Ballet and Duran Duran - the latter of which are suspiciously over-represented actually, possibly due to the fact this is an EMI production, DD's former label.
Anyway, it's a budget-priced release, so even in these scrimping times, this is worth adding to your music library, if only to dance the blues away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Hits - 80s 12''
Original Hits - 80s 12'' by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews