Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Kraftwerk are a very intriguing proposition, Germanic proto-dance music made on analogue synthesizers. Not really something most kids would bother with nowadays but I found myself drawn to them after hearing the remixed version of 'The Robots.'

I bought this album on the back of that and have been very happy with it, the loops and swoops of the prehistoric synths sound warm and lush and very engaging, the remixing of these hits have made them slightly more accessible and dancey which is no bad thing.

My kids have been walking around the house shouting about operating pocket calculators and being robots so I know the tunes have infected their synapses, always a good sign.

This music doesn't seem to age either and is perfect for listening to with heapdhones or when driving.

All told, if you have any interest in dance music you owe it to yourself to get right back to the roots.

Dig it!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 28 January 2013
This is an exceptionally well mixed and exceptionally well dubbed version of the band's best songs; such as Computer Love, Pocket Calculator and Music Non-Stop. Granted that this CD may not be to the purists taste, but I would say that it's best to have Kraftwerk do this mix rather than a moron with a midi and a cheap lap-top!
The mix CD is balanced out with some tonal variations in the high and low frequencies, perhaps a little too much synth drumbeats, however the music of Kraftwerk has to evolve and change; but yet this is still classic Kraftwerk.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2013
Bought this when it came out and didn't like it very much. Lost the CD when moving. Bought this remaster and have listened to it a lot. Has definitely improved with age.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2015
Get abit annoyed, with all these remastered recordings, a lot of the rawness and energy is lost, trying to imagine something that was perfect the first time round. But, with krafters it works. Their concept, being the striving toward machine perfection. In the process of revisiting music of my youth, kraftwerk was a milestone for me, and listening to them on a Fire, is kind of apt, after all, it all computer love.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2013
Kraftwerk have been on my radar of interest for several years, if somewhere in the background, but I never got around to buying an album because I didn't really know where to start, there not being a proper compilation available. Inspired by the publicity for the band's recent concerts in London, I decided it was time to take a chance, so I went for 'The Mix' as the nearest there is to a sampler.

I was pleased to find that, although the extended remixes smack more of the early 90s period (with all the acid synth bass and drum machine blip-blops one might expect) in which they were created rather than the 70s era which people tend to remember them for, the tunes I remembered still survived fairly intact and the CD fulfilled its purpose of making me want to hear more, if in the music's original form next time.

The rather charming retro-speak soundbites celebrating the likes of pocket calculators and home computers as being something magic and marvellous (which they are really), set to unforgettable hooks and little repetitive sounds, lodged in my head after just one listen, and the album (which makes great music to drive to) has been looping round on the car stereo since, which is really the best recommendation something can have.

Accept the 90s twist for what it is and settle in for an hour or so of synthesizer heaven next time you're stuck on the M1 - or, indeed, the autobahn.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
Five years silence saw Wolfgang Flur depart through a lack of activity,. And Bartos leave on the eve of the release of the unusual compilation "The Mix" : a virtual greatest hits that represented a lavish representation of the bands favourite and better known work, re-recorded and re-interpreted for the modern age with Fritz Hilpert on board and the re-arranged, re-thought material : in this post-modern foreshadowing of the modern age of nostalgia, Kraftwerk remixed themselves. To an extent this was the band staving off a creative paralysis with a digital re-interpretation of their own body of work. "The Robots" and "Radioactivity" were the lead singles - sounding timeless yet utterly timely, and most of the songs were no tired retread, but incorporated into them new melody lines, musical parts, lyrics, and melodies : "Radioactivity" ceased to be a hymn to the power of an FM transmitter, but a warning about the invisible hand of nuclear power, and a warning of the dangers of technology that had previously entranced. It was the perfect entry point for a new fan, and wisely eschewed some of the obvious songs such as "The Model", "Showroom Dummies" and "Tour De France" in favour of a valid and worthy collection that complimented the history : no mere lazy cash in.

The remastered sound improves the original release, but not in any radical way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Pleased its on vynil as Kraftwerk albums should be, still brilliant!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
excellent album - a fan of the group - I can highly recommend this
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2010
I've loved The Mix ever since I bought it in the mid-90s. It is very much of its time - although the original songs date back as far as the 70s, the remixes give it a very early 90s feel - but this is exactly what draws me back to the album again and again. Many of the songs, especially Computer Love, Home Computer and The Robots, sound fabulous in a retro way and the added drums and remixes give the songs an extra punch that the originals don't have. A classic late night driving CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
making a ideal Christmas present for a 'vinyl' granddaughter
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.