Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two side of a coin: Both beautiful & brutal in equal measure
I'm going to resist giving this film 5 stars, although I couldn't argue if you think it deserves it. I was very good. Inevitably it will draw comparisons with 'City of God' and 'Elite Squad', but in my eyes it wasn't as good - hence 4 stars.

That's not to say it wasn't still very good though - it was. We basically follow two threads of a story that intertwine...
Published on 22 Aug. 2011 by The Truth

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough, raw and poignant - slow but rewarding World Cinema
A unique movie, telling the story of Sayra, a girl desperate to emigrate from Honduras and see her estranged father again, and Casper a young boy being raised into a tough gang culture, in Mexico. They end up crossing paths at the end.

Semi-epic, dramatic and moving drama that intertwines 2 emotive and similar stories. Gritty, raw and almost low-budget in...
Published on 12 July 2011 by T. BROOKES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Plot - Well Acted and Directed, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. S. P. Walshe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film as it is one that gets you totally involved in the story and the characters. If I have a complaint it is that I found the story a little predictable however this was more than offset by the suspense and thoughtful exploration of the subject material.

At the end I felt as desperate as some of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 9 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
No matter where in the world you are, this story could refer to a scene that is played out on many stages.

The watcher is drawn into the subculture and pulled towards an outcome that they hope never to have to face.

Excellent production,camera work and sterling performances from all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bought this film to improve my spanish by listening to the spoken word. Was delighted that I actually watched a fantastic film which documents the world of poverty + gang control, really recommend it, great story + fine performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie with real background, 31 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Great Movie, showing how brutal and dramatic it is for US Immigrants to cross Mexico... impressive, deep and fascinating movie about central america's biggest problems... crime, violence and poverty...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, painful movie, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
this is a great movie about very concerning isssues (immigration, gang violence and social degradation in Latin America) with wonderful actors, It's beautifully shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly tragic, but utterly human, 5 Sept. 2009
Beautifully acted and stunningly shot, I don't hesitate to recommend this remarkable film. The lives of a Honduran woman traveling to the U.S. border for a better life and a Mexican gangster with a price on his head violently clash on the journey north. She becomes his salvation as he becomes her only hope of making it. Moving, enrapturing and unforgettable. However be warned, it is not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Excellent dvd, good, gripping and interesting gangsta story, true to what is depicted today. Would recommend a good interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sin Nombre, 26 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw this in the cinema earlier this year and was blown away. Absolutely brilliant film, action, travel, gangs and young love...it's got everything! I think this will go on to be one of the classics that people talk about in years. Loved it. Cool DVD cover too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sin Nombre, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film. I absolutely loved watching this. it is gripping and an exciting film to watch. Must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars adult cinema, 21 May 2010
By 
Allan Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who have seen 'City of Men' and liked it, here is an adult, harder version of that and one you would be likely to find worthwhile. It's probably one of the best of its kind giving you an inside look and feel and yet it seems to show a very realistic viewpoint. Some similar movies are off-putting because you can't sympathize with the main characters as they are their own worst enemy, but here you get a chance to appreciate what some of them have to go through to survive and while most enjoy their appallingly unsatisfactory exploits, there are some who might like to escape their environment and try to start afresh, however we see how doomed they are and how their activities have to be a part of the group where togetherness is the only thing to strive for and to follow out all orders given without question. It seems to have similarities to so many societies of the past and present such as the Julius Caesar, Napoleon, Hitler, Mussolini and those of more recent times, whereby people had no option but to conform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008]
Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008] by Cary Fukunaga (DVD - 2010)
£10.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews