Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality affordable 3 way head.
The one I got had a black handle and a silver body, but this is of little importance to me (looks quite nice as it is)
There are a few thoughts on this..one is that you have to spend £150 to get a decent head for your tripod. On the other hand you can buy a complete tripod for £15 or so, albeit a pretty cheapo one. Both viewpoints are a bit extreme in my own...
Published on 22 Oct 2012 by Mr Baz

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap & cheerful!
Had ended up with a set of cheap, unbranded (but probably Velbon originated) legs and acquired this head to make up to a marketable product. Did the job! Amazing the price variation that was seen for this product when searching for a supplier - there are some rogues about amongst photographic retailers. Happily the 'complete' tripod has moved onto a new home!
Published on 8 Oct 2012 by LittleBill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality affordable 3 way head., 22 Oct 2012
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The one I got had a black handle and a silver body, but this is of little importance to me (looks quite nice as it is)
There are a few thoughts on this..one is that you have to spend £150 to get a decent head for your tripod. On the other hand you can buy a complete tripod for £15 or so, albeit a pretty cheapo one. Both viewpoints are a bit extreme in my own experience.

I did not expect much from this, but it's surprisingly well made and machined. It feels strong and robust enough to survive good use as well as supporting a decent bit of weight.

The head has a very smooth movement, I would say quite suitable for video work even though it's not a dedicated video head it performs very well for stills and video work.

In the box you have another thread you can use in addition to the standard one. The quick release head has a cork top, with a built in flip down part so you don't have to bother with a coin to tighten it. There are some plastic parts handle end, and the quick release lever..but they appear decent plastics rather than cheapo going to break parts. I think for the price, this is probably quite a bit better than you expect. It's not going to rival a £100 head, but it's really very decent quality and a sensible investment for users who have a ball head and want a good, nice price pan/tilt head without crushing their bank account. If you do compare to a budget tripod £30-£50 mark then this is obviously much better than you would get on that purchase.

Very easy to recommend this head, it's a basic head with no levels or any extra bits. But it's well made, well priced, smooth in operation and it's likely going to be very satisfactory overall. Certainly much better than I expected this is a strong feeling head that inspires confidence in Velbon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth quality panhead, 9 Oct 2012
By 
M. Vandegaer (Little country called Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this panhead to give my monopod a quick release system for my DSLR. It allows for smooth adjustment and weighs very little. As an added bonus, the QB-157 quick release plate can also be used with the AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm , granted you make some minor adjustments to the latter with some glue and credit card pieces. This way, I can quickly switch between tripod, monopod or just free.

While fastening the panhead with the arm, there's little to no position creep, which is very good considering the price tag. The quick release plate doesn't have a video pin, though Velbon does make the QB-157N, which does have such a pin.

Overall I'd consider this a good investment if you have a tripod or monopod that could use panhead or quick release system. If you have both a monopod and a tripod with both lacking a panhead and/or quick release two of these might be a sound investment too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velbon PH- 157Q Tripod Head, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon PH-157Q 3-Way Head with Quick Release - Black Handle (Accessory)
A good budget price head, single control for both pan and forward / back tilt, resonably smooth action. Main fault is 1/4 in screw boss to connect to tripod. The boss itself screww in and out of the body so 3/8 adapter would be easy, but is not available, at least in UK. This lack is a serious limitation to the use of this head.
Also cost of spare quick releae plates almost half cost of head.

Tom Burchell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Customer, 1 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this head to fit on my Velbon Cube tri-pod when I wanted to use my video camera rather than still camera and when traveling. Although it weighs as much as the tri-pod it certainly does the job and even though it is not a fluid head it does have a smooth action. With the head fitted to the tri-pod it still fits into my camera bag which is what I wanted. It is solid and well made but two points I would mention, 1)in some places it is shown as having a hight of 4.1 cm, this is clearly wrong, more like 4 inches, and 2)the pan handle is on the left side which feels a little strange for a right handed person. Bearing these last two points in mind I am happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value. Easy to use. Does the job well, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a replacement for an identical head that was over 15 years old and, after extensive use with birdwatching scopes up to 80mm/60x and for photography, had started to wear and jamb. Previous head gave excellent long service and was easy to use for tracking birds in flight and panning a still camera. Easy to line up on stationary objects for use up to 60x magnification.
Locks easily and smoothly. Fairly light for carrying - I typically use with a Velbon Delta tripod and an 80mm scope walking up to 4 miles round reserves.
Rather more difficult to align precisely for digiscoping, unless your setup is perfectly balanced, or to pan really smoothly for video. It can (with care) be used for these applications but a heavier / more expensive head or a fluid head would be better / easier if this was your main use.
The £21 head includes a £7 quick release plate - ideal for a camera but the alternative version of the plate (available separately) with a extra (removable) pin to prevent twisting is better with large scopes.
Everything has its limitations but this product does its primary job well and is probably is unbeatable value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Pan/Tilt Head with Single Action 'lock-up' and Quick Release, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon PH-157Q 3-Way Head with Quick Release - Black Handle (Accessory)
I first came across this type of head on a Velbon tripod around 40 years ago and was impressed then, just as now. Having bought a Velbon Sherpa 600 tripod a few months ago which came equipped with a PH-157Q head, I decided to add one to my monopod to standardise the quick release fittings across the two. If there is one criticism of this head, it is that it has a uniquely sized QR plate which until recently have been a little pricey at around £15 each. However, the price of both the head AND extra QR plates have fallen recently, making them a very attractive option.

The head itself cannot be faulted - it does everything that you'd expect, and does it well. The single action twist lock for pan and tilt is a revelation! In addition, the QR platform can be adjusted through a little over 90 degrees and the overall range of movement is more than adequate for most users. Construction is primarily metal, with plastic used only for the twist grip - a REALLY nice change from those bad fitting, easily broken, plastic look-a-likes! The quick release mechanism is superb, providing a self-locking action when the plate is pressed in. I recently 'loaded' a Canon 600d with battery grip and a 1000mm mirror lens onto this head using only one hand (NOT recommended - but a good test!). The head held the combination without effort and with no 'play' or 'slop' in the QR mech or the head itself. Now being sold at something like £25 for the head with 1 plate, and around £8 for each additional plate, this is a real 'steal'. Oh.. and it comes with interchangeable thread fittings for both 1/4" and 3/8" so it fits virtually all tri/mono pods with a head mounting screw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tripod head, 23 Dec 2011
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Velbon tripod had been bashed about a bit by the removal men and a little bit of plastic on the head was broken, making it difficult to use. Found a replacement head at Amazon, of course (checked hte Velbon website first for components). Very good price, amazingly fast delivery. Received the package at 7 in the morning (bless you, Royal Mail!) and replaced the broken head -- and I was totally happy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous value for money., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon PH-157Q 3-Way Head with Quick Release - Black Handle (Accessory)
I have adapted this video head to film above a subjects head with outstanding results.
This head is a must to adapt for studio work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon PH-157Q 3-Way Head with Quick Release - Black Handle (Accessory)
Great 3-way head for the money, bought it to attach to my hide clamp, performs perfectly with my heavy 1850g Celestron Regal F-ED. Great value and excellent in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for use with a slider, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On first viewing this is a great bit of kit. I bought it for a DSLR I wanted to attach to a slider.
Unfortunately this is not possible due to the fixed angle of the pan / tilt handle. It's set far too low down and makes the job impossible.
Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews