Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy little eighties throwback!!
This seems to be a Marmite film; those who have reviewed either loving or hating it. And I understand why. The horror camp, post Scream [DVD] [1997], is firmly divided these days. Those who love the gore and inventively high body count, infused with witty one liners, and those who prefer a build up of chills. House Of The Devil falls slightly towards the latter. It's not...
Published on 20 Jun. 2010 by Keri Beevis - author of Dead L...

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the acting poor and 80% of the film consisted of the main ...
This film really dragged its feet the whole way through its ghastly plot. I really struggled to get into this film, the background music was distracting, the acting poor and 80% of the film consisted of the main character just walking around a big old house...very uninspiring and not a film i would recommend sadly
Published 8 months ago by Thomas Anthony


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy little eighties throwback!!, 20 Jun. 2010
This seems to be a Marmite film; those who have reviewed either loving or hating it. And I understand why. The horror camp, post Scream [DVD] [1997], is firmly divided these days. Those who love the gore and inventively high body count, infused with witty one liners, and those who prefer a build up of chills. House Of The Devil falls slightly towards the latter. It's not the most original tale, but it is well executed.

I was lucky enough to have a dad who owned a chain of video stores in the eighties and have seen just about every horror film going (not sure I should confess to that!!) and for me, this film manages to capture the atmosphere and the creepiness of the films I watched in my teens. Okay.. it's not The Shining [DVD] [1980], Halloween [1978] [DVD] or When A Stranger Calls [DVD].. but it does do a pretty good job of cranking up the tension, and it was the first film in a while that had me actually sitting on the edge of my seat.

If you're a fan of Hostel or any of the Saw sequels, then I recommend you give this one a miss. If, however, you're a fan of eighties movies such as Eyes of a Stranger [DVD] [1981] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], The Stepfather [DVD] [1987], The Sentinel [1977] [DVD] or even the original Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980], then you'll probably enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Eighties!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, everything about this film is fantastic! I loved the fact that it was set in the 80's which just added to the atmosphere and gave us something fresh, rather than the usual c**p thats coming out of hollywood. Ti West really did try to do something different, focusing on scary set pieces, slow burn pace, atmosphere and most importantly of all awesome story line.
I really cant say too much without giving it away but the title gives you a little clue. I don't think I have felt so tense watching a film for so long! and the ending was also very good! I am looking forward to his latest offering the 'the Sacrament'
If you like your horror tense, with atmosphere which doesn't rely on gore then this is for you, please give it a go.
Its directors like Ti and Rob Zombie who are really pushing the boundaries of horror recently and I applaud them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How horror used to be, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
S. C. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this film after catching the last 20 minutes or so on a horror channel on television. Was impressed enough by what I saw to look into buying the film even though I had never heard of it before. The beginning is definitely like watching a very early 80's film intro and to be honest I thought the music was a little tacky at the beginning, although I can see that the director was trying to add to the early 80's film atmosphere. However, don't let that put you off watching the rest of the film.

The films does build up slowly, which to be honest makes it more watchable as you are not given anything too early, which can sometimes ruin films in my opinion. It adds to the mood and makes you want to keep watching. I also love the fact that you are not given too many characters either, which could otherwise ruin the type of community it is supposed to be set in. I think the two house owners are very well cast as both have a scary look about them, which makes the house even more creepier.

The suspense builds and then all of a sudden you are given the true identity of what lives in the house. Unlike the intro music the rest is much better and helps give a scary feel. I wont ruin it for you by telling you what happens, but in my opinion if you like classic horror films like Rosemary's Baby and films that build up tension you will love this. Loads better than the slasher style horror, which in my opinion is just gore for the sake of it. This is definitely a must for those of you who long for horror to be as it was back in those cult horror periods of the late 1970's and early 1980's.

This film deserves its place in the collection of true horror fans. Love it and can't wait to watch again. Turn the lights low and add to the atmosphere it creates for the best effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAPTURES 80'S HORROR PERFECTLY, 9 Mar. 2013
I can remember the old video stores popping up everywhere and seemingly every other film was a horror.I loved the garish covers which attracted the censors so much.Ti West has captured the atmosphere perfectly in "The House of the Devil".The casting is right on and having Dee Wallace is a master stroke.I love Ti west films from "Cabin Fever 2" to "V/H/S.GOOD ON YER Ti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The tension in this film is close to unbearable, despite little happening. A true testament to how well made it is., 20 Jan. 2012
A suspenseful period film that stays faithful to the 80's horror period, in that it doesn't rely on buckets of gore nor cheap conventional scares to keep the viewer on the edge of the seat. The first two thirds of the film are extremely atmospheric, and at times incredibly intense, particuarly the scenes where we don't know quite what's going to happen and when, unlike your typical horror flick. However, the whole movie continues to hang around and decide what it wants to be until the end, of which seems to be a bit of an afterthought. Which is a shame really, because the tension built in the beginning half was built with such thought, only to be struck by a climax that was indeed incredibly shocking and unexpecting, but the one hour and ten minutes of our lead doing very little sort of makes it unworth the wait. Another great twist to the horror genre is that we actually have a likable lead. The main female of the movie is for once not an annoying pot head or slut. Her personality as so likeable that you don't want any harm to come to her, and you root for her. Very rarely do you experience this in a horror film. Overall, The House of the Devil creates tension like no other horror in years, and it's brilliantly made, including a realistic script and convincing acting from both the lead and supports. It's not however for the casual viewers, as the film requires heaps of patience before anything actually happens. But it's a great homage to 80's horror, and we get very little these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective, 2 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's not much I can write here because the movie is among those that are reliant on the feelings they make the audience feel, not what's happening onscreen. Essentially, the atmosphere works and while little is happening, it builds well, providing the knowledge something's definitely not right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old School Horror, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The House Of The Devil is the tale of female college student who, in desperate need of cash to pay her rent, agrees to babysit at short notice for a complete stranger in a remote house across town, and is informed at the last minute that the job isn't exactly as advertised, and is lured to remain with a generous amount of extra cash.

The film has a lovely brooding atmosphere, and when the couple leave the babysitter on her own, there's no cheap "passage of time" tactics - the viewer really does get the sense of isolation and brooding chill as the babysitter struggles to find things to occupy her time, tentatively exploring rooms, and beginning to get scared when the girl who was picking her up becomes unreachable and the creaks from upstairs begin to get to her.

It turns into more predictable fayre later, with its old-school Wheatleyesque plot emerging to conclude the film, as hinted at in the opening credits detailing the percentage of Americans who believed in Satanic Ritual Abuse (a mistaken belief that resulted in a plethora of scares, false allegations and people wrongly arrested in the UK as well as the USA when the psychological fad reached Scotland in the late 1980s).

A good atmospheric watch, though for me it loses a point for predictability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great slow building horror, 14 Jun. 2014
I am a huge horror fan. I love horrors but sometimes slasher films can be quite tedious and too familar. But this one focuses on tension and feeling that something not quite right. Ti west has made a old school horror and its quite refreshing to see a different type of horror relying on scares and suspense rather that excessive gore. Jocelin Donahue is excellent. I also good to see dee wallace since ET. This horror requires a lot of patience but the last 15 minutes is quite terrifying. Keep it up TI west
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like it was shot 30 years ago, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Pains have been taken to make this movie look exactly like a forgotten gem from the late 70's/early 80's, and quite a few times I forgot I was watching a movie filmed in 2009! The suspense is expertly built up throughout, the cast give a solid performance and even though the big reveal was slightly predictable/overdone it pulled it off better than most I've seen. If you like Halloween, the Amityville Horror and the Omen, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's throwback for any true fan of the genre!, 26 Feb. 2010
If you're expecting a fast paced MTV style Platinum Dunes esque horror picture don't bother even renting this film. If however you grew up in or have an appreciation for movies made in the 1980's you may very well of found a perfect feature to sit down and watch whilst simultaniously experiencing a feeling harking back to the "good old days" when you didn't have to have a brutal kill before the opening credits just so the audience didn't get bored. Jocelin Donahue is superb as Samantha who obviously shouldn't have accepted the increasingly suspect babysitting job regardless of the payment. I really hope to see her in something else very soon.

But ultimately if you'd like that 80's feel that you haven't had since trawling your local video shop nearly twenty years ago looking for the one undiscovered classic that would be remebered as a classic of the genre, give this a try. I hope you won't be dissapointed.

Like any good horror there will be it's detractors, but the overwhelming feeling of dread that stays with you after the film is much more potent than what you see on screen... regardless of how well executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews