Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2016
Unfortunately I have to say that this largely sounds the same, with synths pumping out one heavy sequence after another. Skellify is good, as is Vanity Kills, and Marathon Man is the best of the monolithic pumpers - otherwise best left. Golden Greats and Music of the Spheres are, however, excellent. Get them instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
Forget the negative reviews by some of the national newspaper critics of one of our national treasure's best solo works to date. Forget the man was the singer for the Stone Roses. Forget some of those slightly dodgy tracks from some of his earlier albums and forget that he's four years off 50. Listen to this album. Not once. Twice. And then you'll want to hear it a third time. And then buy it. Support our music industry. Support what always makes you excited about music whether you're 16 years old, or 20 or 30 or 40. This is the freshest this Stone Rose has sounded for years. And I'm not one of the 'strange Ian Brown fans initiated into some weird sect' like the jealous and lazy Guardian reviewer suggests fans of decent music must be. This is a great little album. I wonder if those journos on our failing national newspapers have ever produced anything as good... or are they just as creatively bankrupt as their newspapers are financially? Support the music industry, it's products will make you happier than the news in our papers xxx
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 September 2009
There is much to enjoy in Mr Brown's new album 'My Way'.
It is inevitable that this should be so. He is a national
treasure after all. Dependably English down to his socks.

There are few surprises in this new collection but a bit
of good old-fashioned rock-solid predictability goes a long
way in our current MySpace wannabe fly-by-night culture.

The 12 tracks in this collection are mostly more than worthy.
My attention was drawn, in particular, to the wonderful
anthemic and structurally unpredictable 'Always Remember Me',
one of the finest songs in his estimable career.
'For The Glory', too, is a powerful and atmospheric composition.
Mr Brown's wonderfully inflexible drawl sets the song ablaze.

'Marathon Man' is a curious confection, somewhat redolent of
Pet Shop Boys in the chorus (a quite disconcerting experience!)

There are a few weaker moments : 'Own Brain' is a tad
lackluster and the remodeled 'In The Year 2525' is a bit
of a stinker truth-be-told.

It would be churlish, however, not to raise a cheer for the bulk
of what is on offer here.

'By All Means Necessary' delivers a real powerhouse performance
and final track 'So High' is just plain charming.

Ian Brown - CHARMING ! Just hold that thought for a moment....

Recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ian Brown wouldn't stand a chance without The Stone Roses. Culture is built on shallow, forgettable, appearance, not substance, on youth, pliability, sellability, the market. Ian Brown is an artist, not a commodity to be sold like baked beans, and were it not for his past, he'd be unjustly ignored by a heathen music industry that can't see beyond its next balance sheet. His fans are invisible, but many, his sales crossing demographics, a musical Kayser Soze : and just as potent.

It's hard work reviewing Ian Brown. On paper, unheard, it sounds an unappealing prospect - former Stone Rose, a greying, scruffy, middle aged visionary that follows his own, suburban Kung Fu spirituality drawn from the age of liberation and Muhammed Ali, carving out his own destiny in a unique musical landscape, sounds like nothing so much as a haunted Madchester survivor, a natural successor to Julian Cope's wrecked throne. Once contemporaries : The Inspiral Carpets, The Happy Mondays, reformed and often their own tribute acts, degrade their past achievements by trading opportunity for drugs, money, and nostalgia.

Refusing the easy lure of reforming The Stone Roses for quick money is simple. It's a space that Ian Brown no longer occupies. "My Way" - Browns sixth solo album in eleven years - has barely any live instruments on it (drums seem to be metronomic, precise, unstoppable), and for a man best known for the guitar-frenzies of his previous band, there's not one recognisable guitar line on it : the whole album is made of soaring melodies, thick, synthesised string sweeps, and other-worldly, eastern-tuned rhythms. On top of this sits Brown's perhaps somewhat strange vocals, lyrics that seem cut from simple metre and rhyming structure, but also form an immaculate internal logic.

I could argue and win any debate that suggests that Brown has made any musical progression in the past decade - he hasn't. Like Iron Maiden, and Kraftwerk, at the end of the first decade, Brown had reached his limits of his prototype. Everything after that was mere refining of the image. Unlike some, who take their second and third decades as a case of blindly carrying on through habit, Brown is still exploring lyrically, still performing because he wants to and has to, not just because there's a mortgage to pay. In short, Brown has never made a rubbish record, because he hasn't had to. Parts of the One-Man-Alone-Against-The-World "Unfinished Monkey Business" were ropey as they were solo demo recordings. "My Way" is one of the rarest of albums, containing no filler, no dodgy mid-paced songs, no moments of a musician struggling to fill the space and tossing off quickly a stinker to pad out the record. It's a complete artistic statement with no one superfluous, useless note : in short, a complete achievement.

Opening with "Stellify", as strong a song as the awesome "F.E.A.R.", "My Way" is assured. If you think of the type of tosh McCartney was polluting our ears with when he was 46, then Ian Brown is better than The Beatles. "Just Like You" has a brilliant middle-eight, where an improbable collection of rising string motifs crest a wave of a military, tribal rhythm, and then, a sucker punch to the gut, Brown takes the music, and we life-off. It's the kind of stuff where words alone don't do this justice. Sure, you can describe the Mona Lisa, and a chorus is worth a thousand words.

"In The Year 2525" takes a song I last heard covered in a gonzo thrash-prog carcrash by the Fields Of The Nephilim, and turns into a marachi-style town square romp. As a modern day Sinatra-styled musical autobiography, "My Way" may not be the album of his life, but is framed in the way of an emotional autobiography, the album of his life. And you won't miss the water until the well rungs dry.

In an alternate universe, The Stone Roses never existed, and Ian Brown and Johnny Marr formed a band together and Morrissey remains an undiscovered, unknown no-one in a Manchester suburb. This universe, meanwhile, sees Ian Brown as the sole dogged survivor of The Stone Roses, whilst touted wonderkid John Squire pootles around his studio with a hammer bashing metal sculptures.

"My Way" follows the same template as most of Brown's solo career - a mixture of ambitious synthesised string arrangements atop pounding rhythms, : a world away from The Stone Roses, yet also, of the same cloth, the same palette. "My Way" is a great record, and proof that talent endures over time.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I'm a big fan of the Stone Roses and Ian Brown - I have seen him live and have all his albums.
I have to say though that this album is his weakest in my opinion. The lyrics are generally quite weak and the synthesisers and orchestra are overdone and somewhat annoying. These criticisms aside there is some quality here - opening track Stellify, Just Like You, For The Glory are pretty good. Unfortunately the rest of the album is average at best.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
Whilst Golden Greats remains my personal favourite Ian Brown album with Music Of The Spheres a close second, "My Way" is definitely the man's most consistent set yet and contains great tunes in abundance!

Highlights, to name but a few, include "Stellify" (as strong a lead-off single as "F.E.A.R.", IMO), "Just Like You" (pure pop perfection), "Always Remember Me" (a beautiful elegaic ballad that should lay the ghost of his former band to rest), "Vanity Kills" (a clever, very contemporary sounding little ditty originally written for Kanye West!), "For The Glory" (simply a fantastic song) and "Marathon Man" (a deeply funky driving track with an übercatchy chorus).

Special mention should also be made of long-term collaborator and co-writer, Dave McCracken's deft production touch (although it would have been nice to hear some more live drums as some tracks like "Laugh Now" sound a bit mechanical), Amanda Ghost's lovely backing vox on a couple of tracks and also Inder Goldfinger's ingenious and often subtle percussion work throughout.

After the (only relatively) disappointing The World Is Yours and the somewhat patchy Solarized, the man sounds re-energised and musically & lyrically inspired, delivering a great, semi-autobiographical and stylistically varied (mostly) feel-good pop opus par excellance, which almost plays like a greatest hits set such is the quality on offer.

Fans of IB's solo work will surely not be disappointed and those whose curiousity has been piqued by the brou-ha-ha surrounding the 20th anniversary of THAT seminal debut of his late and great former band could do worse than make this their starting point for an exploration of his solo work (with his The Greatest hits collection making a good companion piece).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Music Of The Spheres was my first introduction to Ian Brown, and for the most part, the album is one of those gems you forget about, only to come back to with a fond smile; not perfect, but perfectly listenable. My Way isn't perfectly listenable, but it may grown on me over time. In a strange way, the former (Music Of The Spheres) feels more contemporary than the latter (My Way), but that might just be me, or that the over all sound is too close to The Stone Roses, who I have zero time for. Either way, I'm not sure. What I am sure about is that My Way just isn't as polished (lyrically or musically) or as musically diverse, which is a shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
this album is further proof that ian brown has no intention and really no need to reform the stone roses.his solo career has produced a strong body of work this past decade and my way is his masterpiece.it sounds miles away from the jangly guitar pop of his former band and instead goes for the hip hop inspired beats of kanye west and jay z.im no fan of that kind of music but brown nails it.it sounds fresh and modern.there's no duff tracks for me on this all are strong even the cover of in the year 2525 is inspired.among the bland samey dross of david gray and the talentless robbie williams,ian brown is our best male solo artist and in terms of talent miles away from the pack.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Wowsers. The feel-good hit of the (late) summer. Feels like a greatest hits package - each track here could be a single no problem at all. Does what Ian has always done with his music, lifts you up, gives you a hug and sends you floating through the sky, ten-storeys high, with a big grin on your face. Disco beats - his way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2009
Yes, Ian's voice is nnot the greatest ever in music, but so what, do you want a music scene filled with Subo's or Jedwards? Thought not...

This is only the second IB solo album I've bought, but I have listened to most of his others through spotify or We7 and this is my favourite so far. It's cohesive, it pushes his music forward and contains some superb work. It has a thoughtful feel with good lyrics and most importantly, good music throughout which means you wont track skip.

There's even a cover of In the year 2525, which sits very nicely in amongst the other subjects covered within.

All in all, definitely worth the money in buying the whole rather than odd tracks here and there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)