Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editors and Ellis/Hillier or Ellis/Hillier and Editors?
I think it's a bit of both. Guitars replaced with synths. It sounds very close to Depeche Mode. "Papillon" is a
sonic example of this area. "Bricks and Mortar" melody reminds me something of Joy Division. The ghost of Ian Curtis sings "You were the truth when you lied..." on "You Don't Know Love". I'm not trying to say that I'm not
happy it sounds like it...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by M. Pisarczyk

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The words 'bitten', 'chew' and 'more' spring to mind!
Editors are a great band. While they at first seemed to be a British answer to New York's own Interpol, through their debut and followup albums, they became so much more.
And they turn out to be a band that can not only sound good through the hifi circuits, but can also deliver from front of house.
While there have been a spate of bands that have tried to...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by slimeburger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the 'Editors'!!!, 13 Jun 2011
Very good value for money CD.
Three excellent tracks plus a few good ones which is pretty good going for most CDs these days!!
Although I love the songs on CD ('Papillon'/'In this Light and on this Evening'/Bricks and Mortar') I actually prefer the 'live versions' where the band really excells and connects with the audience crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great work by Editors!, 10 Feb 2011
Overall, a great third record from Editors. "In This Light an On This Evening" starts with the album title song and an incredible synth tempo, followed by Tom's dark and slightly scary vocals that build up to the explosive ending of the opening song. "Bricks and Mortar", is a fantastic song to follow up with a great combination of keyboard and synth. "Papillon", a great synth tempo runs throughout. "Like Treasure" is my personal favourite off the new album. It begins with a great keyboard section with a pulsating drum beat and Tom's dark vocals that builds up to an incredible finish with a great solo from Chris on the guitar. The following track, "Eat Raw Meat=Blood Drool" is fantastically strange and makes me smile every time I hear it. The album finishes with "Walk the Fleet Road", an excellent way to round off things. It begins with gentle beeps and whistles of synth before choir-like vocals take over.

Also, "Cuttings II", featured in the deluxe edition of "In This Light and On This Evening", possibly exceeds the heights of the studio album with 5 exceptional tracks. Personal favourite is "A Life As A Ghost", a scary song with an incredible drum beat,dark vocals and even darker synth and keys. Great Stuff!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thing of Joy (Division), 10 Oct 2010
I wasn't intending to buy this album, but at the price it was a steal and I had really enjoyed their first album with all the Joy Division influences. Okay, there is still very much a Joy Division influence on this but I guess if you are going to steal, steal from the best. And Editors have something uniquely their own too - they are much more upbeat than JD ever were. So don your Joy Division oven gloves and give this a listen. First track and title track "In This Light and On This Evening" is one of the standouts, impressive singing, great atmosphere and disturbing, vaguely threatening lyrics ("I heard the earth inhale..."). The next two songs are maybe not quite as good but maintain high standards. Fourth track "You Don't Know Love" builds in intensity with washes of synth and great harmonies, anthemic in a way that would not disgrace Depeche Mode. "The Big Exit", which follows, has powerful lead vocals, perhaps the best singing on the album. "The Boxer" is self-confident and insistent, like a track by Muse. "Like Treasure" builds and builds, slightly repetitive in an Arcade Fire vogue, I'll bury you like treasure sings Tom Smith as if singing a love song and this somehow makes it more scary than if he were doing an Ian Curtis impression. "Eat Raw Meat" sounds a bit out of place on the album and doesn't quite work, for the first time Editors begin to sound as if they are going through the motions and giving the fans what they think they expect. The final song on the album starts slowly, again with epic harmonies, we are back in atmospheric JD with a touch of DM territory, with swirling synthesisers and big drums. There may be nothing in the lyrics that demands such epic treatment but it ends the album on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 3 Oct 2010
I have only recently become an Editors fan but I think they're great. I can't stop listening to 'Bricks and Mortar' it's addictive. They are also fantastic live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In This Light and On This Evening, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard the Editors when watching their Glastonbury set this year and I was immediately impressed. So much so I went online and bought all three albums in one hit. This has some awesome tracks on it and shows the style of music perfectly. They have an almost grandiose, big electronic sound to them and have been compared to some bands of the eighties and there is definitely that element to their sound, but they also sound fresh and modern as well and the lead singers vocals are unique and fit the music well. The most well known track is probably `Papillon' which is also one of my favourites on offer here and the one that really caught my ear when I was watching them on TV. `Bricks and Mortar', as noted by other reviewers, is reminiscent of The Terminator theme music but I really enjoy it, maybe more so because of this! There is an energy about this album and I can't help but feel buoyed up after listening to it, even with the odd slower track in there as well. If you are a huge fan of the early albums then this may not appeal as much as there a lot of synths here compared to guitars, but if you enjoy this then you can go easily go back to those early albums and appreciate them all the more after knowing where they lead to. This is just an evolution of the bands sound and style. All in all this is a good album ,with some great tracks on it and a big sound to put a smile on your face. Well worth checking out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intricate, substantial and compelling., 15 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Editors continue their path for artistic integrity and musical freedom by going wherever they want, and doing whatever they want. Seemingly created absent from any considerations of how many this will sell, this, their third record, is their apex of achievement. Whilst some people think a band like Coldplay may be vaguely edgy, Editors are off in another orbit by dispensing with guitars almost completely and relying on a brave new world made of a tight, coiled rhythm section and a crescendo of synth sweeps seemingly carved from the soft, home made Tandy kits last seen on early New Order records.

Whilst the voice is intact and present, and the lyrical concerns the same, a usual palette of coastal wind, an absent God, a bullet, and light, Editors are clearly - wether they want to admit it or not - influenced by Joy Division, but also, in these songs and to these ears, keenly trained in the dynamics of Garage Rock, Kraftwerk, and the Brian Eno. Keyboard motifs rise and fall, simple and straightforward, but never inane or anything less than intricate, substantial and compelling.

Having seen these new songs performed live to a somewhat indifferent crowd, I can confirm that exposure and repeated listening are integral to these songs. Editors songs are not instant grooves, but carefully constructed and intelligent creations that reveal their mysteries and depths slowly. There are moments - the midpoint-break of "Papillion" and "Bricks And Mortar" - where, for those us with a large memory are reminded of Depeche Mode's mid 80's high point, built around images that are merely fragments of a larger story. Here, "It kicks like a Sleeptwitch" speaks at a level as profound as the words "Miles To Go". The human mind is smart enough to fill the gaps.

The story behind these songs are, like all great art, questing, searching, looking for something. There's a question in the heart of everything, for no sane being can truly admit they know everything : or even enough to be satisfied.

For those of you who are adamant that Editors are depressed guitar rock, it is time to scoff. There is nary a guitar on this record at all - though there is something that could be a guitar on "You Don't Know Love" - akin to the quantum leap between "Movement" and "Power Corruption And Lies", where the world expanded, the leap from black and white to colour.

Some records you grab hold of at first listen, and come back to you for years and years and years. This is one of those records. Free of padding, filled with vision and compelling songwriting - whilst aware of history, and unafraid to walk in the shadow of their influences, Editors also make these influences their own, and create something new as a result. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you like the editors, don't buy this, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Jeremy Smeddle (Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Might give this another chance some time, however listed to it half a dozen time, and it was unpleasent. Why go for 80's techno pop as a change of direction...it isn't even good 80's techno pop! Who ever has stollen the Editors...could you please return them ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all was alright, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any of their other albums, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not sure why this is scoring lower than back room or end has a start. There are at least 4 great songs on here. Love this as much as I do their others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Editors, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of this group, I am a tad bias with regards their music but this is not one of their best....it has more of a pub singer tone...The first and second albums are far superior however there are a few notable tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews