Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editors and Ellis/Hillier or Ellis/Hillier and Editors?
I think it's a bit of both. Guitars replaced with synths. It sounds very close to Depeche Mode. "Papillon" is a
sonic example of this area. "Bricks and Mortar" melody reminds me something of Joy Division. The ghost of Ian Curtis sings "You were the truth when you lied..." on "You Don't Know Love". I'm not trying to say that I'm not
happy it sounds like it...
Published on 13 Oct. 2009 by M. Pisarczyk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars makes want to listen to DM
I`m reviewing this cd three years after its release. I`m listening to it now because for some reason i was reminded of Editors and thought that i had not listened to Editors` third cd often. Mainly because i was disappointed three years ago after it was released. That disappointment is still there. I hear a band trying to sound like Depeche Mode, without actually...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by Oostrijck


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editors and Ellis/Hillier or Ellis/Hillier and Editors?, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Pisarczyk - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think it's a bit of both. Guitars replaced with synths. It sounds very close to Depeche Mode. "Papillon" is a
sonic example of this area. "Bricks and Mortar" melody reminds me something of Joy Division. The ghost of Ian Curtis sings "You were the truth when you lied..." on "You Don't Know Love". I'm not trying to say that I'm not
happy it sounds like it sounds. Guys did really good record here. I like it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome change of sound and step forward..., 17 Sept. 2009
By 
A. Squires (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll be honest - A End Has a Start left me just a little underwhelmed after loving The Back Room, as it felt like a coda to the first album ('Smokers' notwithstanding) rather than a step forward.

Having heard the majority of these new tracks live more than once now, I'm pleased to say that this time Tom Smith and his merry (ok, maybe not so merry) men have taken two steps forward in one go. Analogue type synths everywhere giving recognisable song structures a fresh new twist.

There's no substitute for seeing this band 'live', as CD never seems to quite capture that indefinable something that makes them great in that environment, but this new album will be the next best thing. You might have already heard the lead off single, Papillon. If you haven't make every effort to do so - it's one hell of a song.

No doubt the usual 'sounds like Joy Division' knockers will be out again, and fresh accusations of jumping on the retro-80's bandwagon with the new layer of sound. So what? I'm old enough to have loved Joy Divison, Gary Numan et al first time around. EVERY band sounds like someone else one way or another - just accept these as a damn fine set of songs from a band who genuinely look like they might be able to adapt and stay around for the long term, which is a rarity these days.

Buy the album, play it loud, and if you can, make every effort to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pure Grower, 16 July 2011
I remember listening to classic tracks by Editors such as "All Sparks" a few years ago, but never really gave a try listening to full record. A few months ago I went back to Editors, only to discover more than expected.

This third album was very different indeed. At times you think it's a completely different band(this one is much more synthetic, while the last 2 albums were very guitar driven). I did enjoy some tracks at an instant, like the obvious single Papillon and the strangely cool Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool. But the more i listened to it the more I enjoyed it. It was a grower, now I think the entire record is a masterpiece.

Tracks:

1. In This Light and on This Evening - 7/10
A good way to start the album, amazing build up, lovely vocals. And then it releases with noise and guitars. Only complaint is that the climax could've been a bit shorter, or at least more evolving.

2. Bricks and Mortar - 6.5/10
Didn't enjoy this one that much at the start. It has some nice sounds, and some annoying(background beat). Now I think the track works. Some might like this one while other may not. I think it could've been shorter but it's still pretty cool.

3. Papillon - 9/10
Pure energy, it's a hell of track. Cool sounds, cool lyrics, deep voice. Hard not to love. Far more pop'ish than the other tracks, but still fits in very well.

4. You Don't Know Love - 9/10
Great song, an interesting observation of a character who grew out of love (would be my guess). Nice build up, catchy, amazing electronic and guitar sounds, perfect length.

5. The Big Exit - 8/10
This another track that had to grow on me. It's a dark tension builder were you need to be in the mood.

6. The Boxer - 10/10
Pretty different from the other tracks, but I think it's the very best as well. It's catchy, calm, amazing vocals. It feels like poetry, very underrated.

7. Like Treasure - 7.5/10
Decent song, not as memorable as the others, but it's still magical and fits in.

8. Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool - 9.5/10
Awesome song, it's dark, funny, with amazing vocals and bizarre sounds. They really managed to make it sound full of blood. Can't stop singing "I give a little to you, a give little to him, a give little to her, her!"

9. Walk The Fleet Road - 7.5/10
Similar to like treasure, leaves similar impact. Good way to end the album, with memorable lines.

You need to give this record more than one listen. Some fans of Editors other albums may not like this at first sight, but It's more characteristic, grower and mature than the other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thing of Joy (Division), 10 Oct. 2010
I wasn't intending to buy this album, but at the price it was a steal and I had really enjoyed their first album with all the Joy Division influences. Okay, there is still very much a Joy Division influence on this but I guess if you are going to steal, steal from the best. And Editors have something uniquely their own too - they are much more upbeat than JD ever were. So don your Joy Division oven gloves and give this a listen. First track and title track "In This Light and On This Evening" is one of the standouts, impressive singing, great atmosphere and disturbing, vaguely threatening lyrics ("I heard the earth inhale..."). The next two songs are maybe not quite as good but maintain high standards. Fourth track "You Don't Know Love" builds in intensity with washes of synth and great harmonies, anthemic in a way that would not disgrace Depeche Mode. "The Big Exit", which follows, has powerful lead vocals, perhaps the best singing on the album. "The Boxer" is self-confident and insistent, like a track by Muse. "Like Treasure" builds and builds, slightly repetitive in an Arcade Fire vogue, I'll bury you like treasure sings Tom Smith as if singing a love song and this somehow makes it more scary than if he were doing an Ian Curtis impression. "Eat Raw Meat" sounds a bit out of place on the album and doesn't quite work, for the first time Editors begin to sound as if they are going through the motions and giving the fans what they think they expect. The final song on the album starts slowly, again with epic harmonies, we are back in atmospheric JD with a touch of DM territory, with swirling synthesisers and big drums. There may be nothing in the lyrics that demands such epic treatment but it ends the album on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In This Light and On This Evening, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard the Editors when watching their Glastonbury set this year and I was immediately impressed. So much so I went online and bought all three albums in one hit. This has some awesome tracks on it and shows the style of music perfectly. They have an almost grandiose, big electronic sound to them and have been compared to some bands of the eighties and there is definitely that element to their sound, but they also sound fresh and modern as well and the lead singers vocals are unique and fit the music well. The most well known track is probably `Papillon' which is also one of my favourites on offer here and the one that really caught my ear when I was watching them on TV. `Bricks and Mortar', as noted by other reviewers, is reminiscent of The Terminator theme music but I really enjoy it, maybe more so because of this! There is an energy about this album and I can't help but feel buoyed up after listening to it, even with the odd slower track in there as well. If you are a huge fan of the early albums then this may not appeal as much as there a lot of synths here compared to guitars, but if you enjoy this then you can go easily go back to those early albums and appreciate them all the more after knowing where they lead to. This is just an evolution of the bands sound and style. All in all this is a good album ,with some great tracks on it and a big sound to put a smile on your face. Well worth checking out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, maybe even better than The Back Room, 14 Jan. 2010
It's a bit different than the first two albums, some people can't get over that, maybe the same people that like generic indie bore material that bands churn out consistently, and U2. However, Editors decided they needed a change of direction, I agree. The Back Room is probably in the top 10 albums of the last decade, however, An End Has A Start is mediocre, some fantastic songs, but some that were basically boring.

Boring, however, is not one word that can be used to describe In This Light and on This Evening, The intensity of the opening track, and album title lets you know where we are heading, the slow-burn, the crashing drums and bass-line at the end for me makes it the perfect start to the album (also the live set) and is a bold intent of the direction Ed's have taken.
Bricks & Mortar with it's synth hook that wouldn't have been out of place in Blade Runner and the pre-release single Papillon - probably the most dance orientated song Editors have ever done. It kicks like a sleep twitch..." indeed.

Mid way through we have The Boxer which is more down-tempo than most of the preceding tracks, and one that turns into one of my favourites - just beautiful.
A future single has to be Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool - an unrelenting beat drives the song, whilst Tom's drawling vocals make this an instant favourites.
Finally Walk The Fleet Road - An intro that sounds like it was literally taken from Terminator turns into a most beautiful and calming song after some relentless synth hooks and deep vocals, a much needed light song after 8 previous dark, unforgiving tracks - it's a great ending to the record.

Of course if you get the special editors - which I urge anyone to do so - you have five more on Cuttings II, including the fantastic The House Is Full of Noise and A Life as a Ghost (Dance F**ker Dance) and in my opinion many of these songs would have been just as welcome on the album.

Probably my favourite album of 2009, a bold move from Editors, and one which makes them in my opinion one of the best and important bands of the last ten years - frankly the Interpol / Joy Division comparisons are boring, way off the mark and plain incorrect... Give it a try, it clearly isn't for everybody, as even Tom Smith said himself, for me, those who don't like it... see you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Their Own Division, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two years ago Editors delivered on the promise of their debut album with the phenomenal `An End Has a Start'. It was filled with a combination of Joy Division inspired atmosphere and tom Smith's brand of snarling vocals. It was a triumph. Now two years on the band returns with third album `In This Night and On This Evening' and the sound has developed again. This time around Tom Smith and company have taken their old Joy Division influence, put it through the blender added a seasoning of synths and gothic harmonies and branded the result with seven big shiny new letters E D I T O R S.

So this brand new monster starts in ominous form with the title track. It's all pulsing synth and gentle piano lines. Smith's vocals are like those of a witness at a trial all monotone and almost spoken. It builds gently for almost three minutes before a menacing distorted riff kicks in with a pounding drum line that compels you to pay attention to the chaos swirling around it that eventually returns to that pulsing synth. The second track then feels open and charming in comparison. It is lead by gently rising synths accompanied by a bouncing drum line. For the first time on this track you also hear the new addition of choir like harmonies on the chorus. Again as this track progresses it seems to build towards the end.

When you reach track three you are greeted by the familiar sound first single `Papillon'. Only one thing sums this track up and it's Smith's own lyric of "It kicks like a sleep twitch". This lyric seems to conduct the song as it develops from simple synths in the first verse into the chorus with its more intense sound and simple harmonies. This is a beautifully crafted song which even though six minutes long is demanding of your attention throughout. It's a fantastic listen. To follow this then Editors have to pull another masterpiece out and they do. `You Don't Know Love' starts once again with that stripped back synth line with nice supporting bass and drum lines. The choir like harmonies are used much more obviously in this track which helps to set it apart and keep the interest. The energy of the chorus is fantastic echoing the opening lyrics of the track it will be a great crowd favourite when the band tour this October. `The Big Exit' is a really surprising track. The first thing you hear on the track is a sound like a paper shredder. Once this fades you are left with the expected drum and synth combination and Smith's echoing and mournful vocals. He uses his voice to great effect in this track sweeping from melancholy to stretched highs. The track twists and turns elegantly building and almost falling silent before building once again to a menacing crescendo lead by layered vocals repeating themselves over and over.

`The Boxer' adds a change of direction in the album. It opens with a popping lead line which is slowly absorbed into a combination of gentle piano and atmospheric vocals. It is a soft track that doesn't build to the crescendos which drive those before. `Like Treasure' starts in a clear and atmospheric mood with Smith's voice echoing gently in amongst the mix. This is followed by a track which has one of the best track titles I have read this year, `Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool'. It is just fantastically strange. The track itself matches the name. It opens with a synth line like a broken warning siren backed by a gently bouncing bass line. Smith's lyrics are brilliant on this track with lines like "Your blood drool attracts the flies". The whole thing seems strangely communal somehow with the chorus of "I give a little to you. I give a little to him. I give a little to her." The album then closes out with `Walk the Fleet Road'. This is a softly swelling track that opens with beeps and brushes of synths. Smith's vocals echo on the verses and feel like the high pitched whisper of the wind on the choruses. The carefully placed backing vocals and hummed harmonies add a slightly desolate dimension to the track which then fades into the background and leaves you alone once more.

So at the end of it all Editors have managed to take a running jump forward. It is an album that throws off the last remnants of any Joy Division comparisons and leaves you with a distinct impression of who this band truly are. It has been beautifully crafted to maintain interest and originality throughout. They have not allowed a moment of filler into the album and kept it at a phenomenally high standard. Editors now stand apart as the truly talented artists that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance it is a big grower, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Got the album on the 12th October and had tickets to see them live on the 16th October so knew I had to play it over and over.

First impression was I liked it, after a few plays wasn't so sure, after listening to it for the 10th or so time I love it and hearing the tracks performed live just adds to it.

The new material stands up with the previous 2 albums and does sit well when intermingled in a live set.

Yes it is different and yes some of it is maybe a bit darker than usual. I applaud them for trying a new direction and as a big fan I am pleased to say I really love the new stuff.

And Papillon goes down an absolute storm live !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great work by Editors!, 10 Feb. 2011
Overall, a great third record from Editors. "In This Light an On This Evening" starts with the album title song and an incredible synth tempo, followed by Tom's dark and slightly scary vocals that build up to the explosive ending of the opening song. "Bricks and Mortar", is a fantastic song to follow up with a great combination of keyboard and synth. "Papillon", a great synth tempo runs throughout. "Like Treasure" is my personal favourite off the new album. It begins with a great keyboard section with a pulsating drum beat and Tom's dark vocals that builds up to an incredible finish with a great solo from Chris on the guitar. The following track, "Eat Raw Meat=Blood Drool" is fantastically strange and makes me smile every time I hear it. The album finishes with "Walk the Fleet Road", an excellent way to round off things. It begins with gentle beeps and whistles of synth before choir-like vocals take over.

Also, "Cuttings II", featured in the deluxe edition of "In This Light and On This Evening", possibly exceeds the heights of the studio album with 5 exceptional tracks. Personal favourite is "A Life As A Ghost", a scary song with an incredible drum beat,dark vocals and even darker synth and keys. Great Stuff!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly it all makes sense., 15 Dec. 2009
By 
Ian Truin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In This Light And On This Evening (MP3 Download)
I never got it before. I have often thought that I should like Editors but it never quite happened. I'd see them on coverage of the festivals and not quite connect. I just didn't get it. Now I do. This album is immediately involving and utterly likeable. It reeks of the 80's in the vocals and musically but it's of today. The Boxer is the standout track for me but the strengths of the melodies and hooks are evident throughout. I have now hastened back to "An end has a start", a brilliant album, and their solid debut "The back room". I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews