Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2010
I saw the IMAX film of this concert just after it was first released. I thought, then, that the IMAX film was better than being at the concert - the sound was excellent, but, best of all, the picture quality was astounding. I bought the DVD of Live at the Max about two years ago. The sound was passable, but the picture quality was appalling - certainly not as good as I was expecting. I have recently upgraded my system to HD TV and Blu-ray player and thought I'd try the Blu-ray version of Live at the Max. It is astonishingly good in both audio and picture and at least as good as the IMAX film. An advantage, of course, in watching the Blu-ray version as compared with the IMAX film at a theatre, is that the Blu-ray version can be paused for refreshment breaks!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
This is about the Blu-Ray ,
FANTASIC !! , this is for me the BEST stones concert I have seen since the High-Def disc was lauched. Anyone thinking of getting "The Biggest Bang" on blu-Ray don't bother as that is the same as the normal, but this is somewhat very special !
I had the normal DVD which was a 4:3 picture cut down for video version from many years ago just in what was then "stereo sound" with washed out colour and okay for the 90's.
This new print has been taken from the original 35mm IMEX print used to screen in IMEX cinemas back in the eary 1990's.
the transfer is sharp and very hight quality , no grain and ritch colour means all the light from the pinks to blacks are deep. Micks clothes and costmes are so fine with detail you can see the stiching , and it is also fun to see detail on the crowd (like what they have on thier shirts and hats.
The colour is very vivid through-out as alive as the day of the show , and the NEW 5.1 DTS HD master gives you the Wembley sound we all know on cup final days..loud and full of atmosphere.
This is the stones at their best , doing what they do best , it is also region free so not probems with playing , ...if you like this bad , this Blu-Ray version is a MUST SEE , it beats any other current live perfomace on blu-ray or DVD that are around.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Keith, Ronnie, Charlie, Bill and Mick filmed from shows in London, Turin and Berlin. Maybe not the best concert DVD of the Stones (I would say Some Girls and Sweet Summer Sun are much better as are others and both are a couple of decades earlier or later than the Live At The Max DVD) but this is still a great live DVD from them.

Just short of an hour and a half that includes:

Continental Drift
Start Me Up
Sad Sad Sad
Tumbling Dice
Ruby Tuesday
Rock And A Hard Place
Honky Tonk Woman
You Can’t Always Get What You Want
Happy
Paint It Black
2000 Light Years From Home
Sympathy For The Devil
Street Fighting Man
It’s Only Rock N’ Roll
Brown Sugar
(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
This is my third live Stones video, and I must say I like this one the least. Image and sound are OK, but I think the performance itself is over the top. I like them more as a 5-member band without all the extras (3 background singers, a complete brass band, ... in this case).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
The sound for both 5.1 and stereo is perfect, the images are stunning, the camera work is impeccable. Mark Fisher's somewhat 'Heath-Robinson' stage design is huge and simply brilliant!

But the amazing part about this concert recording is the date - 1990-1. Until then, the IMAX system could only record a few minutes of film at any one time, as the weight of the film-stock made the in-camera film transport too difficult. This was the first time that so-called Long-Load canisters of film could be used, though the weight of 70mm film made them somewhat unreliable. To have pulled off this technical achievement at such an early date is indeed impressive!

Pictures fed to the Jumbotrons at concerts came from outside broadcast (OB) trucks switching live feeds from some 16 video cameras. Halfway through post-production of the whole project, it was decided to use some of this standard-definition video that had been recorded on 3/4" tape in the final IMAX film. A series of tests to 'up-res' (improve resolution) of this video and test negatives were processed and after dozens of attempts, a process was created to improve just six minutes of the SD footage to a quality where it could be inserted into the IMAX footage without too big a drop in resolution.

The concert was shot with eight IMAX 70mm cameras fitted with the first Long Load film magazines, but the sheer weight of the film stock made the camera mechanisms so unpredictable, there was no guarantee of complete coverage of any song in any single concert, so the footage from several concerts had to be cut together.

Because cutting on a Steenbeck flatbed proved impossible, the Lucas-Film non-linear-editing (NLE) system called 'EditDroid' was customised in Los Angeles and an edit-demand-list (EDL) was created from the footage by copying the footage onto 35mm film and printing that to optical video disk. The data from the EDL was then used to make the cuts in the IMAX 70mm negatives and sync'ed to the two Mitsubishi X850 32-track digital reel-to-reel machines to give very early 64-track digital recording.

Today, we take hi-def and 4K filming for granted, but just 25 years ago, it involved true pioneer work. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This is how every rock-consert should be captured. Crystel clear sound and very nice camerawork. And...Rolling Stones have hardly been better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
I saw this film at what was, at the time, the only place it could be shown in the UK - the IMAX theatre at Bradford. In the meantime I have enjoyed occasional screenings at home of a Laserdisc edition. The Blu Ray release is nothing short of magnificent in both picture and sound. It does full justice to the excellent source material and the transfer from IMAX has been done very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Not Their best concert in terms of stage performance.but the picture quality being IMax condensed even further..mustmake it one of the best picture quality dvds you can get of a concert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
As expected, top quality music from a top quality band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Rolling Stones! Great buy! I love watching live music with my friends having a few beers, we all loved it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)