Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rod Stewart albums
This is a well produced album with Rod sounding quite smooth and adding his own individual touch to all these well known soul hits.
What I really like about this album is that he hasn't strayed away from the original sound of the songs, he has just added his voice
to more or less the same music as it sounded back in the last few decades. For me this is a rare...
Published on 2 Nov 2009 by Roger Strutton

versus
60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sing It Again Rod
Rod Stewart is no stranger to soul music. Over the years he has successfully covered, and laid claim to some definitive versions of classics such as "Twisting The Night Away", "You Send Me", "I Know I`m Losing You" and "This Old Heart Of Mine" to name but a few. Indeed, his own interpretation of "You Keep Me Hanging On" is one of the greatest things he`s ever...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by S. Handley


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sing It Again Rod, 11 Nov 2009
By 
S. Handley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
Rod Stewart is no stranger to soul music. Over the years he has successfully covered, and laid claim to some definitive versions of classics such as "Twisting The Night Away", "You Send Me", "I Know I`m Losing You" and "This Old Heart Of Mine" to name but a few. Indeed, his own interpretation of "You Keep Me Hanging On" is one of the greatest things he`s ever recorded.
So it is with much anticipation that this, a complete album of soul classics, is received.
This is not a good album, but it`s not a bad album either. Like it`s predecessor, the highly enjoyable "Songbook", this is another `music by numbers` affair in which every track is meticulously arranged and produced and never strays too far from the originals.
Die-hard fans will buy it for their collection and this continuous trend towards `shopping-mall friendly` music will endear him to many new listeners too.
Vintage fans will be rueing a missed opportunity at what might have been.
Another safe album from Rod to enjoy but greater risks would have reaped greater rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rod Stewart albums, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
This is a well produced album with Rod sounding quite smooth and adding his own individual touch to all these well known soul hits.
What I really like about this album is that he hasn't strayed away from the original sound of the songs, he has just added his voice
to more or less the same music as it sounded back in the last few decades. For me this is a rare touch of genius because I love Rod's voice, and also the original music by Sam Cooke, Smokey Robinson, Stevie Wonder etc.,so there no hanky panky with the arrangements and this means I can sing along knowing what to expect. Sometimes when singers add their own arrangements to well known songs, they make a complete mess of it.
I know I will be able play this album in the future without wanting to skip a song, an album filled to the brim with quality..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Labour Of Love, 6 Dec 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
Did you watch 'Rod Stewart : One Night Only' on TV tonight ?
I did and it was a strangely emotional experience; I found
myself moist-eyed on more than one occasion (SOPPY OLD WOLF!!).
What is it about the guy ? The easy bonhomie? The self-deprecating charm?
The laddish (at 63!) larking around? The sweet-soul voice?
All this and more goes into making him the legend that he is.

There is a little history here for me and some good memories.

I bought his solo debut 'An Old Raincoat Will Never Let You Down'
in 1969 and played Mike D'Abo's 'Handbags and Gladrags' until I
wore the track out; saw him for the first time at the Weeley festival
near Clacton-On-Sea in 1971 ( 3 days in the middle of a very smelly field!)
and was waiting outside my local record store before it opened one
morning in the summer of the same year to buy 'Every Picture Tells A Story'.
He is an unerasable and precious part of the soundtrack to my adolescent years.
(I think that - along with a good few of my peers - I even
shared an approximate version of his haircut for a while!)

'Soul Book' no-longer finds Mr Stewart at the top of his game.
To expect more than he is able to give us, however, would be unreasonable.

The voice is still in pretty good shape none-the-less.
The magic is in the phrasing and the interpretation of this wonderful
bunch of songs. What he lacks in power he more than makes up for in
emotional delivery. Peerless performances despite his limitations.

Mr Stewart has gone back in time to re-consider some of the classic
songs which fueled and fired his musical imagination.
The thirteen tracks in this collection represent a true labour of love.

'It's The Same Old Song' kicks the show off in fine fettle;
the slow beginning a beguilingly deceptive introduction
to the fabulously faithful full-on production which follows.

Guess who's playing harmonica on 'My Cherie Amour' ?
(You only get one go !)

The duet with Mary J Blige on 'You Make Me Feel Brand New' is
absolutely stunning. Pure chemistry. Pure magic.
So too the sentimental but uplifting take on 'Let It Be Me'
with the redoubtable Jennifer Hudson.

Mr Stewart's account of 'Rainy Night In Georgia' demonstrates
his innate understanding of the genre. Understated, perfectly paced
and simply beautiful to listen to. Pure class.

'Love Train' is a hoot and how could it not be ?
"People all over the world join in. Start a love train - love train"
Why not indeed ? We could all use one for sure !

A favorite track ? Hmmm ... tricky!
OK ... it's got to be 'What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted?'
An affectionate tribute to Mr Ruffin's great, great song.

The album appears to have attracted a few negative reviews.
In a very long career there will always be highs and lows.
From my point of view I can only applaud and give thanks
that Rod Stewart is still among the living and on this
evidence doing just fine. Very fine indeed in fact!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's All Over Now,, 13 Nov 2009
By 
D. Bache (Bradford.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
The album he has waited all his life to make...so the sleeve notes from Rod state: I am sorry but it is a great disappointment. Another over produced ,over edited C.D.
It is full of obvious songs . They are too faithful to the original versions. Almost Kareoke night with Rod. Rod's strength used to be taking lesser known songs and giving them an edge and emotion bettered by none.As a Faces fan of 40 years standing I bought it hot on the heels of the Rod Stewart sessions.That is a great boxset.I hoped Rod would give these well known songs a whole new life.But no , Shopping mall music as a previous reviewer accurately wrote. I love the bloke for all the years of great music andlaughs but time to stop playing it safe. It is all over rehearsed, let's have some true emotion back.Sorry to be negative but this man can sing, what a waste of talent.At least he still supports The Celts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 14 Nov 2009
By 
A. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
I was expecting a lot from this release - I am a big fan of Rod and thought these songs would suit him perfectly. The reality is that this is a truly awful album. There isn't one song that does justice to the original. The musical backing and production is absolutely dire. The most disappointing aspect is that Rod no longer appears to have the vocal range to sing these songs. I cannot believe that his quality control has dropped so low that he has allowed these songs to be released. Appalling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bland-Out, 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
Rod blands out yet again, to think that he could have reunited with Faces for 2010, done a rock n' roll album and toured with them instead he takes the commercial as opposed to artistic option, his early 70's Facers ans solo stuff are great and I saws him in 1991 at Wembley - excellent. Once he went to the US he sold out. He could have got back some artistic integrity with Faces but as usual mucks them around to his benefit. AOR = Rod Stewart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's obviously Rod Stewart, 12 Dec 2009
By 
S. Leigh "cabby548" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a present for my wife who has loved Rod since early days. However I was disappointed as despite all the songs being familiar, it seems that he is just satisfying the record company by putting out just another album. A couple of the songs are better than others but mainly, he has seemed to gone down the road of covering a good song anyway - like Robson & Jerome but in the 00's. Will obviously please all like my wife but if I was writing a report it would end up with "could do so much better"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear Dear Dear, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
This Album is Dire!!!!!!! Take my advice.....pop down to the Dentist and have a couple of Fillings done - its less painfull and more fun!! I did give it one star though, and that was for the hilarious groan inducing production. So many splendid Soul classics done unto death - it should'nt be allowed. Soul Book??? - should be re-titled.......Tortured Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LANDMARK in music, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
In this album, SOULBOOK, Rod Stewart has produced a true landmark collection which will actually be talked about years from now.

It's not so much the great choice of material... and it IS great... or even the stunning duets, especially the Jennifer Hudson one which will once again rubber stamp this amazing girl's growing credentials...

NO.. it's the overall feel of the album being 'just right' with enough of the original tune, enough of Rod's unique voice and more than enough of the 'play it again' quality that keeps it on the turntables...

It's a statement of where Rod Stewart is today, applying flawless vocals to his favourite 'growing up in London' songs, and taking fans on one more step of a very long pop journey through a lot of different styles.

Not being a great fan of the Songbook series, I was unsure what to expect, so imagine the delight when it turned out to be THIS good. RECOMMENDED TO ALL who like Rod Stewart and to all who like classic soul at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DROSS!, 7 Nov 2009
By 
J. P. Daly "JOHN DALY" (BLACKLEY, MANCHESTER) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Book (Audio CD)
SORRY, BUT AS A FAN OF ROD FOR 30+ YEARS THIS IS A JOKE,WE ALL KNOW ROD EXPLOITS HIS FANS BUT THIS IS REALLY POOR, HE JUST DOES'NT SOUND UP TO IT, PERHAPS HE'S HAD HIS DAY.A POOR ALBUM ALL ROUND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Book
Soul Book by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews