Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good - but so much better live...
Skindred are a band I first experienced live, and what an experience it was!
Benji is the best frontman by far, he will get a crowd moving, and none of that circle pit nonsense, you'll be jumping at his command.
The CD doesn't have the same effect but it's got that Skindred bounce.
Buy the CD, see them live, buy the t-shirt - support live music.
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Andrew R. Wedge

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharks and Dogs have lost their teeth?
After Babylon and Roots Rock Riot, I was expecting Skindred to do a lot of things. But one of them wasn't going soft. Unfortunately, that's what Shark Bites and Dog Fights seems to have done. I miss the power, rage and energy from the positive-spirited lads, instead of music which sounds like it's trying to move towards the mainstream rather than against it. I have...
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by 5itus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharks and Dogs have lost their teeth?, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Babylon and Roots Rock Riot, I was expecting Skindred to do a lot of things. But one of them wasn't going soft. Unfortunately, that's what Shark Bites and Dog Fights seems to have done. I miss the power, rage and energy from the positive-spirited lads, instead of music which sounds like it's trying to move towards the mainstream rather than against it. I have nothing against the mainstream as such, but there are some bands who have such a basic and primal drive towards something else that you wish they'd have stayed in their own stream rather than joining that of everyone else. I'll still look forward to seeing them live - already have the tickets - because hopefully they'll do the unexpected with these songs live. And that, my friends, will be worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good - but so much better live..., 31 Oct 2009
By 
Skindred are a band I first experienced live, and what an experience it was!
Benji is the best frontman by far, he will get a crowd moving, and none of that circle pit nonsense, you'll be jumping at his command.
The CD doesn't have the same effect but it's got that Skindred bounce.
Buy the CD, see them live, buy the t-shirt - support live music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Bites And Dog Fights (MP3 Download)
Second album from Skindred I've bought and the second album I've really enjoyed. A great energetic metal album with reggae and ska influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album!!, 22 Sep 2010
By 
A. Thompson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On this album Skindred go beyond what they're really known for.
It combines all the elements that makes typical skindred with a bit of electro, and a lot of vibes that are clearly influenced by old reggae, and some more hardcore metal!
This is a must buy!!

I LOVE this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skindred have done it once again, 3 Oct 2009
Skindred have done it once again. The band formed in 1993, Benji, the lead singer left his previous band 'Dub War' and created Skindred. Hailing from Newport, South Wales, this band never fail to create ground breaking original music. Whilst retaining their original roots, they get harder yet softer with each record they put out.

From their first album 'Babylon', through to 'Root Rock Riot' and now 'Shark Bites and Dog Fights', the band manages to fuse reggae, hard rock, dub step and even a little trance and the results are well... breath taking! From the opener `Stand For Something' the album starts off at a rocky tempo, Benji's vocals, as always, magnificently tight. Probably the best riff on the album is heard here, after the first listen I couldn't get the chorus out of my head! The album keeps up this excellent tempo right through to the closer 'Invinsible'.

Benji continues to be the driving force of the bands sound, his smooth croon swiftly followed by a barrage of guttural screams shows you just what an exceptional singer he really is.

Mix in some flowing reggae rhymes, outstanding beats and jaw dropping riffs, and the end product is something oh so so special. It sends the listener on a hell of a ride, think ice cream sundae with chocolate sauce and a cherry on top for the ears :)

The stand out track on this album has got to be `You Can't Stop it'. For me, it's the best track Skindred have produced. Blending all their qualities into just under 4 minutes of mind blowing raga-rock!
For me, Skindred just seem to get better and better as time goes on. In my opinion, there is no other band that manages to fuse two or three genres so successfully. Enter shikari do a decent job but for me they're not a touch on these fellas.

My only critisism of this record is that sadly, its only 8 tracks long. But I'd rather listen to 8 quality tracks than loads of 'fill in's.

If you want head banging riffs, quality dub step beats, a little bit of reggae, amazingly powerful vocals and exceptionally produced music, then this is the record you've been waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome CD, 5 July 2010
I brought this CD after hearing there songs on a pub jukebox.
The album is fantastic and am going to buy there previous album shortly.
I highly recommend this CD to anyone into Rock/Reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again!, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Stewie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Awesome, spread the word. Great live too. Charismatic and genre pushing with relentless energy. LOVE THEM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews