Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2009
I bought this cable router after googling a couple of reviews, specifically to link both a PC and an XBox 360 to a Virgin Media cable internet connection.

The router itself is about the size of an average paperback book, and the build quality is about the same as my cable modem ie. fine if you're locating it somewhere that it won't get knocked about too much (PC worktable or similar).

One point that I noticed - the router is actually a white couloured ABS shell with a black trim, as opposed to the picture here on Amazon which looks like a black coloured shell. Also included in the box are a wall-plug power supply, a quick-start printed guide, and a mini-CD containing a much more comprehensive user guide in PDF format.

I already had the couple of ethernet cables that I needed handy and it only took me about 5 minutes to connect up the hardware, and about the same to configure the PC. (The XBox connected straight to XBox Live service automatically).

I'd estimate that all in all this has saved me at least £100 when compared to a wireless network solution, taking into account the cost of a wireless router, and corresponding hardware for both the PC and XBox!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
This router is fine and works well however just be aware that it is not necessarily plug and play. It provides a set up disc which is fine until it asks a question. You have the option of choosing Dynamic IP, Static IP or PPoE whichever your ISP uses. Well, if you are like me, you have no idea! After some googling, I used Dynamic IP (I am on BT Infinity) however it still did not work. so I then had to go to FAQ. This gives a sequence of things to try and fortunately for me the first one which was to change the IP address of the router worked (it told you how to do this). The IP address is apparently fairly common and if it is the same as something else you have then the router will not work.
So, all working well now and I have 2 computers running off it and I can recommend it however it is not necessarily for the faint hearted with regards to setting it up but hope this helps if you have problems.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Easy to install. Has worked faultlessly every day since installation, despite being switched off most nights or whenever I've finished with the pc for the day. Fab value for money in my eyes.
We're using Virgin Media for our sins and wanted this for a second pc in a different room, without getting their SuperHub, which isn't and costs a lot more.
Hardest part was running the cable under the floor. Having used wireless before I'm pleased to say this performs better and make more sense for us.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I bought this router for creating a test lab network since I work in IT and need it for training. I bought the router two days ago and it arrived today, really impressed.

I am also impressed on the price for one of these routers, nearly £13. Much better than going for a Linksys router that costs around £50 to £60.

I would recommend this router for a basic network set up but for a complex set up for a test lab probably not but Google will keep you right. There is a TP-Link forum online which did help.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
I bought this router purely so I can mash it up on the Xbox360 and the missus can mash it up on Farmville or summing on Facebook, at the same time (it also keeps us in separate rooms)! I do love my wife xxx

We are running Virgin Media cable and the hardest part to the setup, was pulling the computer out of the slot under the desk and plugging in the new cables. Out of the box and both of us enjoying the interwebnet extravaganza at the same time, in under 10 mins.

It really is that easy - Don't hesitate to buy this.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Recently brought this as a replacement for my homehub 3 to use with my Bt infinity connection. 3 days of heavy usage (large downloads, gaming, and high bandwidth traffic) and no problems, loads of useful features, and a hell of allot faster than bt's crappy hardware!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Quick and easy to install. Very little set-up. Did not need wifi so why pay for it - with the added security risk. Very pleased with this, thank you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Arrived very quickly and installed easily with supplied software. Quite straightforward to set one device to a fixed IP address. Not changed any other settings. Had it about a month and no problems so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Brilliant bit of kit I needed a small compact fast unit and this fits the bill, connect up the ports and switch on and away you go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
i bought this item just before xmas as the one i had had packed in i am very pleased with it as it was so simple to set up would recommend it to any one. thank you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)