Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take that Christmas Eve feeling and bottle it...
Imagine the feeling of settling down by the fire on Christmas Eve, illuminated by fairy lights, watching the snow through the window...the goosebumps you used to get as a child, and maybe still do, if you're lucky. Imagine translating that feeling into music. Well, that's what this album has done.

A welcome change from the usual tacky Christmas albums,...
Published on 1 Dec 2009 by Lucy Lavande

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faryl - wonderland
I loved the front cover design but was disappointed with the title song which sounded old-fashioned and dull..
This album feels like it was made by someone much older than Faryl and it lacks any sense of being contemporary.
Faryl's voice is exceptional but unfortunately, this album is not.
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by H. C. Lyall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take that Christmas Eve feeling and bottle it..., 1 Dec 2009
By 
Lucy Lavande - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Imagine the feeling of settling down by the fire on Christmas Eve, illuminated by fairy lights, watching the snow through the window...the goosebumps you used to get as a child, and maybe still do, if you're lucky. Imagine translating that feeling into music. Well, that's what this album has done.

A welcome change from the usual tacky Christmas albums, Wonderland is as delicate and ethereal as Jack Frost, Faryl's voice clear and pure as ever. Everything about this album, from it's silvery blue cover to its tracklist, draws you into a magical world. The opening track, Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, is stunning with some contemporary, poignant lyrics. Barcarolle, from Tales of Hoffman, is beautifully sung to the familiat, undulating melody, and Blow the Wind Southerly instills you with warmth and happiness. The stand out track, in an album full of quality, is Wonderland, which is set to Vivaldi's 'Winter' from the Four Seasons. This is a most inspired song, one of those tracks that makes you stop what you're doing and listen enrapt, too beautiful to drown out with the sound of anything else, I even found myself trying to breathe quietly.

I have one tiny criticism, which didn't merit giving less than five stars to this gorgeous album. The last song, How Can I Keep From Singing, was also included on her last album, the eponymously titled Faryl. It's uncessecary and lazy to re-use songs, and her production team let her down by doing so. That said, Faryl is a huge talent and a joy to listen to, and I look forward to her next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wonderland, 4 Dec 2009
By 
M. J. Mccarthy (Beckenham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Wonderland

Faryl Smith's appearance at the Albert Hall Festival of Remembrance this year - 2009 - won me over. Her dignified presentation and uplifting voice made me want more. I bought her first album but - as she said herself - the titles were chosen for her and I was disappointed as no doubt was she but this album - WONDERLAND - is refreshingly different and suits her voice and personality perfectly. With the right guidance and support I can see her replace Katherine Jenkins as the voice of our Armed Services and good luck to her. A lovely girl with a moving selection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 12 Dec 2009
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Perfect CD, mix of relaxing songs and anothers less relaxing, O Holy night is full of power and the rendition "Adiemus" of Karl Jenkins nearly makes you cry and is stunning; the song: "Somewhere Far Away" is a perfect mixing of vocals and amazing arrangements,and the lyrics are very beautiful.
This cd is a must have, and not only for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 12 Jan 2010
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
I had been looking forward to buying this CD after enjoying her debut album. I certainly wasn't disappointed. The difference in maturity from first to second is just amazing. Her voice is mellow and flowing, pure and clear. And how it soars in Night of Silence! Just heavenly!

I must also mention her performance of Hymn to the Moon. I would imagine this is usually performed by an experienced singer, such as Anna Netrebko, but Faryl takes it to new heights with her powerful rendition. I still find it hard to believe she's only fourteen!

Faryl, if you read this, well done, young lady! You do yourself credit with such a beautiful album, and I look forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice one Faryl, 27 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
I have one tiny criticism, which didn't merit giving less than five stars to this gorgeous album. The last song, How Can I Keep From Singing, was also included on her last album, That said, Faryl is a huge talent and a joy to listen to, and I look forward to her next album. As long as there are no more repeats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faryl in Wonderland, 21 Oct 2009
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Although I am laying myself open to an earbashing for previewing rather than reviewing this album, a practice which I usually find as irritating as the next person, I am basing this review on three full tracks from this album that I have actually heard. They are, "Somewhere Far Away", a new song set to the theme music of the film "Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence". "The Prayer", which has been done many times by others, but Faryl's version includes a choir, and the title song "Wonderland", another new song but set to Vivaldi's "Winter" from the "Four Seasons". I was very impressed by her voice in the latter. Her diction is excellent throughout these tracks and she is note perfect. She is accompanied on this album by Masquerade Choir and the Crouch End Festival Chorus, and if that is not mouth watering enough, Then add The Royal Phiharmonic Orchestra to the whole and you have the makings of an album that could prove to be something special. The five star rating I have given is, I think, justified by the quality of these three tracks plus a small piece of Karl Jenkins' "Adiemus" that I have also heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful singer, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Carol J. Dingwell "Carol D." (Spokane,Wa. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
After purchasing Faryl Smith's first album I knew I just had to have the new one too. She has such talent it's hard to believe that she is just fourteen years old! Every song is sung with such poise. I hope she gets over to perform in America too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A voice of substance, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Finishing outside the top three for the final of 'Britains got talent' is hardly the biggest claim to fame or indeed much of an incentive to buy an album but this much talked about female vocalist has much to offer and has a maturity that belies her teenage years.
I am not a fan as I haven't heard her beyond BGT so this is a first time listen to an album by Smith.
Not everything works, there are some fairly pedestrian tunes here, including the title track, but where this really works is when it takes a chance and tries something different. This is shown right at the beginning with the re-working of sakamoto's soundtrack piece 'Merry Christmas Mr.Lawrence'. Not a favourite of mine as an orchestral piece this is given some depth and sensitivity by the vocals which shimmer and completely change a rather pedestrian tune into something more.
The adding of Pavarotti to 'O holy night' seems a little gimmicky and although no doubt a crowd pleaser it adds little to a frankly rather done to death song.
So too Karl Jenkins 'Adiemus' is a repetetive three and a half minutes of new age tosh that really doesn't sound all that different here.
However the addition of Offenbach's 'Barcarolle' from 'The tales of Hoffman' is inspired and the strident and wholly musical intro is then muted to allow a vocal performance that really shines alongside a plaintive and beautiful harp. A stand out track.
Heinrich Sense's lyrics to ' In dulce jubilo' may be nearing 700 years old but it's still a very jolly pastoral piece that fits in very nicely here with Smith seeming to warm to the almost folk feel of tune and producing a performance well worth returning to.
After writing 'Night of silence' composer Kantor reckoned it could "make a group of singers sound like the mormon tabernacle choir". Unfortunately this is a little lacklustre here and although quite passable is outshone elsewhere.
'Blow the wind southerly' is always great fun and Smith's rendition is easily the most mature here. At times she sounds very similar to Enya but then reasserts her own identity and even the enjoyable and rock solid instrumentation comes in second behind her performance.
'Close to you' seems like a bit of an afterthought in this company and I have to say that, although I like the Carpenters, this track is not a favourite. My scepticism is proved unfounded though as a really very sweet and musical rendition is given that avoids imitating the original and keeps things simple. It works very nicely.
Lowry's tub thumping favourite 'How can I keep from singing' is not the most original of finales but as before Smith gives it her best and makes it all sound rather lovely.
That's really what sums this album up. Faryl Smith gives every track her best. Not everything works but thats as much to choice of track as anything and even the worst here,(step forward 'Night of silence'), are not dull and at least benefit from some excellent vocal work. She has a voice who's clarity can sometimes surprise the listener. She hits notes which should be beyond her vocal range so early in her career and is as at ease showing restraint and delicacy as she is letting rip and holding on to a note until your eyes water.
I didn't hold out much hope of enjoying this but am more than happy to be proved wrong and can quite happily recommend 'Wonderland'. Needless to say Decca have done an excellent job in both the orchestration given and the standard of recording.The idea of pop-opera does little for me but this is far more professional than the usual and avoids simply aiming for the popular all the time. No doubt you may disagree about what does & doesn't work here but there is certainly enough to enjoy and make this a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faryl, where are you?, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Between 2008 and 2010, the television talent shows Britain's Got Talent and its American counterpart America's Got Talent unearthed three superstar singers - Faryl Smith, Susan Boyle, and Jackie Evancho. If I have to describe these singers in two words, I would call Susan Boyle the pop singer, Jackie Evancho the opera girl, and Faryl Smith the classical crossover. Faryl sings with crystal clarity. She has the technical talent to sing opera arias like Jacques Offenbach's Barcarolle and pops like The Carpenter's Close to You with equal ease. She is the consummate classical crossover singer, in the same genre of the crossover diva Sarah Brightman. But through no fault of her own, she failed to capture the imagination of the public. Her 2009 debut album Faryl was greeted with a fair amount of enthusiasm on both sides of the Atlantic, reaching no. 4 in the UK Albums Chart and No. 31 in the Billboard US Heatseeker Albums Chart. But the public quickly lost interest. Her second album Wonderland of the same year barely reached 56 in the U.K. Chart and was never released in North America due to poor sale in the U.K. Today, Faryl is virtually forgotten across the pond. In spite of the much touted £2.3 million contract with Universal Classics and Jazz, a third album is no where in sight, more than two years after the release of her last album Wonderland. A much-anticipated Faryl Smith exclusive concert tour never materialized. Perhaps that is because Faryl is such a well behaving young lady in public and so normal is every way that the public find her boring - in a personal way. The listening public is a mysterious beast that often acts without rhythm or reason.

Faryl, where are you? Don't crawl into a hole and wither in the dark; that's a career killer. Come out to the sunshine. Sing some songs in front of your local supermarket or in your train station and make videos of them. Post them on YouTube. Do the same with your football games or a day on the beach. Let the public know you as a person. Who knows? The record companies and concert sponsors may come back knocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great second album, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland (Audio CD)
Faryl Smith is a teenage contestant from a TV talent show, that quickly became a major hit with the public for her wonderful singing voice.

After the success of her debut album ("Faryl"), it was perhaps possible that the second might not be as good. However, I enjoyed it just as much. There is an interesting mix of tracks, although they are slightly more religious based than the first album.

I really enjoyed the track "O Holy Night" which has had the voice of Luciano Pavarotti digitally added to make it sound like a duet. "Barcarolle" is another favourite of mine and has a beautiful lilt to the track that makes you envisage a room of dancers at a classic ball.

I really hope that they take good care of this young lady and that she continues to produce work of this quality in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonderland
Wonderland by Faryl Smith (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews