Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A miss understood film
I have just watched 'Land of the Lost' and i was curious to find out what everyone else thought about it. As i was expecting to see a family, comedy film i was pleasantly surprised that it was not just your ordinary clichéd family movie but something aimed for a slightly older audience. This maybe why it was so poorly received. Looking at trailers and TV spots,...
Published on 26 May 2012 by Gothcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You don't just dive into the devils cave…
This film is a real mixed bag. From the very opening 1970’s Universal logo you know this isn’t going to be a simple ride. The plot centres around Dr. Rick Marshall (Will Ferrell) who has a parallel world theory that might solve the energy crisis, but he is ridiculed and falls into obscurity. Jump 3 years into the future and enter cute Cambridge graduate Holly...
Published 10 months ago by Throda tzen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A miss understood film, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have just watched 'Land of the Lost' and i was curious to find out what everyone else thought about it. As i was expecting to see a family, comedy film i was pleasantly surprised that it was not just your ordinary clichéd family movie but something aimed for a slightly older audience. This maybe why it was so poorly received. Looking at trailers and TV spots, this movie did really look like just another pointless summer blockbuster, which may have appealed to all you people looking for something family friendly. But for me i was so thrilled to be watching something that is just plain FUN! That's all it is! just fun, fun, fun! You people that have posted nothing but negative comments about this title don't know a great movie if it slapped you in the face. so relax a little, sit back again and realise that your watching another fantastic movie from will ferrell, and lets face it: when has will ferrell released a movie for families? (excluding ELF) Just stop your complaining and enjoy a non-stop, exciting, unpredictable movie that has everything you could ask for. and even more----what do you really expect from a movie based on a TV show created by someone who practically lived off acid? Three words to sum up this movie: trippy, adventurous and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and insane. A very silly and enjoyable comedy, 10 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Lemony Snicket's director Brad Silberling does a great job with this daft comedy.
As someone with no memory of the TV series it's inspired by I went in with a clean slate and loved it for it's own merits. Will Ferrell is terrific as the brilliant scientist who's constantly hamstrung by his own massive ego and endlessly incorrect assumptions. Anna Friel is great and ballsy as his English admirer and fellow scientist, and Danny McBridge is typically funny and sleazy as a down on his luck tour guide who gets sucked through their time portal experiment with them into another dimension.
About the only other character of note is a half-human primate called Chaka - played brilliantly by actor Jorma Taccone as a pervy, cowardly and distinctive sidekick to the gang.
As Ferrell and crew stagger from disaster to disaster with everything from meeting hostile local lifeorms to escaping a rampaging T-Rex, the film never loses it's zany silliness, and as long as that kind of ridiculous humour's your thing you'll have a great time.
Daft, irreverent and sly, it's terrific fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Larf, 20 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I should've hated this film. I liked Will Ferrell in Elf but otherwise I have not really liked anything else he has done. Never thought Anna Friel could cut it and Brad Silberling (the director)always seems to just miss it - Lemony Snicket should have worked but crashed the series before it could start, Casper was okay and City of Angels was one chick flick even the wife says hurts to watch.

It's interesting to note that Silberling was actually working on the first Harry Potter film when the Potter empire erupted and Warners pushed him aside for Chris Columbus.

But Land of the Lost works. Yes the dinosaur effects when interacting with the cast later on make you wonder how it passed 'Quality Control' but you need to gloss over that and open up a bit to just appreciate a film that isn't actually all that bad despite how badly it did at the box office.

There are quite a few laugh out loud moments and my two boys loved it and, yes, so did I.

Ferrell is Ferrell at his best. Anna Friel is great. And apart from a few odd moments when the film drags (Silberling seems to struggle with drama moments), it is a harmless giggle.

Shop around and you can get the Blu Ray for £6 or less. Picture and sound quality are really good and it kept us entertained one afternoon and will continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daft, harmless, silly fun, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of The Lost [DVD] (DVD)
Looking at the figures for Land of the Lost, it tells us that the film was a box office flop, recouping less than half its cost to make.

I think that's a little unfair. Granted it's never going to win any Oscars, but if you're in the mood for something silly then you could certainly do worse.

It tells the story of Will Ferrell, playing basically Will Ferrell (his acting isn't much different to most of what he does) as a scientist who - and it doesn't really matter how - slips into another time/dimension/world - whatever - with hotpant-wearing Anna Friel and some redneck guy. There, they come up against various monsters like ape men, dinosaurs, lizard men and a T-rex with a grudge.

Yes, it's completely daft and stupid. But it's also quite amusing. Just sit back, put your brain on hold and enjoy.

Did I mention Anna Friel wears hotpants a lot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You don't just dive into the devils cave…, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of The Lost [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a real mixed bag. From the very opening 1970’s Universal logo you know this isn’t going to be a simple ride. The plot centres around Dr. Rick Marshall (Will Ferrell) who has a parallel world theory that might solve the energy crisis, but he is ridiculed and falls into obscurity. Jump 3 years into the future and enter cute Cambridge graduate Holly Cantrell (Anna Friel) who shows proof that his theory actually works. We then follow the pair who are joined by a failed theme park owner and a primitive ape man [chaka] as they try to get back to our ‘normal’ world and get Chaka home.
The film is shot with a predominantly B-Movie feel and uses 70's style effects with strong bold colours, there are rubber suited lizard–men that would not be out of place in the late 50’s or 60’s and with the psychedelic background props [cars sticking vertically out of the ground like tombstones etc] it plays like a Salvador Dali painting in places. It’s weird and wacky which is the intent, but somehow it tries too hard and misses the mark. The un-necessary swearing raises the age bracket –which is a shame as it may have worked as a straight up kids film, but they’ve made the adult humour too obvious and so it tends to fail all around. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed watching it for the fun, tongue in cheek ‘it’s so bad it’s almost good’ approach, but it didn’t quite pull it off.
The problem is that the film makes its pitch but doesn’t know who to aim it at. With swearing and obvious adult humour [mauling of female breasts etc] it excludes the young, but the trite acting and slapstick style with intentionally dated effects will also alienate others.
The disc offers little else with only a scene selection, play, and the three deleted scenes are basically a waste of time. It’s not up to Ferrells other movies but it is watchable, but only if you’ve nothing better to do or just want some mindless popcorn for the brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the oddest and most misjudged would-be blockbusters of recent Summers, 9 July 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Land of the Lost is certainly one of the oddest and most misjudged would-be blockbusters of recent Summers, taking a Saturday morning TV show with bad special effects and revamping it as a $100m comedy that seemed to be going for an R-rating only to be heavily reshot and re-edited back down to a PG-13. Add Will Ferrell to the mix, a man whose movies you can't force international audiences to see even at gunpoint, and it's no surprise this was an even bigger flop overseas than it was in the US. Yet the end result isn't quite as terrible as it sounds and almost threatens to work in some sections only to beat a hasty retreat back into pointlessness, crippled by a weak script that Ferrell's obvious improvisation is never able to improve on.

It doesn't help that the ditched opening section that saw Ferrell's publicly humiliated scientist reduced to validating tickets and getting into fights with children at the La Brea Tar Pits (to be found in the extensive deleted scenes bin on the Blu-ray along with the original ending) is slightly better than the flat reshot version that sees him teaching bored schoolchildren, but like the finished product too much of it is setup for jokes that simply never materialise. Danny McBride's white trash tour guide fares a bit better, though a very unflatteringly photographed Anna Friel seems to be channelling Daphne from Frasier, which isn't a good idea at the best of times. When they finally find themselves hurling through a vortex into the Land of the Lost itself, complete with grumpy dinosaur, groping ape man, schlocky lizard men and the debris of several centuries of human existence from Viking longboats to ice cream vans (not to mention some variable and deliberately cheesy special effects), the film's tone is over all over the place in the hope that something will stick: one minute it's pure kids' stuff, the next failed stoner comedy, the next bit-players are being torn apart by creatures for cheap laughs. It's just about watchable despite long stretches of padding which threaten to send you to sleep even if you're not tired, but it's all too easy to see why this misfire became extinct at the box-office so quickly.

As with so many bombs, the Blu-ray extras are probably better than the film itself: a director's audio commentary, more than half an hour of deleted scenes (a very unfunny running gag about Ferrell's eating disorder that gets its own section the least of them), an 83-minute making of documentary, a fake promo for the film's gift shop, a featurette on McBride and an interview with the creators of the TV show, Sid and Marty Croft. But you're probably better off waiting for it to turn up on TV, and then only if there's nothing on any of the other channels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favs with Blu Ray quality, 24 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
In my opinion this is a comedy classic - I know it is not to everyones taste but I just love the humour on this one. I almost place it in the Nat Lampoons Christmas Vacation category as a film you can always dip in to and find so many funny lines and no matter where you find yourself in the film there is always a part where you can still enjoy the punchline even after viewing it many times.

Picture and sound quality are very good and there is a very good selection of extras. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Ferrell Film, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of The Lost [DVD] (DVD)
Not really a big Will Ferrell fan, but this film i liked.
Appealed to my English sense of humor or humour even.
Well worth a butchers.
Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An undertaed fantasy comedy adventure, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Land Of The Lost [DVD] (DVD)
After 3 years , disgraced paleontologist Rick Marshall (Will Ferrell -Step Brothers) is given a second chance by the very attractive & intelligent Holly Cantrell (Anna Friel -Limitless) to put his crazy theory of using tachyons to travel sideways into another dimension into practice. Rekindling his theory thanks to Holly, they travel to a large source of tachyons, at a remote theme park location, where they get a tour from owner Will Stanton (Danny McBride -Eastbound and Down) and its not long until Rick Marshall's theory is put into reality, and they are sucked into another dimension where they come across dinosaurs & wacky pre-historic creatures. But they also make friends in the shape of Chaka (Jorma Taccone -Saturday Night Live]) who tries to help them after they save his life. Can they find a way home ? comedy & mayhem ensue.

The story itself is quite weak & predictable in places, but has enough about it to ensure that the cast can extract a unique, Jurassic style comedy out of it. The chemistry between the leads & the unique situation means that we see some classic Will Ferrell comedy at work here, bloody hilarious in places, be it visual comedy with Rick washing with Dino pee or more subtle humor with Rick & Chaka's relationship. Danny McBride also weighs in with his usual laid back, eye on the ladies style, offering up a good contrast to Ferrell. While Anna Friel has to suffer along with them all. The films action/comedy scenes are well paced, as it finds ways, no matter how bizarre, to keep rolling on so your never short of excitement or the next laugh. It's constantly moving with the action & the funnies. The CGI of the creatures is well done, albeit a bit obvious they are blue screen with the character interaction, but they do bring them to life, making them part of the cast, especially the dinosaurs which have they're own personalities.

In conclusion, while Land of the Lost has it's faults, it's an enjoyable & completely silly, crazy, fantasy comedy. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gary Zukav physics applied, 30 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Where in the world is Matt Lauer? Actually Mat is the greatest actor in the film; Mat plays himself and adds credibility to the story.

Even though this film follows the general lost world formula it is unique and does not try to copy those films that have come before it. Dr. Rick Marshall (Will Ferrell) has a parallel world theory that might supply us with the energy we need in this energy strapped world. This theory lands him a job as a La Brea Tar Pits science teacher. Enter cute freckle faced Holly Cantrell (Anna Friel) who shows proof that his theory is a reality. Together they venture in this world. Together they overcome great odds which include dinosaurs and skullduggery. Will they be able to return together?

The film is quite fun, tongue-in-cheek, and very handy; and watch where they place their handy's.
If you listen closely The Zarn (voice) is Leonard Nimoy from the movie "Them!"

I only saw the Blu-Ray version so I cannot compare media. However this is not just another tachyon film.
There are some voiceover extras including a food diary.

Caveman ~ Ringo Starr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Land of the Lost [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Brad Silberling (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews