Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb reissue
This is how CD's should be reissued, great price, great packaging, wonderfully detailed reissue of a "Classic" album. You get the remastered original album, repackaged as a vinyl replica, details include the gatefold sleeve, and even polythene bags on all CD's inside the sleeve housing the CD's! A Disc of singles, all b sides etc, a 3rd disc of unissued Demo's, and then...
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Stormin'Norman

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heard it all before
Im new to the Cult, and thought this would be a great way to brush up on their music.

The packaging and quality of the goods cannot be faulted, excellent

I was dissapointed however, there seem to be a lot of 'mixes' of the various songs
particularly She Sells Sanctuary, these appear to be used to just bulk out the CD's, of which you could...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by Mr T


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb reissue, 19 Sep 2009
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
This is how CD's should be reissued, great price, great packaging, wonderfully detailed reissue of a "Classic" album. You get the remastered original album, repackaged as a vinyl replica, details include the gatefold sleeve, and even polythene bags on all CD's inside the sleeve housing the CD's! A Disc of singles, all b sides etc, a 3rd disc of unissued Demo's, and then the AWESOME BBC Live in concert Disc from 1985, which is worth the 12 price alone!! WELL DONE to beggers archive who've put this together, and similar sets from Bauhaus are due, and THE FALL next year, Hope all Cult Cd's follow suit, This is great value..(check out the price of U2's similar reissues which are double the price and contain less material>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Box Set I've Seen, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
I'll come on to the music in a bit, but this Box Set is truly stunning, Beggars Banquet have excelled themselves in the detail they've gone in to. The outer card box is quality, then housed inside is the beautiful booklet & 4 CDs. The main album CD is a mini replica of the original vinyl with a gatefold sleeve, inner card sleeve with notes and then a polythene bag over the CD - wonderfully done. The other 3 CDs are done in a similar way minus the gatefold sleeve.

Love is a great rock'n'roll album, with some truly outstanding tracks. The 3 Singles (She Sells Sanctuary, Rain & Revolution) speak for themselves, but `Hollow Man' are `Big Neon Glitter' are superb. Perhaps some of the songs could be a bit shorter - I'm trying to be critical and finding hard. Disc 2 has some great B-Sides and some good extended versions of SSS. Not listened to the 3rd disc yet but it looks interesting. The final Disc is the BBC Live In Concert show which I had on cassette (recorded it when it aired on Radio 1 way back when) - this is the complete show, as the BBC aired version missed off a couple of tracks - it's a great recording.

If you have the original album on CD and want to get the remastered version - get this rather than slightly cheaper Double CD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love finally gets the remastered treatment it so desperately needed, 25 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love [Expanded] (Audio CD)
I'm probably the least qualified person to review this, as I'm not a diehard Cult fan, just someone who loved this album in his teenage years - and who still does. Billy Duffy's all powerful guitar-riffs and the soaring vocals of Ian Astbury were a real tour-de-force to be reckoned with. I was also aware back in the day of the riff-tastic hit single Lil' Devil.

There are two versions of this newly remastered cd, this expanded edition (2cd) and The Omnibus Edition (4cd). This edition now does me nicely, and although it's great to have some additional material to listen to including the 12" versions of She Sells Sanctuary, Rain and Revolution, the main thing for me is that Love has finally been remastered which fully brings out the album's sonically powerful sound - as the basic version I owned (until now) didn't do this classic glam goth-rock album justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album by Top Band, 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Love [Expanded] (Audio CD)
This has always been my favourite Cult album, I've never been convinced by the fuss over 'Electric'. With the 2-CD edition you get the album remastered (but the previous CD edition was anyway so no change there), plus all the 12" single tracks with the possible exception of the new remix of the full version of Revolution. Otherwise, you get all the rare tracks particularly from the Revolution E.P. and The Snake, plus the club mixes of She Sells Sanctuary. A few of the tracks are available on the Best of Rare Cult album, i.e. SSS full version, No. 13, and Little Face, but that's a small price to pay in exchange for getting (Here Comes the) Rain, The Snake, Judith, Sunrise, and All Souls Avenue. The club remixes are good, especially Assualt on Sanctuary, while the Howling Mix of SSS does sound of its era in a good way. This edition also has a quality booklet with a number of recollections from the band, music writers, and fans. This edition is definitely the pick of the new crop of Love re-issues. Oh yeah, the album itself is one of the best of the 1980s, no contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cult Box Set Ever, 17 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a must for all Cult fans. Stunning value for money and a definite collectors item not to be missed. Had I not gone to the concert at the Royal Albert Hall in October I would not have known about this release, but other Cult fans were raving about it and how right they were. Miss this from your collection and regret it for sure, it is the best box set I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bands you forgot how much you liked, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Love [Expanded] (Audio CD)
I'm very happy with this purchase. I recall listening to music by the Cult during my 6th form year at school, especially the tracks like Nirvana, Rain and of course She Sells Sanctuary. The second disc also includes the EP specials, which i could never find on vinyl. cant see it coming out of the CD player any time soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cult - Love - Omnibus edition, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. S. J. Riley (CITY MANCHESTER ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
Can't thank the band, the label, and amazon enough for this product! Its outstanding value
for money. I wasn't sure about ordering at first, having purchased the album on its original
release. But there is so much material here, and the packaging is fantastic. Really recommend it to anyone who's thinking about getting it, you will not be disappointed! Well done Amazon
for the price, best value CD box set I've ever purchased. - The Cult Crew - Manchester (CityFC)
England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
Great value; excellent collection of CDs including: album, singles and live recordings.
The sound quality of the original recording however is quite poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it should have been years ago ;), 3 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Young "Melvoid of Azeroth" (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love [Expanded] (Audio CD)
As I type my ears are being blown away by this awesome rework of my favourite Cult album, I still have the original vinyl and always loved this disc but it never sounded like this, I always felt it was a bit too thin sounding needed more oomph for the bottom end, well hello bass bins here comes the Cult ,cant wait to destroy my car speakers with this.
Nice packaging too and i'm well pleased with the second disc as (again) I still have the original double pack vinyl Revolution and have missed the track All Souls avenue, well now its back on my playlist. The Cult always were best when they start grooving and this and The Witch prove that.
So to summarise, if your a Cult fan and you don't own this the only reason you are reading this is so I can tell you to buy it.
So.......BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cult in a classic box, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Gary .S "GS" (Plymouth,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love (Omnibus Edition) (Audio CD)
What a fantastic bargain,the Album Love in a duplicate Album sleeve in superb quality supplied in a box containing another 2 discs of singles and demo tracks ( 22 in total ) and not content with that but also a live disc at the Hammesmith Odeon which i remember recording on in concert back in 1985,which was outstanding then and even more outstanding now.All for the price of a single cd, even if you have the album it is worth the purchase for the extra 3 discs in this box set.Well done Beggars Banquet for looking after the punter,lets hope we get the full sets released of sonic temple and electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews