Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2010
This pack is a good addition to the game. It adds two extra dimensions to the game and change the possible strategies you can use to win the game.

If you like the original game and play it often I would recommed this.

It is perhaps a little pricy for what you get but as I say worth it for a fan who is ready for something more complex.

The rules were a little complicated to begin with, until we discovered you disregarded all the original ticket cards from the main game and only used the ones with this set. Then we were away.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Despite the warehouses being the biggest selling point of this expansion, when we tried it we found the resulting game didn't really make a lot of sense. From the rules, it appeared that you could simply place a depo anywhere on the board and then build straight into it, discarding a second depo as you did so in order to pick up all the cards from your own warehouse. But then we tried with the additional rule that you cannot place a depo and then build into it on the same turn. This seemed to help a bit, but ultimately using the warehouses takes away from the other strategies in the game and makes the whole game a bit more based on chance. One of the most annoying things about the warehouses was that if you needed to collect cards for one of the long connections in the game, it could turn out that most of the cards of the colour you wanted were stuck facedown on a warehouse somewhere, only to be taken by another player. This meant basically avoiding the longer connections unless you happened to be that other player and found yourself handed 6 cards of the same colour.

The redeeming feature of this expansion however was the Big Cities option which we found to be quite fun. The combined option didn't work so well because you could start off being dealt original route cards while another player could start off with the Big Cities routes, which basically means you're screwed from the beginning.

Actually, the Big Cities is a bit flawed as well in that once you've played a couple of times, because the routes fit together so well, everybody basically starts the game by taking routes until there are none left in the stack. But it is still a lot of fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I have written are similar review of the 1910 ticket to ride USA expansion. This expansion is also very high-quality the cards are great and it expands the original game in a very pleasing way and it to my mind makes it more enjoyable to play, with a greater variety if possible ticket combinations and choices. The extra game mechanisms are not quite as enjoyable or essential but this is made up for by the fact that they are versatile enough to be used with any of the ticket to ride games. Overall very good value pack
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
We are addicted to Ticket to ride europe version having got it Christmas 2009 so wanted an extra dimension hence we got this for Christmas 2010. It is great fun and certainly the extra destinations/journeys adds interest. You save carriage cards in depots and this also adds to the challeng. The whole game has got even more life with this extension and I cannot rate it too highly! Again we all love it (ages 20-65!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Makes this fun game that little bit more interesting!

In terms of game play we very much enjoy the addition of depots, which add another element of dastardliness to the competitors. It is also nice to have a wider variety of routes - some of which have high point values and can really ruin your end game if you miss out by one petty route!!!!

Great addition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Have only used the extra cards to provide a mega Europe set so far but this has given far more routes to build both standard and long. Also means with 5 players your less likely to know which long route they're trying for. The warehouses I'm not too sure of but will give them a try when I've got some friends round who understand TtR Europe well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
My family love this expansion, especially the Big Cities part, which gives you different route cards to use instead of the basic T2R Europe routes, many more routes, which makes the game much more diverse than the original Europe cards. My family all play together, and we can highly recommend this.

The other aspect of the expansion is the warehouse & depot part. This is an optional extra which you could use. It isn't needed to play the game, even with the Big Cities routes. In the Warehouse & Depot you place a resource card from the top of the deck on your warehouse (as does everyone else on their turn). It then becomes a game of chicken/waiting game to steal the warehouse from yourself or someone else and stack a bunch of extra resource cards into your hand. If you time it right you can dominate the game by picking up 10 cards or so... You get the chance to steal these cards by completing a route to one of the Depots which are placed on the board by each player. (not sure if that is clear, but it does change the game to make it overpowered in my opinion)

Summary, if you like Ticket to Ride Europe you'll love this expansion. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Several expansion options in one small box. So far we have only played with one of them, but it was a lot of fun. It alters the way you play the game, making you try new tactics and techniques. If you enjoy the original game, you will enjoy this expansion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
My Husband and I are avid game players and always looking for something a bit different. This game was recommended to us and is fantastic - very different to the usual and both strategic and fun. Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
While it can be tough for gamers to agree on what is their favourite game, one game consistently makes the top 5 of many board game enthusiasts - Ticket to Ride. Described as a modern masterpiece, it is destined to be looked upon in the same light as we see Cluedo and Monopoly today. The rules can be learned in five minutes but is a game that can be played in a myriad of ways. You draw tickets with the goal of connecting cities cross the numerous versions of the game.

The 1912 expansion was developed to offer new destinations for the incredibly popular "Europe" version of the game. It contains 101 new routes and new copies of the old ones (for consistency). This allows for new variations on how to play, namely the "Big Cities" and "Mega Europe" variations.

The expansion also inclues "warehouses" which allow for a new and exciting way to amass the cards you need to win.

There are a few downsides to this expansion. Firstly, it is quite expensive when not on special offer, especially when you think that the full game retails for a little over double this price. Secondly, the rules could better described what this expansion does for the players. It may be easy for experienced players to figure things out, but less so for the new player.

For the Ticket to ride fan, I highly recommend this expansion - be sure to pick it up when the price is lower!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)