Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
Excellent product! Surprisingly bright considering its low power consumption. Perfect for security in dimly lit areas, and very cheap to run. Will only use 17.5 kwh (units) of electricity if left on 24/7. At current prices, that's about £2.60 per year!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
its bright enough for hall ways and bedside lights, but i would not want to have open heart surgery performed on me with just this lighting up the proceedings. Its also got a lovely retro look and light colour. I am back to buy more.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Purchased to replace a 9 watt compact fluorescent light in a bedside light. Compared to the CFL at the other side of the bed it appears to be very slightly brighter but the light, being somewhat softer, is much more friendly to the eyes.
It also looks much nicer in the light fitting and is more compact than the CFL. Should be easier to dust as it's a smooth shape with no nooks and crannies to gather dust. No delay when switched on and full brightness immediately.
Will be using this type of lamp when the existing CFLs need to be replaced.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
It does exactly what it says on the tin but is a bit too bright for use as a nightlight; e.g. in a child's bedroom. . An even lower powered one would be a good idea. If not, use a dark shade, but this rather defeats the object of having an efficient lamp.
One very important point is that, unlike many of its competitors, it emits almost no radio frequency interference. This can be a serious problem if you use a radio near the lamp. On AM wavebands it appears as a buzz that disappears when the lamp is switched off. With a DAB radio you may lose some or all of its stations.

I would recommend anyone selling LED bulbs to check for radio interference by holding a battery operated portable radio tuned between stations next to the bulb. As I said, this bulb was near perfect in this respect but a 6 watt LED bulb that I purchased from LED Hut when held 15 cm from the bulb. gave an almost deafening sound.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
This bulb is not so bright as some and is ideal for softer lighting. Some led lights are harsh but this isn't, making it ideal as a bed side light..
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
I decided to replace my bulbs in the house with LED bulbs. Due to the cost I'm replacing 1 a month. This warm white lightbulb is like a traditional incandescent bulb and it's instant on. This 2W bulb is perfect for my entrance hall and creates a cosy welcome into my house probably equivalent to a old 25W bulb. Oh yeah great service from the seller I bought it from.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Impressed with this bulb so far. I too received a 3W(15W) rather than 2W(10W) bulb as advertised, so it was slightly brighter than I wanted. It was bought to replace a 12W tungsten nightlight. My son doesn't seem to mind that it is brighter, so that is OK, and it gives off a soft light, unlike harsh flourescent bulbs. As others note, the bulb never gets hot - good if you have young kids that like to meddle. My son was already thinking forward 20 years to the age of 26 when this bulb is due to expire. Bless. It will be interesting to see if it really does last that long. If so, the initially high outlay should then transform into excellent value for money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
Great item: not too big, warm light, not too bright (10W equvalent). Ideal for hallway/landing especially with small children, happy to leave on all night. Low power (2W) and looking forward to never having to change it. Maybe a little pricey but this is only to be expected. Will be getting some more soon.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
The item arrived extremely quickly although not fantastically packaged, but adequately. Although the item's description states that the this is a 2 watt bulb, it is in fact a 3 watt bulb (as written on Philips packaging). Whilst this is not a major problem I do like accuracy as this was one on my purchasing criteria and probably the main reason for selecting this particular item. Nethertheless I have decided to keep it and thus far it seems to be fit for purpose. It is supposed to last 20 years - so I can't comment on that aspect just yet!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Interestingly the packaging states the different wattages this particular model of bulb is available in and it does not state anything below 3Watts. So when I received it on time and packaged well I was a little disappointed. But it has a nice soft cream glow but is simply not powerful enough to fully light a room which is 4 metres by 5 metres. So it is now lighting a small front door entrance which is 2 metres by 1.5 metres which it is adequate for.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)