Customer Reviews


257 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best US shows in years
I was completely hooked on this series from episode 3 when my daughter begged me to watch it with her as it was apparently "scary" ! It is one of the best shows to come out of the USA - right up alongside Lost, 24 and ER in my opinion. Yes the whole vampire "thing" is everywhere these days, but what I love about The Vampire Diaries is the story of the founding families of...
Published on 25 Aug. 2010 by Alli

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show - Shame about blu-ray quality...
I love the show, "The Vampire Diaries" and never miss an episode on ITV2, I would reccommend it to all "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" fans and fans of the "Twilight Saga" films.
Featuring all 22 episodes I was in my element watching this. However a few things stuck out to me like a sore thumb when watching the blu ray version.

The picture quality varies from...
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by Gaming Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Vampire Diaries - Season 1, 26 May 2013
By 
L. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought this because I thought it looked like an interesting series and, although I'm no Goth, I think the vampire-related craze sweeping the teenage nation actually produces some good stuff.
This is loosely based on the books of the same name, which I also bought. In my opinion, the books were terrible. I found them over dramatic, Elena to be a spoilt, unreasonably popular brat, and found I lacked any feeling for any of the characters.
The TV series is infinitely better. The characters actually have personalities, Elena I thought was likable and actually reasonable in most situations, and the two vamp-boys were good, too. Damon's often hilarious, but Stefan I thought was way too serious for his age and too good. Literally, he never does anything bad. He's even a recovered blood addict who refuses to go anywhere near the stuff.
But he's really pretty, and I thought the relationship between him and Elena was relatively normal and believable - they don't fall ridiculously in love within half an hour, which is essentially what happens in the Twilight film, and they actually go on dates and attend parties together. Like a normal couple, only he wants to suck her blood.
The characters were fab, really entertaining dynamics between them. The series made me sad, happy, etc. I actually was really happy I'd bought the DVD, and have since bought the next two seasons and am halfway through Season 3 and believe me, it just keeps getting better.
Thumbs up to Nina Dobrev, Ian Somerhalder and Paul Wesley, they did amazing jobs at portraying the main three characters. Oh, and lastly, there's not really a big love triangle between them. More a case of Stefan and Elena are a couple, and Damon's moping after his bitchy ex who resembles Elena just a little bit. (Sarcasm there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Fantasy, Great Twists and Jumpy moments? Enter 'The Vampire Diaries', 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
As an original Twilight fan, I had never been interested in 'The Vampire Diaries'. Which was surprising as it ticked all my boxes "Fantasy" "Great twists" and the OCCASIONAL "Jumpy moment". A friend borrowed me the books saying that Twilight was a copy and I began to read and watch the show. Immediately I loved it and I am shocked at how Twilight has done so well when something like this is on the market.

The show is full of excitement, not exactly like the book but it does know how to draw in an audience. The cast are just amazing and Ian Somerfield deserves an applause for his portrayal of Damon because he really brings that character to life. I am a big fan of the show which will without a doubt make you jump about 5 times an episode, and in similar situations.

Although the cast is different to how described in the books, don't let that get you down, they are an amazing set of actors who really show the best of the characters, you couldn't imagine a blonde Elena after watching this because Nina Dobrev is a perfect candidate for her.

I could go on about this show until worlds end but you need to see it for yourself. Any Fantasy fans will adore this. I thought that Twilight was great for a fantasy but it focuses more on the love and romance, The Vampire Diaries however, really takes me back as to why I fell inlove with myths and legends, yes it has the romance but it also has such a fascinating take on Vampire and other myths.

It has an hilarious script which will leave you in stitches for days on end, the hilarious quotes just helps set the genre perfectly so it's not too dark. It's the perfect balance between humour and dark fantasy.

Would definately recommend to anyone, the box set is amazing and you will find yourself watching for days on end like I was, it wasn't until the day after I recieved it in the post that I realised I'd watched all 22, 40 minute episodes in 2 days. But it was time well spent and money well spent. It is a definate re-watch aswell, I'm watching it for the 3rd time already and it still makes me jump.

Don't take my word for it, go and explore it yourself.

C MeeMee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PREPARE TO BE HOOKED, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Mystic Falls - a small American township about to celebrate its 150th anniversary - unaware a horrendous episode in its history will come back to haunt....

Do not be misled by the start. At school Elena is fascinated by handsome new arrival Stefan - unaware he is a vampire. We have NOT strayed into the "Twilight" zone. Everything is soon to branch off into quite different directions. There are no werewolves here, just a witch or two - not to mention crows which make their presence felt.

Pivotal are vampire brothers Stefan and Damon, feuding since 1864 - Damon pursuing Stefan wherever he goes (sometimes it takes a decade or so to catch up), promising to inflict "an eternity of misery". Why the aggro? It began with shared passion for Katherine. Now there is Elena, a Katherine lookalike.

The series works because it is well written and acted, characters not one dimensional but developing in intriguing ways - the brothers especially. At first it seems simple enough: Stefan = good; Damon = bad. The truth is more complicated, both for them and for quite a few Mystic Falls inhabitants.

Handsomely packaged. Would that other boxed sets came with such a profusely illustrated booklet and helpful cast list! 22 episodes. Bonuses include a commentary on the pilot, bloopers and interesting background features: how and why the television version differs from the books; cast auditions; changes in the lore concerning vampires (garlic liked, holy water no problem, rings worn as protection against sunlight).

At times a little slow paced (but none the worse for it). A satisfyingly high body count for those who crave excitement and gore. A dramatic climax with cliffhangers further to whet the appetite. A major plus is charismatic Ian Somerhalder as entertainingly evil Damon (he gradually developing some nicer aspects). Addictive and enjoyable. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy,Seductuctive and Intriguing, The Vampire Diaries is Top Rated, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
M. C. Crawley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Vampire Diaries will capture your imagination in a tale of intrigue , romance and suspence. It is a Top Drawer Series where Elena Gilbert (Nina Dobrev....phhhheeewwww) and her lady friends become fascinated by a new guy in town Stefan Salvatore (Paul Wesley) who is smart good looking but no one seems to truely know where he comes from as he joins them at Mystic Falls High school. Elena keeps a diary of her life up till now and at 17 years old she has just lost her parents in a car accident of which she is the sole survivor. When the attraction of Stefan develops she learns that he too keeps a diary of his life events. It's not until Stefan's bad boy brother Damon (Ian Somerhalder) hits town that things really get hot. Whilst Mystic Falls encounters a random amount of apparent animal attacks which are fatal a new breed of vampires have come to town with a love story entwined as Elena is hauntingly identical to Catherine an 1864 girlfriend of both Stefan and Damon Mystic Falls is just about to become food for thought....The Blu-ray is pin sharp during daylight scenes with no apparent grain or blemishes and at night-time the black level and depth of the image is generally very good with a small amount of fine grain in certain scenes. The Sound is more impressive than I thought with a few jumpy moments although it would have been nice if it had had a DTS lossless track. Extremely entertaining addictive 5 star entertainment . Very Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly exceptional, 2 April 2013
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Elena didn't annoy me, I didn't find her romance with Stefan nauseating and I understood why people love Damon so much despite his numerous bad deeds. All of this took me by surprise because when I read the first three books of this series, I loathed Elena, I found her romance with Stefan ridiculous and annoying and I considered Damon a villain, not a love interest.

The first season of this show was on sale at my local supermarket for five pounds, so I bought it out of curiosity. I'd heard good things about it (underneath the omnipresent squealing over Stefan's face and Damon's abs) that gave me hopes it could be legitimately interesting to watch. It was. It has a very addictive quality to it, I found myself wanting to watch the next episode straight after the last finished. Instead of rolling my eyes at Elena and Stefan, I understood their romance (though I do not support the pairing). I found myself feeling very sympathetic towards Damon and his frankly crappy life. There were many surprises that I didn't see coming - I have become a rabid shipper of Jeremy and Anna, for example, something I never even considered.

All in all, an intriguing, well-written first season. Seeing as it ended on quite a big cliffhanger, I am quite desperate to get the second season now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This was all new to me not really into vampire things, but this is great, couldn't wait to get second series after I watched it. I'm totally hooked now. Would def recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vampire Diaries - Season One, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I never thought that anything would top Twilight, until this came along...

I saw this advertised on the tele for quite some time, and I always liked the look of it, but never really got round to watching it...until the other day. I was messing around on the computer and soon decided to take a look...well...I have watched 10 episodes in 3 days :) It's incredible, and Twilight seems so boring now :O
I being one of the biggest Twilight fans EVER, can not even belive that I said that, but I can't lie...
I'm hooked, and will being buying this AS SOON AS it becomes available so that I can watch it as many times as I want...
Stefan Salvatore, is one fit guy :)<<3
Sorry Twilight make way, The Vampire Diaries is coming through ;)
Watch it!!!! Watch it!!!! Watch it!!!!
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for teenage girls!, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I get the impression from the reviews that the "romance" tag of the series means male viewers have to enjoy it secretly. Everyone raves about the "hot" male stars and Nina Dobrev, who is one of the most promising young actresses I've seen for quite a while, barely gets a mention.

I've never seen Twilight and only watched this series because I always check out any new Sci-Fi or Fantasy series. My first impression was that it was fairly unoriginal but worth recording if only to see Nina. I actually recorded the whole series before watching beyond episode 3. Once I started watching the rest and the twists started to come in, I was hooked and everything else on my recorder had to wait until I'd seen the whole series. Once the DVD arrived I watched it again right through and the performances were good enough to sustain it even with the suspense taken out. The three stars and most of the supporting characters are so convincing in their roles that when I dip in for my favourite scenes I get completely drawn in again.

I'll look forward both to the next series and to getting hold of more of Nina Dobrev's other work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT COMPARE THIS TO TWILIGHT!!!, 23 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
First of all, sorry for my english. I am from Germany and here the first season has not even been on televison completely.
I read the books of Vampire Diaries when I was 13 (now I am 20)and I liked them. They were not great but as I like Fantasy and espacially Vampire books I bought them but the series is even much more better. The characters were perfectly choosen with Paul Wesley, Ian Somerholdar and Nina Dobrev. So as Germany has seen the first 10 episodes by now, I had to buy this DVD to know how this series will go on and I am totally flashed. The storyline, the characters, everything gives you the feeling to be part of the series.

please do not compare it with Twilight. Vampire Diaries is so much older than Twilight. Of course VD has only be filmed as a serie because there is a hype about Vampires. so thanks twilght..:-D..but it is much more different. And when you look at other vampire books you will always find similiar things to Twilight.

To the DVDs...Some of the episodes show new scenes which were not at the television... Moreover there are many extras as the audtion tapes of the actors which is pretty cool...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome series!, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
P. Mead "BeccaM" (England, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Ive only seen about 7 episodes and its fantastic. im totally hooked. Im a twilight fan and was sorely dissapointed with the last book and the film. i heard about this tv series and watched the pilot episode, then bought the books. i liked the older books (except the 3rd book), and i absolutley LOVE the re newed book! Yes the tv series is very different from the book's, and if your a overprotective fan of the novels, this may not be for you. But i actually prefer the tv version! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 [DVD] [2010]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews