Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Psychos want to get caught."
Sandra Bullock stars as Cassie Mayweather, a tough police detective who's investigating a murder with the help of her new partner (Ben Chaplin). There are a lot of clues that just don't add up, until Cassie begins to suspect two smart, rich, and very arrogant high school students (Ryan Gosling and Michael Pitt).

Actually, we know who did it from the first...
Published on 23 Dec 2007 by Kona

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an intriguing failure...
this is an interesting side-step for sandra bullock (one that i wish the insipid julia roberts would take some times). this is darker than average and raises questions about the nature of evil and guilt. while it isn't exactly suspenseful, it does manage to retain your interest for most of its running time. the cast are terrific - ryan gosling is a particular stand-out...
Published on 28 Jan 2003 by RORY DOODY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Psychos want to get caught.", 23 Dec 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Sandra Bullock stars as Cassie Mayweather, a tough police detective who's investigating a murder with the help of her new partner (Ben Chaplin). There are a lot of clues that just don't add up, until Cassie begins to suspect two smart, rich, and very arrogant high school students (Ryan Gosling and Michael Pitt).

Actually, we know who did it from the first moments of the film; the fun lies in seeing how Cassie will connect the dots and catch them. This is terrific movie, full of suspense and action. Bullock's character wears a mask of bravado but is really quite wounded from a tragic incident in her past; this makes her vulnerable and very likeable, and she has great screen presence. Chaplin holds his own with her, mixing detective work with inevitable romance, and Gosling and Pitt are outstanding as the creepy teens who think they've committed the perfect crime. We've seen this same basic plot before in "Rope" and "Compulsion," and it's just as good here; a cat a mouse game that's intelligent and scary and kept me on the edge of my seat. Heartily recommended for fans of crime stories and of the talented Ms Bullock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an intriguing failure..., 28 Jan 2003
this is an interesting side-step for sandra bullock (one that i wish the insipid julia roberts would take some times). this is darker than average and raises questions about the nature of evil and guilt. while it isn't exactly suspenseful, it does manage to retain your interest for most of its running time. the cast are terrific - ryan gosling is a particular stand-out. bullock is good but she's saddled with a muddled character who's motivation doesn't ring true.
the ending is weak too - going against the thoughtful approach adopted throughout the film and relying on an action set-piece that isn't worked for.
i liked this film though and i would watch it again. it tries a little harder to be different and intelligent and for this it deserves praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pact made with relentless fire that requires that, while some live, others die., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A modern spin on the Leopold and Loeb case, directed by Barbet Schroeder and starring Sandra Bullock as a cop with emotional baggage trying to prove that two high school kids (Ryan Gosling and Michael Pitt) have committed what they think is the perfect murder - just for kicks, allegedly.

There's nothing exactly awful about the film, it's well performed by the principal players, engrossing in narrative, beautifully lensed by Luciano Tovoli and Schroeder layers the production with a suitable feeling of unease. Sadly there's no psychological depth given the two boys by writer Tony Gayton, which renders the whole motives and means, and the investigation of such, as being a shallow exercise in thriller film making.

Running at two hours in length doesn't help matters, because this further irritates that more meat was not written onto Gosling and Pitt's bones, while it also exposes just how hackneyed and clichéd the picture is. Which when the story should be psychologically profound, marks this out as a frustrating viewing experience. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Run of the Mill Thriller, 13 Nov 2011
Cassie Mayweather (Sandra Bullock) is a homicide detective with a disturbing past, she and her partner Sam Kennedy (Ben Chaplin) are called in to investigate the murder of a young woman found abandoned in a ditch. When everything seems to point at the killer, Cassie's gut tells her that things are not quite as they appear, and the real killers find that they can't hide as easily as they first thought.

Murder by numbers does have some good intrigue and suspense in the plot, and yes it does try very hard to do something a fresh and different, but in the end it just seems pretty run of the mill.

It entertains and it does have a good cast, but its just not quite sharp enough on the details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine film, 8 Dec 2003
It's hard what to say about this film. It is good to watch, although you would not watch it over and over again. It's interesting and the performances are pretty good. However, there is something missing. You have Sandra Bullock and the lovely Ben Chaplin but it does not totally work. Perhaps it is due to the script or the direction but you are left feeling it could have been better. Having said that, i quite liked it, but i wished if our dear Ben was to crack America it would be with something more substantial. Bascically, give it a look. You might like it and by no means is it bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Film With A Stellar Young Cast, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Claire Frances (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Murder By Numbers is an entertaining thriller, it isn't particularly great but it if you want a crime movie that has little action but a lot of thought then this is a good choice, but sometimes the viewer does feel that it tries too hard.
Ryan Gosling & Michael Pitt are both very promising as the two murderous teens. Like other reviewers I agree whole heartedly that the film could have been a whole lot better. It definitely isn't groundbreaking!
The ending was particularly disappointing, very unplausable & surreal.
In conclusion a decent film, I wouldn't go as low to say its merely watchable, its good but not good enough for me to recommend anyone to invest in it, wait util it comes on t.v (it is shown on t.v quiet often actually) & watch it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I always like Sandra in all the films that she does, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always like Sandra in all the films that she does. She plays the roll of detective very good in this movie. A great movie for those Friday night popcorn with the loved one. A good thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great thriller with my favorite actress, Sandra Bullock. The story-line is good and so is the acting, it's so good it keeps me glued to the screen every time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film !!

Murder mystery film with an excellent twist at the end

I would highly recommend this film !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything was perfect as usual. The parcel has arrived in perfect conditions just a little later but it was a bad storm over the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder By Numbers [DVD] [2002] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
2.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews