Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best tv cop show
I still find it hard to believe that the BBC have stopped releasing D&P dvds in Britain, but then again they did stop making the tv series, so I guess it's not too surprising. Luckily the European imports work on British dvd players, even if the policy of having one episode per disc makes the packaging bulkier than it perhaps needs to be. Although pricey, the four...
Published on 7 Sept. 2009 by Blackhorse47

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe, Series 6 DVD
I think this is a rather poor product. The only version available seems to be a Dutch import. All the text descriptions are in Dutch, which is not likely to be of much use for most English-speaking viewers. Subtitles (in English) are set in the ON default position, so most English viewers, other than the hearing impaired, will want to turn them off before viewing. When...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by Dr. H. A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best tv cop show, 7 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I still find it hard to believe that the BBC have stopped releasing D&P dvds in Britain, but then again they did stop making the tv series, so I guess it's not too surprising. Luckily the European imports work on British dvd players, even if the policy of having one episode per disc makes the packaging bulkier than it perhaps needs to be. Although pricey, the four episodes are excellent entertainment.

In this season Dalziel gets taken off a case when personal links with a murder victim are uncovered. An apparently racially motivated killing raises tensions, but only Dalziel believes that the motives are not what they seem. A return to the more usual concerns for D&P has them investigating a mine related death that opens up old wounds from the miners' strike. The best and most personal episode features the death of this year's old flame of Dalziel's, but the revelations that follow unearth long-hidden and uncomfortable truths that he never expected to face.

This season deals well with the out-of-office side of the leads' lives with most episodes featuring a personal element for Dalziel, along with Pascoe's troubled personal life coming to a head. Oh and fans of the Preston Front who may still wonder why Hodge is pretending to be Pascoe will enjoy seeing two familiar faces from that series appearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe, Series 6 DVD, 24 Nov. 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I think this is a rather poor product. The only version available seems to be a Dutch import. All the text descriptions are in Dutch, which is not likely to be of much use for most English-speaking viewers. Subtitles (in English) are set in the ON default position, so most English viewers, other than the hearing impaired, will want to turn them off before viewing. When the episodes were screened in two parts, the DVD does not run from Part 1 to Part 2 without stopping and starting again. The four stories themselves are quite gripping and it's good to have these available to view to order, but surely the BBC could have done better than this in marketing the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel and Pascoe Dutch Import, 24 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Rosemary Hadley "R Hadley" (Leamington Spa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
This dutch import was absolutely fine and played perfectly -
I will be collecting the whole series in due course - again cant
understand why only series 1 and 2 were made in the Uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More good stuff, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
L. Edwards (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
Love this series of dvd's. I am trying to collect the whole set of series. I like the fact it is mostly filmed in Yorkshire and the inter action betwen Dalziel and Pascoe. The stories have twists and turns and the personal lives of the 3 main characters which of course includes Weildy. A joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good viewing, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
very enjoyable, great series,Ihope the rest of the series are as enjoyable.Must get round to ordering some more,missing series 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to watch, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I loved watching this programme when it was on T.V and so I shall watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dalziel &pasco series 6, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
loved it , building up my collection , on to series 7 yeah! people should go for this best series ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillaint brillant, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I'm a big warren clarke fan and I love detective programes in general.

everything from a touch of frost to The Mrs. Bradley Mystries i will simply lap it up

so this series is very up my street

Clarke is on fine form as usual as the slightly unpc but brillaint Andy Dalizel

the crimes are quite grim but the main leads are very solid as any character in these shows have to be

I have collected all 12 series of Dalizel and Pasco except Diolouges of the dead which I cant get at present

can recommed this series to any crime fan

the only thing that i disliked it the dutch subtiles but they can be easily taken off your screen

but that is my only fault and didn't spoil my enjoyment

watch all the series when i want something funny but realist to watch

it is a comfort with all these gory, gritty crime shows on nowadys that you have a series

like this which has a grim edge to it but is still witty and quite warm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
I only saw the later episodes of Dalziel and Pascoe when they were broadcast on TV. A friend told me the earlier series were much better and I have been working my way through these on DVD. I am inclined to agree that the quality of the earlier episodes is far superior.

Having now watched most of the series, in my opinion Dalziel and Pascoe was at it's best when all the regulars in the Reginald Hill books were in evidence; it seemed to suffer a drop in quality commensurate with the departure of members of the regular supporting cast. The chemistry just didn't seem to be there in the later seasons when all the regulars, with the exception of Dalziel and Pascoe, had been replaced.

I think the series was the worse for the exit of Ellie Pascoe (irritating though she could be) at the end of season 4, as the love-hate relationship between her and the fatman added another dimension to the stories. Fortunately, the other regulars, Wieldy and Ivor (DC Shirley Novello) still feature in Season 6.

This set contains four episodes. As the sleeve notes are in Dutch, a brief synopsis of the plot of each episode follows.

Truth and Consequences

Dalziel returns to his old stamping ground to investigate the discovery of a skeleton in a disused mine. The investigation re-opens conflicts from the 1984 strike in the former mining community and reignites the emnity Dalziel's sister (an ex-miner's wife) feels for her policeman brother.

Secrets of the Dead

A girlfriend from Dalziel's youth dies and the village lawyer is murdered. The team investigate a complex web of lies and Dalziel receives some shocking news in a letter from his dead ex-girlfriend.

Home Truths

A young Asian woman is shot dead after leaving a tense meeting regarding the future of a community project in an area where racial conflict is rife.

Walls of Silence

A talented, but very troubled, young musician who has just won a Royal Academy scholarship is found dead in a lake. Dalziel has an unhappy connection to the family.

Although a dutch import, this DVD plays in English and the subtitles can be removed. The DVD does not have scene selection but I did not find this to be a problem. All four of the episodes are well worth watching. They feature great storylines, believable interactions between the characters and a degree of personal trauma for both Dalziel and Pascoe. Unfortunately, I feel the series suffered a real dip in quality after this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This CD was in excellent condition. Thanks, 20 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT] (DVD)
This was watchable because of Cast. I have read all of Reginal Hill's books. This series not up to par. I would have bought even through I knew all of facts. I can't quite figure out why they got rid of Ellie. In the books I loved the give and take between Ellie and Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 6 [IMPORT]
£10.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews