Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom Boom Shake The Room!!!!
Outstanding look and finish to the iP1 amazing crystal clear sound to the max.
My friends and family were taken back by the sheer quality it gave.
Worth every penny top of the list for me.
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by J. Hamilton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke!
Was happy with this player when i bought it. Unfortunately it has lasted me less than 2 years. It has just stopped working. I do not have warranty on it, so therefor is a very expensive mistake me buying it. I have tried to have it fixed but to no avail. Bearing in mind i probably on average used it for less than an hour every couple of weeks, i've had no more than 50...
Published 17 months ago by mercury


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom Boom Shake The Room!!!!, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Hamilton (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Outstanding look and finish to the iP1 amazing crystal clear sound to the max.
My friends and family were taken back by the sheer quality it gave.
Worth every penny top of the list for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iHome iFab, 2 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
I heard a demo of the Bose sounddock in a local Comet store and was blown away by its quality, specially at high volumes. But the price... So I got digging on the internet to see if I could better the price - I couldn't. But I found a review site that gave the iHome IP1 a better score than the sounddock. It also scored more because it comes in at a lower retail price.

So next step was to scour the internet for the best price. Amazon won!

As for the speaker system, well, as with any speaker system with the speakers so close together you can forget stereo separation. For that, plug your earphones in. But for sound quality at all volumes, the IP1 is simply stunning. I have an eclectic music collection with everything from big band to classical, from rap to heavy rock. It all sounds great. For my mind, it's well worth the money if your looking for a great sound from your iPod or iPhone. I have an iPhone 4 and it's supported by the IP1.

If I have any tips for potential buyers, it's get it from Amazon. Delivery was free and it was next day - despite a claim of 3-5 day delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 11 July 2010
By 
Mr. James E. Stott (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Product arrived on time, well packaged, and worked straight out of the box, I didn,t adjust any of the EQ settings but tried the B button first and listened to a mixed genre from my music library. For the price and spec of the system I was pleasantly surprised, the sound is warm, room filling and very well balanced I think. I would not hesitate to recommend this product,overall very satisfied, thank you to i home and the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best speakers I have ever owned, 9 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Blyth "Anthony Blyth" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
At £170 I strongly urge you to buy these speakers. I have been trying to save £270 for a long time now so when I came to amazon and saw they were discounted £100, I couldn't place my order quick enough.

I have been researching ipod/iphone docks for a long time now and I am glad I put the effort in. They are just brilliant. The sound is so pure and they get quite loud. The bass is incredible, it feels like Eminem is giving a live performance in my room! They get rather loud too.

I have never owned such beautiful sounding speakers, so I'm not sure just how good sound can get, but I can't imagine it being better than this.

I would recommend these speakers to any body with £170 to burn...

P.S. I am an iPhone user and was pleased to see that these speakers are compatible..you don't have to turn airplane mode on to listen to music, because when you receive a call there is no interference, another plus! Great!

Also the seller, Hughes Direct, were very efficient. I ordered the speakers yesterday morning, by lunch time I had an e-mail telling me they would be here today. I didn't believe this as the products came from Europe...sure enough they arrived today, very pleasing!

BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke!, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
Was happy with this player when i bought it. Unfortunately it has lasted me less than 2 years. It has just stopped working. I do not have warranty on it, so therefor is a very expensive mistake me buying it. I have tried to have it fixed but to no avail. Bearing in mind i probably on average used it for less than an hour every couple of weeks, i've had no more than 50 hours use out of it. A very expensive mistake. As they say, they don't make em like they used to! An unhappy customer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome sound, good looks!, 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Papillon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
Very impressed. Top quality from packaging and build quality to the performance. Everything is high end. Big sound from a small box and plenty of bass for my needs. Handles a wide selection of music very well from rock to classical. More than enough power to to fill an average lounge. Remote is directional but has a good range and is responsive. Lastly it is a great looking piece of kit!iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
D. KNIGHT "knightd68" (Radlett - Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
When I went into the main HMV store on Oxford Street, I had no intention of buying one of these and it WASN'T what I was looking for.

What I was basically after was a portable unit, compatible with Iphone (and not just Ipod), that played CDs and MP3 CDs, had a DAB Radio, and 80 watts (at least) of power. The one unit I could find that ticked all those boxes was a Vita R4 (at £549). I hadn't actually bought one, because I hadn't actually tried one! With the exception of the output, this does NONE of those things, but it's sound was so good I just couldn't resist.

Trying all the different players out (and because it's such a big HMV with loads going on) no-one is that bothered if you wanna make some noise. Simply because it was there, I popped my Iphone onto this and tried it. I turned it up and I was literally blown away by the sound. I absolutely fell in love with it.

It's LOUD, great booming bass that's made possible by corresponding great treble, & when turned up to full volume it literally shakes my house, & without distortion.

I actually spent quite a long time in aforementioned HMV store and I literally tried everything. Because it's such a big store, and there's loads going on, you can actually really turn stuff up and no-one seems that bothered. The only speaker in the whole place that I might have considered competition for this was the £599 Bose Sound Dock. Honestly! The Beats By Dre thing was pretty good, but too big and just not as good as this (and twice the price), the Tron speaker actually thing wasn't bad - but not loud enough, the big TDK Cassette player shaped thing was simply rubbish. The Sony entries were pretty lame - with the exception of the seriously pricey Bose nothing else was even close.

100 Watts of power. If you like your music loud, this is quality.

To give you an idea of how I listen to music, if you imagine an old fashioned 5 way graphic equalizer and picture the knobs on it, with the bass on the left and the treble on the right; the controls would make a near "V" shape. High bass, high treble, and not much of the neutral channel in between. This is perfect for that. It's got a really decent sound anyway, but it's got bass and treble controls and they can be increased if you wish, and they actually make it sound better still.

I've also got a little 7 watt Pure Evoke DAB radio, and with a £1 cable (from Poundland!) I can put this thru it and it sounds brilliant too.

Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive bass despite low volume, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
H. Wong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
The first unit stop working after 3 weeks of normal usage (about 2.5 hrs per day), the cause was the transformer and the whole unit was returned and exchange for another one. So far there is no problems. The audio was quite good, especially at low volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed with longevity, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
I had great hopes for this item as it had really good reviews. It was bought to go into out lounge for the rare occasion we sit and listen to music in there. I think since we got it, it has been used 10 times or so, the last time was New Year 2013/14 when we noticed that every time you plugged your iphone into it, it would turn the phone volume right down to zero, you would turn it up either on the phone or on the stereo controls, only for it to turn itself back down again immediately. Since then we have taken to using a cheap £10 set of speakers as the iHome is unusable. It is out of warranty, but you would very much expect something you paid £200 for to last alot longer than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, terrible base and now it's stopped working, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for iPhone and iPod - Black (Accessory)
I've had this iHome IP1E High Fidelity Speaker System for 3 years now and whilst I was very happy with it initially, that has worn off to the point that I hate it. The Base sound is really fuzzy, it vibrates at low volume and I can't even attempt to listen to any Massive Attack or dub reggae, it performs really badly.

After 1 year of owning it, the power pack stopped working. I replaced it. Now it's just decided to stop playing music. It charges my iPhone, but won't play music from it or my iPod. So now it's just a very expensive dock.

Avoid this piece of crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews