Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony - alone at last and brilliant!
There is no doubt that while Tony made an extremely valuable contribution to Genesis' compostion, he obviously needed to do his own thing, and this album shows just that. His solo compostions for Genesis were among their finest (who could forget "Mad Man Moon", "Burning Rope" or "One for the Vine") and he simply had so much to offer in terms of his own work, that he had...
Published on 24 Jan. 2004 by alan_padgham

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Banks is Genesis, BUT. ?
Very good record of genesis keyboardist, good sound, good solo keyboard but force, temperament, and light keys no is the same without the other members of genesis. Interesting record.
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by Tori


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony - alone at last and brilliant!, 24 Jan. 2004
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
There is no doubt that while Tony made an extremely valuable contribution to Genesis' compostion, he obviously needed to do his own thing, and this album shows just that. His solo compostions for Genesis were among their finest (who could forget "Mad Man Moon", "Burning Rope" or "One for the Vine") and he simply had so much to offer in terms of his own work, that he had to have an outlet outside the band. Here one can appreciate the results of his free rein and enjoy some fine Banks tunes. It was sad that his solo work never sold well, but he used his winning writing formula on this album to good effect. A good choice of vocalist and some excellent backup musicians truly enhance the brilliant keyboard playing throughout this album. Tony, we salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essence of the best early Genesis, 16 Sept. 2000
By 
Simon O (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
If you liked the clever quiet and twiddly up and down bits in early Genesis and you don't go much on the band after Wind and Wuthering, you'll like this album. Add to it Mike Rutherford's Smallcreep's day (and possibly Gabriel's Solsbury Hill), and you can say goodbye to any withdrawal symptoms you've been experiencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Did I Miss this for 30 years ?, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
I have a curious feeling that I must have had the blinkers on for 30 years since this was first released ! My first ever Genesis album was "...And Then There Were Three", quickly followed by the entire back catalogue. Subsequent years have seen my racks being filled with the entire works of Collins, Hackett, Gabriel and Rutherford, including box sets of Genesis SACDs, but nothing from the guy at the heart of Genesis, Mr Banks (OK, apart from Seven). Still, there is no time like the present for getting acquainted with this work and I have to say that I really like it ! It's the kind of album which grows after a few run-throughs, and now I find myself waking up with a particular sequence or phrase running through my head and lasting the whole day. If I had one tiny dislike it is that "Somebody Else's Dream" is about 2 minutes too long, it's a very challenging piece if you listen intently. However, the reward for sticking with it is the next track "Waters of Lethe" which has just about everything for die-hard Tony fans ! A good 9.5 / 10 for me, and I promise not to wait so long next time !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His first and his best, 3 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
Tony Banks solo career has never taken off in the manner of his Genesis and ex-Genesis colleagues - Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel and Mike Rutherford (with Mike and the Mechanics), but it got off to a very promising start with this superb album. Genesis fans of the 'Wind and Wuthering' period of the band will appreciate the massive keyboard washes, complex but melodic songs and arrangements, and the loosely thematically linked lyrics. For keyboard fans, this is a must have as it captures some of his finest playing - possibly the last recorded example of Tony stretching himself technically. In fact, he plays guitar and bass as well, a man of many talents. Drums are by Chester Thompson who is consistently superb, and the excellent singing is by Kim Beacon.
Subsequent albums saw him making the occasional duff choice for singer and attempts to make more accessible, radio friendly music - but it simply isn't his strong point from a writing point of view, which is why 'Curious Feeling' with it's abstract and romantic soundscapes as well as powerful songs, remains his personal best. If you only buy 1 TB album, this is it (although Strictly Inc isn't too bad either)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work Of Pure Songwriting Genius, 10 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
If ever any proof were needed as to the essential role of Tony Banks in Genesis, A Curious Feeling is it. This is from 1979, before Banks felt the need to try his hand at more commercial music.
Genesis were on the rocks at the time, having released their least successful album since their breakthrough, 'And Then There Were Three', Collins had all but permanently left the group in order to vainly attempt to save his first marriage in Vancouver, Canada, which left Banks (aswell as Rutherford, and later as it transpired, Collins also) to create a solo project as an outlet for his seemingly boundless creativity.

Painfully aware that he lacked the personal charisma or voice to carry his songs, Banks wisely enlisted the vocals of Kim Beacon - who is himself, it has to be said, not the most exciting of singers; sort of a poor man's Cliff Richard, but more than capable of holding a complex and multi-harmonic arrangement - and on drums old live Genesis friend, Chester Thompson. Unwisely Banks decided to take on the roles of guitarist and bassist (possibly to keep within a budget?) and the weak arrangements for these instruments are less than inspired. Shame Daryl Stuermer was not enlisted for these duties, then this album would have been about perfect.

As it happens, the record is still more than worthy of a 5 star rating; it has all the classic hallmarks of Banks's work with Genesis - big, romantic chord structures, walls of orchestral sounds, and quite wonderful storytelling lyrics (I mean REALLY good).

The album is a simple concept, of a man who has lost his memory and seems to be losing his mind also (an Alzeimers victim possibly?) but still has lucid dreams of what may have been in his former life. The lead character claims not to feel sadness, more just curiosity at the way his life is moving (hence the title) although he sees those around look on him with tears. However, the final song 'In The Dark' betrays the fact that he is really in a state of denial and is keeping his pain and his tears locked away for now, not wishing to be told the truth of what went before, prefering to be kept in the dark.
Wow. This is a serious work, worth its weight in gold for the lyrics alone.

And sonically it does sound, as one would expect, right in between '...Three' and 'Duke', with lots of Tony's favourite Yamaha electric grand piano (I love the sound of that instrument) and his orchestra synthesiser.

If you want an idea of the kind of songwriting to be found, Genesis's 'Evidence Of Autumn' (from the 'Duke' sessions) sums up the overall feel quite well - rousing, emotional, whimsical, sad. 'Another Cul De Sac' is another example of similar style. The album also opens with an instrumental track called 'From The Undertow', whose main theme is a kind of twisted version of part of 'The Undertow'.

In terms of the overall production, it does sound a little basic - it wouldn't surprise me if David Hentschel mixed the whole thing in a day - and consequently it lacks those little sparkly touches and atmospheres that a producer with more time can bring to the party.

But it puts just about all Banks's other solo projects in the shade. It is a shame Banks in later years felt the need to compete for commercial success with Collins and The Mechanics in releasing such pap as 'The Fugitive' and 'Bankstatement'. But for me, 'A Curious Feeling' on it's own is worth more than all of Collins's and Rutherfords non-Genesis works put together.

Essential listening for all Genesis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 16 Aug. 2004
By 
Miss K. O'Donnell "satanspawn80" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
What can I say? This is Tony Banks showing the world what he does best! Often underrated as a contribution and driving force to Genesis his solo work lets us all realise the awe inspiring creativity that he posesses. I would highly recomend this album to anyone who is a true music fan be they a fan of Genesis or not. This is an album that truely deserves to be recognised as a work in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I discovered the little gem of an album, 17 Dec. 2010
By 
H. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
As a fan of Genesis, and especially their mid-70s albums, I bought this album on the strength of the positive reviews it had received and I wasn't disappointed.

Kim Beacon's vocals suit the music beautifully and Tony's updated notes on the development of the album give a good insight into how it came about. Interesting he cites 'Flowers for Algernon' by Daniel Keyes as a favourite short story of his - it's one of mine too.

It's definitely an album that is growing on me as I play it more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 20 Oct. 2009
By 
Peter Johns (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
I have loved this album since it first came out. I have it on vinyl and subsequently on CD. It is a tragedy that it did not sell sufficiently to reassure Tony that this was what his audience really wanted, so he then went off and tried to be more accessible. A big mistake. If he had stuck to his guns and made more albums of this quality, who knows what might have happened. I believe he would have slowly gained a cult following of awesome proportions. As it is he tried to copy his more successful bandmates doing what they do well, but he doesn't. THIS is what Tony does well. This album is in my top 3 alongside Blonde on Blonde and Revolver, ooh and The Incredible String Band and Who's Next - oops, that's not three is it! Never mind. This album is bloody brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curiouser and curiouser..., 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Mrs. V. J. Raven (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
I already knew from my youth that this was a brilliant album. Hadn't heard it since the last time I played my vinyl copy about 20 years ago. The title track is just drop-dead gorgeous. But for me, the sadness of "For a While" still makes me cry buckets every time, grieving for all the failed relationships of days and years gone by. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Genesis albums that never was, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
David S. Haazen (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Curious Feeling (Audio CD)
This is just amazing, both Tony and Mike bring out solo albums that sound remarkably similar. Even their individual choise of vocalists sound remarkably similar. I have stuck both `Curious feeling` and ` Small Creeps Day` on a mini disk together and I love to put the thing on random play it provides me with the best Genesis album that there never was. This album,(and Mikes as well),are both `must have` for those who lament the passing of the old Genesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Curious Feeling
A Curious Feeling by Tony Banks (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews