Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!
What a great compilation of Sinitta's hits and mixes.
Including 2 unreleased SAW tracks "How Can This Be Real Love" and "Do You Wanna Find Out", new song "The Day You Said Goodbye" complete with a Pete Hammond Retro remix, and stacks of unreleased PWL mixes and 12" versions. Artwork is fantastic, and for those who would like to see the track listing here you...
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by Spaceball

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All It Seems At First Glance Unfortunately
First off this is a good compilation and well overdue for the sultry queen of 80s bubblegum pop. The sound quality is excellent and there is an exhaustive booklet with a very long detailed story of Sinitta and her hits and lots of flashy photos.

Now the surprising bit - not all is what it seems .... The first disc features most of her singles and other tracks...
Published on 14 Dec. 2009 by DM Bunny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 14 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
What a great compilation of Sinitta's hits and mixes.
Including 2 unreleased SAW tracks "How Can This Be Real Love" and "Do You Wanna Find Out", new song "The Day You Said Goodbye" complete with a Pete Hammond Retro remix, and stacks of unreleased PWL mixes and 12" versions. Artwork is fantastic, and for those who would like to see the track listing here you go...

CD 1
So Macho
Feels Like The First Time
Toy Boy
G.T.O.
Cross My Broken Heart
I Don't Believe In Miracles
Right Back Where We Started From
Love On A Mountain Top
Lay Me Down Easy
Hitchin' A Ride
Love And Affection
Shame Shame Shame
Where Did Our Love Go
How Can This Be Real Love (7'' Mix)*
Do You Wanna Find Out (12'' Mix )*
Hitchin' A Ride (PWL 7'' Mix)*
Body Shopping (Pete Hammond Hi-NRG Remix)*
I Don't Believe In Miracles (Merlin's New Hit Mix)+
Shame Shame Shame (Alternative 12" Mix)*
The Day You Say Goodbye #*
Toy Boy (Reloaded)#*

CD 2
Toy Boy (The Original Mix)+
G.T.O. (Modina's Red Roaring Mix)+
Cross My Broken Heart (12'' Euro Remix)*
I Don't Believe In Miracles (Club Remix)+
Right Back Where We Started From (Left Back On The Side Mix)+
Love On A Mountain Top (Promo 12'' Mix)*
Hitchin' A Ride (PWL Remix)+
How Can This Be Real Love (12'' Mix)*
Body Shopping (Original 12'' Mix)*
I Just Wanna Spend Some Time With You (12'' Mix)*
You Keep Me Hanging On (12'' Mix)*
The Day You Said Goodbye(Pete Hammond's Empire Strikes Back Mix)#*

+Rare
*Previously unreleased
#New
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Boy, So Macho, Cross My Heart. It's Sinitta overload!, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
What can I say but when I first saw a review of this collection on one of the music review blogs I follow. I did not even think twice in ordering this item. I grew up listening to Sinitta and since then, there have a lot of compilations and import CDs that came out but nothing quite like this.

To have all of her hits and more + remastered audio quality, basically it's euro-pop heaven. I'm not going to discard any of my Sinitta CDs because this came out, but it's a mighty good addtion to my collection.

As one of Stock, Aitken & Waterman stars back then, she was amazing and pretty much gave us a different spin just like her other contemporaries, such as Rick Astley, Bananarama, Sonia, Hazell Dean, etc.

5 stars for this magnificent collection. A must have for any Sinitta fan, of course, and for anyone who enjoyed PWL music back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yay Back to the 80s !!, 20 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. L. S. Jameson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for this CD to arrive for what seems like forever!! Ordered it ages ago and have been patiently waiting ever since! Boy was I glad when it arrived yesterday! 2 cds of pure pop fun!!! CD1 is basically all the singles in chronological order then some remixes and specials towards the end of the cd. Then CD2 is remixes and a few new tracks. Now the best track on this collection has gotta be the Pete hammond mix of 'The Day you said goodbye' - wow wot a mix. This is a track that was recorded by Sin in 2007 and is fab!!! His mix sounds like the old 80s SAW style - with the percussion building, then the claps, then the bass line, then the synth hooks! WICKED!! Its fab and the whole collection is worth buying just for this!! The new version of Toy Boy is fab too! She should def perform a track on X-Factor I think AND release another single after all this time! TO me Sinitta was and still is and 80s icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine UK Pop/Disco, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
Sinitta was the very first artist to emerge from the Simon Cowell stable and enjoyed International success around the globe with two hugely successful albums and a string of top dance hits.
She hit the top spot in 1986 with the mega HI-NRG hit "Toy Boy" which went top 10 here in the UK and was also a hit across the globe and beyond. HI-NRG dance music was a driving force in clubs at the time and Sinitta followed in her famous Mother's footsteps to dominate gay clubs and beyond (her mother is the famous singer and actor Miquel Brown). Further hits followed in 1987 when she teamed up with top pop producers SAW and she had further top 10 success with hits like "Toy Boy", "GTO" & "Cross my broken heart". Sinitta's debut album was a big success in the album charts. In 1989 Sinitta released her second album "Wicked", another success and contained the hits "Love Love Love", "Love on a mountaintop" & "Hitchin a Ride". After a quiet spell, Sinitta re-emerged on the Arista label and relaesed the singles "Shame Shame Shame" & "the Supreme EP".
Looking back at her extensive catalogue, Sinitta gave us some top quality, infectious pop, in its purest form. A fine Collection of hits from a wonderful pop diva!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sinitta album ever, 21 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent two disc album. It is a greatest hits album but also contains previously unreleased songs and some fantastic mixes.
Stock Aitken Waterman fans will be pleased that two never released singles are included. The brassy upbeat 'How can this be real love' and the deep bass groove 'Do you wanna find out'. Do you wanna find out only exists as a 12" mix but this suits the song allowing the listener a real appreciation of Sinitta's voice.
All the mix tracks are excellent. I particually like the house style of 'Love on a mountain top' promo 12" mix by Ian Curnow and Phil Harding and the guitar work by Matt Aitken on 'G.T.O' modina's red roaring mix.
'The day you said goodbye' Pete Hammonds empire strikes back mix is a fine example of a new song given an Eighties PWL sound.
This album also contains a front cover booklet that has colour photos and makes good reading. It tells you about Sinitta and the development and production of her songs.
Thanks to all involved for releasing this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whatta " cherry " shock, 21 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
I'm f speachless! I did not expect SUCH A release! As a Mike Stock fan i own almost everything what PWL did,
of course i've bought this one ONLY because of the remixes and unreleased Mike Stock's stuff, and certainly i've seen thousands of " best of/greatest hits " compilations in my life before - so i DID NOT expect anything spectacular - specially because i've never heard about CHERRY RECORDS before, pete's website was the one that introduced me to that. BUT This COMPILATION includes everything what i / or any Sinitta / PWL fan could dream of ! A 14 sites-booklet full of unknown details- an extended Sinitta story, including what Pete Hammond said and done AND WHEN, Mike Stock's comments ( always a thrill to read ) Funny comments of Pete The Waterman, Harding/Curnow, Simon Cowell and many others are there .
Unusual and really touchy are the Sinitta's own comments FOR every song she did! Actually this is what HER FANS should love to see ! Plus pictures of single / album gold and silver discs awards!
And if it's still not enough - there are video stills from her videos and - vid stills from her tv appearances
INCLUDING the one from Palladium where she did " i don't believe in miracles " where HER LEGS are ... so porno!
No wonder Mike Stock knew immidiately she could sing ...lol...
I'm really surpriced of how CHERRY RECORDS realeased this compilation,
this makes a huge difference between a mp3-download-shopping and a cd with a booklet that takes you in a world of a music you buy.
Wish Sonia and Jason could get such a " woow-booklet-release " ;))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sinitta the great, 28 Nov. 2009
By 
sadiq niazi sadiq "sadiq-iraq" (Abu Dhabi - UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
i like it very much ever since i know about her in the 80's, i never listned to any of her music just some of them, but from this collection i would say hell yeah she is the best of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
oh old classics on one cd...could it be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A complete collection, 16 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
a complete collection with 2 cd all remastered
an interessing booklet with lyrics, notes, discography, pictures.
an excelent remix of "the day you said goodbye' by pete hammond with his fabulous retro style.
a must to have

JM Devotion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All It Seems At First Glance Unfortunately, 14 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits + Collection 86-09 (Audio CD)
First off this is a good compilation and well overdue for the sultry queen of 80s bubblegum pop. The sound quality is excellent and there is an exhaustive booklet with a very long detailed story of Sinitta and her hits and lots of flashy photos.

Now the surprising bit - not all is what it seems .... The first disc features most of her singles and other tracks in radio edit form or remix form and a lot of unreleased tracks. However, it doesn't include her very first single "crusing" in any form or shape whatsoever. I defy the most avid of fans to like the new remix of Toy Boy - what on earth were they thinking of ?

The second CD raises even more eyebrows - there are some great original 12 mixes in here but also some annoying additions and omissions and awful remixes.

1) Toy Boy ( it says the original 12'' Mix but what they don't tell you is that they have chopped more than a minute off it from the original "sinitta" album version which featured the full 12'' original mix. In other words it's an original EDIT

2) Cross My Broken Heart unfortunately undergoes the Euro Remix surgeon's knife and the result is pretty ugly - gone is the 6m48sec silky smooth 80s original to be replaced by a more mechanical thumping jerky 6m24sec Remix , the result is disappointing.

3) Shattering my hopes - the elusive and highly sought after 12'' version of "I Don't Believe In Miracle (12'' Merlin Mix) is replaced by something called "Club Remix" and a 7'' rehash "New Merlin Mix" ( they omitted the word trash for obvious marketing reasons but trash is what they have made it ) - it is also chopped from 6m20sec to 5m55 - this is the most disappointing inclusion ( and omission) of the entire compilation. What did you do with the original Merlin ? Was he murdered by Morgana the wicked remix queen ?

It's not all bad news - GTO, Hitchin A Ride & Love On A Mountain Top are all included in their full length original format but just why they included such obscure unheard of 12 inch versions such as "body shopping", "i just wanna spend some time with you", "the day you said goodbye", "you keep me hanging" on & "how can this be real love" at the total absence/expense of classics such as "cruising" or "so macho" , has me scratching my head in disbelief.

I understand the idea to relaunch Sinitta but did it really have to be at the expense of sacrificing her original classics or remixing them for today's market ? Those of us buying this did so because we know and WANTED the originals, that is in essence what a compilation should be ( not an excuse to remix and trash original recordings hoping to entice today's kids into the market ) They are not going to buy this type of 80s stuff. To ignore at the same time those loyal fans of us who have waited 20 years for this is a double kick in the rubber parts !!!

Still a great compilation but don't expect what you were expecting ( if you know what i mean )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hits + Collection 86-09
The Hits + Collection 86-09 by Sinitta (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews