Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the music, one star deducted for the idea
There is no way in the world that twenty songs on one disc could do the legacy of Queen's back catalogue justice. This release is evidently aimed at people who have no real knowledge of the group or are such mildly interested fans that they would imagine that this is all they would need. However, getting that out of the way, as a single-disc compilation of Queen's...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by A. Sweeney

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Queen rip off
IF YOUR A QUEEN FAN THEN YOUVE GOT ALL THESE TRACKS ANYWAY......

THERES NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THIS COLLECTION, AND ITS JUST ANOTHER WAY OF GETTING US FANS TO PART WITH MORE MONEY.

IF YOUR NEW TO QUEENS MUSIC, THEN YES ITS A BARGAIN, ALL THE HITS ARE HERE IN ONE CD.
Published on 17 Jun 2010 by Stephen Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the music, one star deducted for the idea, 5 Nov 2009
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
There is no way in the world that twenty songs on one disc could do the legacy of Queen's back catalogue justice. This release is evidently aimed at people who have no real knowledge of the group or are such mildly interested fans that they would imagine that this is all they would need. However, getting that out of the way, as a single-disc compilation of Queen's music, it's not a bad one. If, as a Queen fan, you were given the task of compiling a 'best of' over one disc, what tracks would you include? I think the majority of the songs I'd include are covered here - so it does its job.

I can't really understand why anyone would give this disc one star. The music is easily worth five... although I can certainly understand people docking one or two stars for the irrelevance of the compilation, which is what I've done - but the songs here are absolutely brilliant and are certainly some of the best and most famous tracks of the 70s and 80s. Yes, there are better compilations of Queen. The Greatest Hits I & II packages aren't exactly definitive, but they cover the career of this talented band better than this one disc compilation. However, I'm well aware that this could be the starting point of a greater fandom for some younger people yet to have been introduced to Queen - or maybe even older fans who have never given the band a chance and, for that, it's worthy.

In fact, any compilation which includes songs such as "Bohemian Rhapsody", "Killer Queen", "We Are The Champions", "Don't Stop Me Now" and "Somebody To Love" should have a place in the world. If it brings Queen's music to new ears then I'm all for it, despite some criminal omissions that compilers with a one disc limit would have been forced to leave out. Yes, it's a flawed premise, yes, one CD doesn't do the band justice and no, I won't be buying it (I already have all of the material on offer here) - but I'm sure this compilation will give thousands of people a lot of joy and, for that, it gets my support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for the cream of Queen? Then look no further..., 2 Dec 2009
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
Chances are, if you're a big Queen fan and own their albums and/or their earlier 'Greatest Hits' albums you'll pretty much have every brilliant track on offer here. This collection is not an album aimed at you. You have no need to purchase it.

If however, you are new to the musical delights of Queen (and if you are, you are in for a real treat) or are a casual fan who'd like to have all their biggest hits on one compilation, then this collection is for you. This album contains 20 of their all time greatest songs, and there isn't a duff track here. Each one is an absolute classic rock gem.

Yes, Queen fans can, with some justification, complain about record companies cashing in on the back catalogue once again with a compilation that has nothing new to offer, but I really think naysayers are missing the point of this album; it's to get the casual fan or uninitiated interested in one of the most unique, inventive and fun bands ever created.

Thats got to be a good thing isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy, 19 Nov 2009
By 
M. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album and a must have for and any Queen fan. We all know the music and what we think about the individual tracks so I won't bore you with that. Why would you want to waste your hard earned cash on a CD when you could build a CD of your own with the same tracks on from your existing collection? Simple, whilst the track listing may be the same, the audio quality would not be. These tracks have had new life breathed into them and sound great, they sound fuller than on the album releases, Bohemian Rhapsody sounds, in my opinion, even better than it does on the DVD-A version of Night At The Opera, though not as detailed as one would expect as this is only 16bit audio. Yes the difference is that clear, I played different versions of the song back to back through my headphones and Absolute Greatest won easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Queen Compilation, 19 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
Although I already have the three Greatest Hits compilations, I love the idea of a single CD spanning Queen's entire career, from Seven Seas of Rye to These Are The Days Of Our Lives. I am impressed by the choices made here, being a little nervous that delicate and moving songs like These Are The Days Of Our Lives would be missed out, but instead they have missed out the hits I like least, Fat Bottom Girls, Bicycle Race, Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy, Tie Your Mother Down. The exclusion of Innuendo is the only jarring note, and possibly Now I'm Here. However, to include a long song such as Innuendo would mean cutting two of the other songs included and I'm glad that didn't happen because I think I prefer all the songs included to Innuendo. All in 2009 digital restored versions, superb. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys listening to Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Queen for Dummies", 4 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
If this was a book it would be called "Queen for Dummies", the cover would be bright yellow and it would introduce young kids and creatures from another planet to the music of Queen.

Their first Greatest Hits package sold in bucket loads since 1981 and in the same way that Bohemian Rhapsody broke the mold for video promos, it set the standard for Greatest Hits packages. There were no fillers, new songs or dud hits ... in fact they had to leave off single releases in order that it fit the LP Album format.

Now almost 30 years later, this release tries to encapsulate Queen inside the constraints of a single CD. Its a flawed and impossible task. Do you select songs that are familiar to a worldwide audience, do you select songs that charted best in a particular territory, do you pick concert rock classics or 3 minute radio friendly pop songs?

The problem is this - this is clearly aimed at "The Christmas Market" - people who maybe like Queen but don't love them. They normally wouldn't buy their albums but know a bit about them and have probably seen some of their stuff covered on X-Factor, Brittan's Got Talent or maybe on the soundtrack to an animated cartoon or feature film. However, the one set of people who will DEFINITELY buy this album will be their massive fan base (of who I am just one) who will buy it for completest reasons.

The latter of these groups are not going to be a happy bunch, even with the limited edition version with the book or the heavy vinyl edition. They want a big glossy rarities package of a similar nature to that released for Freddie Mercury in the 90's. They have all the commercial releases, they want the B-sides,the 12" inch mixes that were only available on vinyl, the unreleased videos incl. solo work, and if possible anything that Brian, Roger, John or Freddie sang in the bath (70's) or shower (80's) or on their way to the bank to lodge their royalties cheques.

I could burn this album onto a CD from my Queen collection........ but I will buy it. I might even buy it for my nephews and nieces to ensure the Queen legacy gets passed down the generations, who will tell me that I'm a mug and did I know that I could have downloaded it off the internet for nothing.

In conclusion 5 stars for content (despite the gems that have been excluded)but 0 stars for whoever felt the need to make this release happen. (I am guessing its the same Muppet that is re-issuing the vinyl back catalog and the CD singles in recession friendly chucks but who is too lazy to get their arse into the archives). Its time the band give their fans what they want, not "what they've been given a 1000 times before"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's difficult to know what is more surprising, that it's actually been 18 years since Freddie Mercury died or just how much the popular music scene has changed in that time. You have to wonder what he would have made of the micro celebrities with their dubious talents who make up so much of the charts nowadays,( not all of course, there will always be talent out there),. So much 'pop talent' is now just following a pre-set path, no growth or room for personality. If you don't believe me, when's the last time a group had a guitarist who wasn't the main singer who was a huge name in his\her own right?
This double album may seem like just another pre-crimbo cash in, and no doubt probably is, but it has so much more to offer. This is a reminder of one of the last of the truly inventive & world dominating supergroups. Not only that but Queen made their name, not through the unheard tracks on their albums, but through their chart storming singles which are still seen as classics today. They had a combined talent that makes todays reality show stars look anaemic. The individuals all had strong contributions to make but of course it was the unstoppable and born showman that was Freddie Mercury who strode stages like a prowling lion and first taught concert audiences that they were as much a part of any live show as the performers. His voice was a force of nature that knew no fear and achieved heights seldom seen since his passing.
The beauty of this collection is the ability to see the group develop & evolve as the years passed. 'Seven seas of rhye' & 'You're my best friend' show an early & raw talent that showed the pop to rock range they would always stick to throughout their history. 'Killer queen' & 'We will rock you' highlight the camp & tongue in cheek humour that could always be found somewhere on their albums and was a signature for a group who always seemed to love their work and put fun into it.
It makes for interesting reading to see who the writers were for each track, the whole band were allowed their equal chance to give input and that's what gave them such a variety of styles to choose from. Introspection, drama, rock and sometimes simple pop fare with a more synth led sound,('Radio gaga' & 'I want to break free'), but always Freddies unmistakable voice and Brian May's home grown, self developed, guitar sound.
For sure Queen fans can easily bemoan the odd out of sync running order, a track that perhaps doesn't belong and the lack of depth and understanding of the group that comes from having singles only. But is the actual song list itself for the fans? Surely it's for newcomers who want to know what all the fuss was about or who are interested in taking a closer look at one of the music worlds true greats. For the fans it's straight off to disc 2 where the interviews with May & Taylor are. There are few new nuggets of info to be had but it's great to hear them look back with fondness and EMI are to be applauded for adding this inventive bonus.
Queen may remain in name but even dyed in the wool supporters would have to admit that Queen without the mercurial Freddie is a sadder shadow of its former self. He was truly unique and possessed a talent that actually matched his massive stage persona. For the newcomer this is a great place to start. They may have done so many great tracks that are not here but if you cannot find anything to your liking in this collection then Queen are not for you. If you like what you hear then it's time to look to the individual albums. 'Night at the opera', 'The works' & 'innuendo' are a great introduction before heading off into deeper waters where there is so much excellent music to be found.
It's a great introduction or a great reminder either way this is 'at anytime an invitation you can't decline'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Jacquet Cretides "Fred" (Pantin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fdvfd gfr gf gvf gfd re ret tre erz rez zer zr fg gt tet z rey tr er ee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Queen rip off, 17 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
IF YOUR A QUEEN FAN THEN YOUVE GOT ALL THESE TRACKS ANYWAY......

THERES NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THIS COLLECTION, AND ITS JUST ANOTHER WAY OF GETTING US FANS TO PART WITH MORE MONEY.

IF YOUR NEW TO QUEENS MUSIC, THEN YES ITS A BARGAIN, ALL THE HITS ARE HERE IN ONE CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great what can I say !!!, 14 April 2010
By 
Dadyfygarregwen (Norwich Norfolk GB.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
A pleasure and delight to listen again to music that rang through
my home when the family was there, I love it play it daily in my car
as a Senior lady, many folks are suprised at my choice, Bought one for my Son
it's his fave too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Greatest Queen, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. Wickings "Gremlin_1986" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Greatest (Audio CD)
I love Queen and think they truly are a legendary band. This CD collects their greatest hits altogether and is a good bargain.

However, with no place for Flash Gordon or any live performances this is not the best Queen album to buy. I would recommend The Platinum Collection: The Greatest hits I, II & III. The collection is more expensive but it's much better value.

For new fans of Queen this is a good start though as it advertises the full range of Queen's musical abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Greatest
Absolute Greatest by Queen (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews