Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gentle jazz with intriguing undertones
This new album by Portico follows on from their glorious debut "Knee Deep in the North Sea", with a similar tone but a new level of maturity.

The focus of the group is the Hang, a sort of inverted steel-drum which plays like a marimba - and provides a beautiful, hypnotic rhythm over which the sax and bass weave delicious harmonies. The drummer switches...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Mark Shackelford

versus
1 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars isla
to be honest, i found this album quite disappointing - just goes to show that reputations aren't always what they're supposed to be!!!
Published on 5 Mar 2010 by sinnicle crittercool


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I bought this CD in the spur of the moment - it was suggested by Amazon to go well with my other purchases. I had no idea what this was, and in a way I still don't. But I like it! It's almost as hard to describe as the cover image, but for almost free, I'm very happy! Electronica meets chamber orchestra? Strange, but nice surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good a sophomore album you can expect, 8 Feb 2010
By 
R. BUKOWSKI (Edmonton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I enjoy this album from beginning to the end. If you like the first album don't hesitate on the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chillin' Jazz with a difference, 12 Dec 2009
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I bought this on the off chance after seeing these guys on breakfast TV - and I haven't been disappointed. Its a good sound, with the 'hang' providing a haunting quality. Ideal for a wet Sunday afternoon with a decent red and the weekend papers.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of 2009?, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I bought this CD following an enthusiastic review by John Fordham. It is one of the CDs from 2009 which I rate most highly. It has overtones (undertones) of some of the Soft Machine's music from the late 1960s / early 1970s. That was and is great stuff. So is this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I heard this group play a couple of tracks on Radio 3's 'In Tune' and was struck by the way in which they fuse Jazz with strands that are more immediately rhythmical and harmonic to produce a sound that really is extraordinary and unique. I ordered the album immediately and have not been disappointed. The unusual sound here is partly the result of the percussion instrument the 'Hang' but also owes much to the way in which the Alto sax is played - there's a breathless energy to this at times which teeters on the edge of chaos but never falls into it. Having said that there are also quieter passages of almost ethereal beauty and elegance, where everything is slowed down and the bass takes the centre stage in a very delicate and yet authoritative manner.

The whole album is obviously the work of a group of friends who like and understand each other both musically and personally - they apparently share a house and do much of the early stages of their recording in a shed at the bottom of the garden - and the whole is somehow greater than the sum of the very talented individual parts. I'm very much looking forward to the next album and just wish I lived close enough to be able to hear it in development!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all good, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
I saw them live and wanted the CD which I really enjoy listening to whilst making the dinner. Arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars isla, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: Isla (Audio CD)
to be honest, i found this album quite disappointing - just goes to show that reputations aren't always what they're supposed to be!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isla
Isla by Portico Quartet (Audio CD)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews