Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you hand me the 'model for .......', 8 May 2008
By 
Neil Riseham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Invaluable. Before a meeting, when preparing presentations, producing papers, seconds before a briefing, summarising communication, developing new directives and all those instances you need a start in the right direction, a memory jogger or a tool that fits the moment! It's great, looks like you have done hours of work and have that magic ability to summarise and concisely present complex information and data in a format everyone can understand, relates to established models and ensures clear focus on achieving the objectives.

I am making light of a book bursting with knowledge which will suit the practicing professional looking for just the right technique or the new student wishing to understand the principles and direction for further research. There really is a tool, model or a technique that can provide guidance or be modified to fit any need. As well as my own well thumbed copy I have purchased this for junior colleagues studying at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Management Toolbox - An invaluable asset for all, 15 July 2008
By 
Dave Clarke (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
The Essential Management Toolbox is an ideal source for anyone aspiring or currently working in any role that incorporates management skills - and in today's world, that includes every role. The `Toolbox' is ideal for its single source of theoretical and practical tools and techniques that support any aspect of management that can be used by everyone from students undertaking theses and research, through to Senior Consultants. The broadness of tools and models captured make it a perfect companion for all business, management and engineering personnel. The use of diagrams and flow chart makes this book very easy to understand and apply in the real world, and therefore an invaluable asset for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful resource., 28 Oct 2009
By 
J. Matile (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read 'The Essential Management Toolbox' in preparation for starting a new role. It not only provided me with a clear and concise refresher of theories and concepts that were familiar to me, but also gave me an insight into some that were completely new, described clearly and in depth.

Whether you use this book for a quick recap before a meeting, as a general management tool or flick through it at leisure, it provides a simple to read, well resourced and comprehensive summary of a wide range of useful management models, that can be applied to a wide range of situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent User or Community of Practice, 4 May 2008
I purchased "The Essential Management Toolbox" two months ago and have found it to be an indispensable reference and very complete source of all the principle strategic and transformational management tools and models you would need.

These are easily accessed and appropriately addressed within the book, also what I have found invaluable, as a practising organisational change consultant and business manager within a FTSE 100 company is the sheer range of fields and disciplines covered across the whole business continuum.

It delivers on its promise as an "Essential" learning asset and compendium of carefully selected enabling management tools and business models. I would recommend it as a must have companion for anyone, from new students through to those with significant business experience. It was great to find a management publication which is both practical and easily applied to the many changing environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treasure of Practical Knowledge, 18 April 2008
By 
K. Afsar (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this book at an exibition stand during my visit to HRD 2008 International Learning and Development Conference and Exibition at Excel London, United Kingdom. At my first glance it caught my attention due to its nice appearance which was obviously conveying a strong signal to the people of the field concerned and those who are thirsty for knowledge and learning.

I would like to be the first to write a review about this very useful and important book, not only for those who are involved in any business or engineering industry but also those students who would like to have the lastest knowledge conveyed to them in about 20 topics mentioned in this book. The hard work carried out by Simon A. Burtonshaw-Gunn is really worth mentioning here who has presented a valuable book with latest research and yet easy to understand approach with all necesary fields/topics which are the core of any business.

The topics which have been covered are very practical and are the essence of modern businesses and industires of all types and nature, small, large, national or global.

A long list of 93 references and about 60 publishers, individuals and copy right holders plus the vast practical experience with strong academic backgound of the author really has given birth to a wonderful peace of work which really deserves to be called Treasure of Practical Knowledge and thus The Essential Management Toolbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Management Toolbox - Equipping the leaders of today for tomorrow, 22 April 2008
'The Essential Management Toolbox' provides a rich knowledge source for managers and leaders and is particularly but not exclusively a "must have" for anyone who is undertaking a management consultancy role either externally or within their own organisation.

In my organisation, we use it as both our prime reference material when developing new organisational products and services and have put it right at the top of our list of recommended reading which will challenge and stimulate the thinking of our learners undertaking management and leadership masterclasses.

This book has helped me to challenge my own thinking in a range of key business areas and I would highly reccomend it as essential reading for any manager who is serious about business improvement from strategy to implementation and results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool for Management, 16 Sep 2010
I purchased this a couple of years ago when it first came out and I have to say I have carried it around with me many times. It is an invaluable source of very useful and essential information, written in a concise manner and presented in an easily readable and diagrammatic way. It has bullet points to help pass the knowledge in an effective and easily digestible way. Well done to the author. Recommended for all management levels, covers most of the key considerations managers need to understand in today's modern environments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good addition to the toolbox, which gives clear and focused guidelines for today's manager. I would recommend this publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a toolbox, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Nick (Camberley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As it says, it's a toolbox. It doesn't go into lots of explanation of all the concepts because that's not the point, and the book would be massive. But it does give you an outline of lots of ideas around each of the subject areas. So if you just need a quick reminder, or inspiration for new thoughts which you can research in depth elsewhere, then the book is ideal. I found it really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Text Book, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful textbook that provides lots of useful ideas and links to further study. A very easy read and great for my course in construction management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews