Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
My son loved it
Published 20 days ago by Mrs. A. Rae

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE The Bash
I have to say that I was mixed about this PPV as we had some matches that were good and some that weren't the full ticket.

Would first have to say that the John Cena Miz match was very short and pretty predictable on who the winner was going to be and this match felt like a match we would see on Monday Night RAW. Jeff Hardy vs CM Punk to me was going to be the...
Published on 30 Aug 2010 by Mr. Alan M. Foster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE The Bash, 30 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that I was mixed about this PPV as we had some matches that were good and some that weren't the full ticket.

Would first have to say that the John Cena Miz match was very short and pretty predictable on who the winner was going to be and this match felt like a match we would see on Monday Night RAW. Jeff Hardy vs CM Punk to me was going to be the best match on the card but ruined with CM Punk getting himself disqualified. Randy Orton vs Triple H for the WWE Title in a 2 out of 3 falls match was very average and the first two falls between the two was very below average with an average 3rd fall which was a stretcher match which got ruined anyways for the champ Randy Orton to retain but he had the last laugh when Triple H nailed him with the sledgehammer.

If I could choose some of the matches I liked I would say Rey Mysterio vs Chris Jericho and again Chris Jericho teaming with Edge against Legacy and Carlito&Primo for the Tag Team Titles were the two best matches on the PPV card.

Overall PPV Rating = ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bash 2009, 1 May 2010
By 
C. Swan "Swan Lake" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
Before I get started I'd like to say I prefer the old title 'Great American Bash' however most GAB's were flops so maybe they dropped the 'Great' due to the irony of them not being great, haha. Anyway...

ECW Championship Scramble
Tommy Dreamer vs. Christian vs. Jack Swagger vs. Finlay vs. Mark Henry

This match started off slow and was no way as good as the first ECW Scramble at Unforgiven 2008, as this was more sloppy with some of the sequences looking too scripted for example the bit where Henry pulls Swagger off the turnbuckle whilst superplexing Christian and then they land on Dreamer. Finlay impresses me though and as soon as he enters the match the pace picks up. It's a shame he was absent though for part of the match due to an eye injury. The match was good, one of the better matches of the nights although I wasn't fond of the messing ending. But it was a pretty good start.

7/10

Intercontinental Championship vs. Mask
Chris Jericho vs. Rey Mysterio

These 2 were one of the few feuds of 2009 where every match was a classic i.e. like Y2J/ HBK in 2008 or Batista/ Taker in 2007, and this one was no different. Despite the mask on the line making it predictable, it was still an edge of your seat match up. It did start out slow but picked up the pace and what followed was amazing back and fourth action, from counters like Rey springboarding and Y2J hits the codebreaker, or Rey going for a top rope hurricurana but Y2J counters into a powerbomb. Also Rey's double springboard moonsault type offence was incredible. This was a classic, although... their Extreme Rules match was a tiny tiny bit better.

8.5/10

No Disqualifications/ No Count Outs Match
Dolph Ziggler vs. Great Khali

This was a short but entertaining match. I can't rate it too highly of course due to what it was, but Ziggler really impressed me and was realistic of how much he could beat down Khali. Obviously the No dq stipulation helped but dtill. Kane's interference was a little... meh... but whatever.

6.5/10

Triple Threat Unified Tag Team Championship
Carlito & Primo vs. Legacy vs. Edge & Chris Jericho

Originally advertised as a 2 on 2 match, then Edge and Jericho were meshed together and added at the last minute, fitting in with Theadore Longs storyline. As for the match itself, it was average with some pretty neat tag action but Jericho and Edge did nothing which was ridiculous.

6/10

Women's Championship
Melina vs. Michelle McCool

Wow, this was a surprise. A divas match being good, better than some of the other matches on the card. That's saying something, no offence to the divas. This was fast pace and very athletic. Melina's selling of the leg was good too, although I'm not fond of the outcome to this match, but I guess it was time for a new champion.

7/10

World Heavyweight Championship
CM Punk vs. Jeff Hardy

The storyline was tremendous leading up to this, and the 2 have great chemistry. Unfortunatley the match was a little slow to get into but once it did it was great. Unfortunatley nothing we havn't seen before occured, but to be honest these 2 don't need to because they're ability and move list is always exciting. The dg ending was annoying but I guess it continued the story and made sense for it.

7.5/10

John Cena vs. The Miz

The storyline was good, or it appeared to be in the video package but the match was short and pretty much a squash. To be honest, I don't know what else I can say about it.

6/10

3 Stages of Hell for the WWE Championship
1st Fall: one on one
2nd Fall: falls count anywhere match
3rd Fall: stretcher match
Randy Orton vs. Triple H

This is what I'm talking about. Why wasn't their match at Wrestlemania this exciting and fast pace? This was an amazing main event. It started off fast, with traditional wrestling then Triple H went to town on Orton with a steel chair causing a dq qin for Orton, then he pedigreed Orton on the floor winning the 2nd fall all in a space of 5 minutes. The next 15 or so minutes was a very good stretcher match where they fought in the ring, ringside, rampway, stage, in the crowd, technical area - the entire arena, all used to their advantage. Any for PG era it was a decent hardcore bout fitting in within the continuity of the story. The interference was fitting aswell, and although at the time this feud had gotten stale and the 2 have had better matches, this was an extremeley satisfying and worthing main event. Not on dull moment.

8.5/10

To be honest, this event was okay. 2 matches I'd pay for, the rest were pretty standard and I'd be okay never watching again or had ever watch it even. Definatley not my most brilliant purchase, but if you end up getting this, then enjoy the Intercontinetal and WWE Championship bouts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good event, 28 Oct 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
The bash,the great american bash in wcw from 1985 until 2000 and then the wwe called it the same from 2004-2008 and then in a bid to show no love for wcw they renamed it again when it was the wwe who decided to run with the name in the first place,anyway,im ranting.
The bash promised plenty and indeed did contain cause for excitement when only the third three stages of hell match was announced prior to this when wwe champ randy orton would go up against an all too familiar foe in triple h,we were also blessed with a world title match between the champ cm punk going up against a frustrated jeff hardy and other matches featured as well.
The event opened up with the ecw title at stake in a championship scramle,reigning champ tommy dreamer had it all to do as he faced christian,jack swagger,mark henry and finlay.This was a pleasing opening,fast paced with a good few falls and a real desire to compete demonstrated,solid opener from the much maligned brand.
The match of the night was next as rey mysterio went up against chris jericho in a mask vs title match.This match had everything and both men gave their all,the match was epic and fought at a spellbinding pace,there were nearfalls,near submissions and so much more,one of the great matches of the year.
I guess the next match was filler,harsh perhaps but there was nothing to it,a no dq match featuring the great khali and the up and coming dolph ziggler,i think dolph was given this God awful feud to see how he could cut it with the awkward khali,the match has no good points,no good spots,nothing,thankfully the feud ended on this night when dolph got a little help.
Next was a tag team match featuring the champs the colons going up against two thirds of the legacy,rhodes and dibiase,this match had a little surprise thrown in that rocked the room and the match was elevated as a result,i was happy with this match and it certainly provided a talking point.
The next match was for the world heavyweight title,the champ cm punk went up against the aggrieved jeff hardy who felt punk was wrong to stamp on hardys toes when hardy won the belt at extreme rules.The match was far from a classic,it was only the beginning of their feud to be fair and it did improve,the ending was a bit cheap but did add to the heelish ways of the world champ,an acceptable match.
John cena went up against the miz in an unusual five minute match next,the miz hadnt long moved to raw and targeted the number one face in cena,he called him out,mocked him and actually worked up a 7-0 win count against cena,well on the basis that cena forfeited the matches,eventually cena had enough and accepted the challenge of a man who wanted a push bad.
The match was nothing short of a squash match,granted the miz had some offence but it was shortlived and cena was toying with the man who thinks he is awesome,not a good match.
The three stages of hell match was up next,orton vs triple h,the first fall would be a regular match,the second would be falls count anywhere and thirdly,if needed,a stretcher match.
The first two falls occured very soon into the match,the third fall had to be earnt and it was,it was brutal in its own way and both men were shattered shells as they approached the end,i thought it was a good match but far from a classic,in fact,their last man standing match on raw 6 days prior was better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bash is over. Oh..., 27 Aug 2011
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
Somehow, you just KNEW that WWE were gonna pull the plug on The Great American Bash when they simply shortened the title of the 2009 event to simply "The Bash". Disregarding the strong 2007 and 2008 shows, WWE's Great American Bash was an annually pitiful event. It was far from `Great' and its cancellation is no big loss.

"The Bash" is a lifeless name for what was an overall adequate pay-per-view. Like the 2004, 2005 and 2006 showings, this final Bash can easily be overlooked. To be fair, though...this isn't THAT bad of a show. The Intercontinental Championship match is one of 2009's most excellent contests, the classic Jeff Hardy/CM Punk storyline was blossoming and bouts you think are going to be rubbish, actually turn out decently. But the feeling I got from watching the show, was that the performers and bookers were content with merely "That'll do."

Scramble ECW Championship Match
Tommy Dreamer (Champion) vs. Christian vs. Jack Swagger vs. Mark Henry (w/Tony Atlas) vs. Finlay
On paper, the Scramble Match seems overly complicated for its own good. But as Unforgiven 2008 showed, the Scramble environment works much better in practice than it does in theory. This is a fun, multi-man outing with some fine action and each wrestler bringing something to the table. Quality opener with the final moments being particularly engaging. Satisfying winner. (7/10)

Mask vs. Intercontinental Championship Match
Chris Jericho (Champion) vs. Rey Mysterio
One of the best feuds in 2009, and one that helped restore the Intercontinental title to its former glory. Every match that Mysterio and Jericho had throughout 2009 was better than the one that came before, and this Mask vs. Title collision is the epitome of the feud, in terms of both storyline and in-ring action. The two tear the house down in a fantastic, stunning thrill-ride complete with breathtaking moves and counters. The ingenious ending and spectacular outcome make this all-the-more of a classic that will have fans screaming. Match of the night. (9/10)

No Count Out/No Disqualification Match
The Great Khali (w/Ranjin Singh) vs. Dolph Ziggler
Frankly, I was expecting this to be just plain poor. Instead, it surprised me. Thanks to actual build-up and Ziggler giving such a credible performance, really taking it to the highly-limited Khali and managing to make them both look impressive at the same time!. Kane's welcome interference helped restore his menace, which was nice too. Not bad at all. (6/10)

Triple-Threat Unified Tag Team Championship Match
Carlito & Primo (Champions) vs. Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase vs. Edge & Chris Jericho
Originally, it was just meant to be the Colons vs. Legacy. Then due to the `ho-hum' Teddy Long-probation angle, Edge and Jericho got added to the mix. Can't say I understand why, really. As it's mostly just Carlito, Primo, Rhodes & DiBiase carrying the match with some decent stuff, and Edge and Jericho doing everything to get in and not being allowed to do so until the very end. Could understand the story they were telling, but it would've been better off if it'd just been the Colons vs. Legacy as originally advertised. The abrupt ending of the Jericho/Edge partnership makes the outcome all the more redundant. (6/10)

WWE Women's Championship Match
Melina (Champion) vs. Michelle McCool (w/Alicia Fox)
Michelle had really improved over the years and was finally starting to show some character. She really demonstrates some quality offence here against Melina (who sells the leg injury convincingly as McCool works on it throughout). A fine, if unspectacular match, due to the methodical pacing and McCool's lack of charisma. Their Night of Champions bout is MUCH MORE thrilling, but this is worth checking out for the victor. (5/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Match
CM Punk (Champion) vs. Jeff Hardy
What can I say? This was - BEYOND DISPUTE - the best feud out of all 2009. From start-to-finish, the pacing, match build-ups and pay offs were all masterfully executed and turned both talents into two bonafide, main-event successes. At this stage, Jeff and Punk were trying to establish an in-ring chemistry and this match served storyline purposes more than anything else. Still, it's a good offering and the finish and aftermath are really engrossing to behold. Has to be watched in order to see Hardy and Punk's characters (and the feud) develop so skilfully. (7/10)

John Cena vs. The Miz
The hype for this one was absolutely fantastic. Miz was finally getting noticed and an actual match with the biggest name in WWE today could've put him over the top much sooner. But instead of getting (what could've been) a brilliant bout, we have a squash that essentially buried the Miz and just gave Cena's detractors more reason to criticise him. The thing is, there's some good psychology from Cena at the start, and Miz does actually get some offence in. Then the story stupidly ends way too prematurely, making this just a waste of time. (5/10)

Three-Stages-Of-Hell WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton (Champion) vs. Triple H
This kind of gimmick has made for some absolute classics in the past (i.e. Stone Cold vs. HHH at No Way Out 2001), so it seemed a natural for the Orton/HHH feud. Straight-wrestling, falls-count-anywhere and stretcher match are the components for this main-event, and it might has well have been just a stretcher-match, given that the first two falls are only used to give Triple H the advantage (albeit creatively). Randy and Hunter have wrestled much better matches in the past, but this is nonetheless a good main-event due to the arena-wide brawling, good use of the stretcher, Legacy's interference and some surprises at the end. (8/10)

One measly extra - a backstage segment between Mark Henry & Tony Atlas (ho-hum) - is hardly enough to help The Bash's minimal appeal. Needless to say, the Intercontinental Title match is unmissable, and there's other material that's worth watching, but you can easily take this or leave it. No more Bashes, and like most of them...`meh."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Rae (canterbury, kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
My son loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] (DVD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD]
WWE - The Bash 2009 [DVD] by Jeff Hardy (DVD - 2009)
£4.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews