Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime (but don't bother with the deluxe version)
I was wary at first about buying this at first, because with the greatest of respect, I thought it was going to be like one of my Mums' overtly arch Catholic dreary religous CDs. I was wrong, it is nice to see the Vatican embrace the 21st century for a change, as the music draws on the churches Islamic and middle eastern roots. What is produced is music of great beauty...
Published on 8 Dec. 2009 by gaelforce10

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique Spiritual Journey
Its easy enough to review this as saying how holy it is but whatever I found this for a quid in a CExchange shop and unlike the sleeve here its full of stickers seeing as it came from a library sale and with the official sticker describing the contents it left me just enough room to add a Parental Guidance one.
You gotta have a sense of humour!
Published 23 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime (but don't bother with the deluxe version), 8 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
I was wary at first about buying this at first, because with the greatest of respect, I thought it was going to be like one of my Mums' overtly arch Catholic dreary religous CDs. I was wrong, it is nice to see the Vatican embrace the 21st century for a change, as the music draws on the churches Islamic and middle eastern roots. What is produced is music of great beauty. It is not Christmas Music and it has nothing to do with Christmas, despite the timing of the CD release.

Whatever ones religous affilation this is music that uplifts, and in a world of present day strife this is musical balm to the soul.

Don't bother with the deluxe version, because the DVD isn't worth the extra cost, very dissapointing, a mere 22 min skimmed over documentary of the making of the album. The people interviewed focus completely on the music, the significance of the meaning behind the chants is lost on them, they clearly don't understaand what they're dealing with here. To them it's just nice music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIFT FROM MATTHEW, 28 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
My lovely Son-in-Law gave me Alma Mater (Soul Mother) for Christmas. I love classical music and Gregorian chants so this is a wonderful find. Whether he knew the depth of beauty and love the music evokes I do not know, but I am delighted he chose it. This lovely compilation soothes the soul and with your eyes closed you can be transported to the Vatican itself. Wonderfully meditative music. Highly recommended and a must for your classical collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alma Mater (Great Mother) review, 3 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
This is just fabulously gentle relaxing music - as the booklet inside describes:-
"Listen to it in the morning and its a tonic that fills you with courage and serenity; during the day its a travelling companion that whispers good thoughts to keep you on the right track; and in the evening its a sweet song thats sets the heart at rest with its embrace of wise words and intense melodies. Its a gift of which we can say without hesitation: 'Thank You!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spritually Beautiful, 1 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
Alma Mater (Great Mother) celebrates the veneration of the Virgin Mary, with the spoken words and Marian chants by Pope Benedict XVI. together with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and The Vatican Choir, this is spiritually enlightening music that is just right for a relaxing festive season and beyond.
The titles of the 8 compositions says it all...

Holy Mother of God
Mother of the Church
Our Advocate
You are Blessed
Cause of Our Joy
Mary Help of Christians
Queen of Heaven
Our Teacher

All beatifully performed, to bring out the very essence of Faith for the 'Great Mother'
As the Pope himself said once
"The singing of the Church comes ultimately out of love. It is the utter depth of love that produces the singing"

Enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heavenly choir, 15 April 2010
By 
Peter I. Robbins "Russkie" (near Baldock, North Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
The quality of the singing is superb, but it is the choice of music which is unexpected and interesting.
One might have expected plainsong and 18th century polyphony, but some of the items are a skilful blend of both.
An unusual and pleasing record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bountiful Holy Father, 2 Dec. 2009
By 
starquester (forest of dean) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
What a gift this album is. The Holy Father has seen fit to bestow a sublime early christmas present on the faithful. This original and heartfelt work reacquaints us with the true meaning of Christmas. But please don't think that this wonderful tribute to the almighty is just for the festive period. This soaring, magisterial piece of art will provide solace for all right through the year.For people of all faiths this is something that will emphasise the common humanity of the dwellers of earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 28 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
This sounds like a calming, festive album from the samples I have heard on the radio and TV.

I am not normally a big classical music fan but I will definitely be buying it to have on at home this winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the music and the beautiful voice and prayers of His Holiness the Emeritus Pope ..., 16 Jun. 2015
By 
Pedro de salter Cid (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
Thought it was not a surprise, the music and the beautiful voice and prayers of His Holiness the Emeritus Pope Benedict XVI is something that always strikes you and falls deep in our souls, making us feel the love of God and the love of the Virgin Mary.
It is a remarkable work, allow us to listen where ever and whenever we feel need of praying and to be close to God almighty and His love and care for us all.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cd, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. C. Abbott (blackpool uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
i have really enjoyed the music on this cd and with the voice of pope benedict it is a very relaxing cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A unique Spiritual Journey, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI (Audio CD)
Its easy enough to review this as saying how holy it is but whatever I found this for a quid in a CExchange shop and unlike the sleeve here its full of stickers seeing as it came from a library sale and with the official sticker describing the contents it left me just enough room to add a Parental Guidance one.
You gotta have a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI
Alma Mater Featuring the Voice of Pope Benedict XVI by Music From The Vatican (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews