Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2007
2 CDs with good recordings of 36 gentle classical tracks of varying styles which come nicely packaged with background information about all the music. A lot of the music can be found on similar compilations, however the tracks on this album are often slightly shortened versions which do not compromise the music and have the advantage of using less hard disk space if converting to MP3. With Windows Media Player 11 a lot of detail is added under track title which is helpful but frustratingly composer is placed under contributing artist instead of the performer.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2003
There are lots of these "relaxing classics" albums around at the moment and they can all seem identical.
Already owning most of Classic FM's back catalogue in the "relax with..." series as well as several others, it might seem strange to buy yet another compilation album, but there are some absolute "must have" tracks on this collection that are hard to find elsewhere (Delibes' Flower Duet, Gorecki's 3rd Symphony, Pook, Massenet, and so on)
So, if you just want to own one collection of relaxing tracks - keep looking around, get the mix of tracks that suits you best. BUT, if you want to round off a collection with some truly lovely and hard-to-find tracks or just want a slightly more "off the beaten track" selection, then it's time to reach for that credit card!
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
Of all the multitudes of classical compilation, this one stands out by far. The selection covers every possible taste and mood, and is the only Classical CD that I would want in my car!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
This selection is really little different to many others on the market, recording quality is iffy in places. For the money it is not a bad buy for a CD to play on car journeys.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
While there are some lovely pieces of music on these CDs they don't match the titles. When I bought this 2-set CD I thought that maybe I had received Vol2. or something by mistake as none of the tracks match the information on the CD insert. I decided to check by listening to the samples here on Amazon & discovered that they too are incorrect. Just to ensure I wasn't going mad I found the CD set on a US website and listened to their samples & they were correct!!! I wish someone could explain.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
This is a very lovely cd, it is so relaxing, all the songs are good. My daughter asked me to turn it off one morning as it was making her feel like going back to sleep instead of getting up. It would be great for insomniacs! highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
This is a mixed album of classical music and most of these pieces will be very familiar to most people as its all the very big composers, Mozart, Chopin, Bach etc. It is a very chilling album for unwinding or having a bath or when you want to slow down. None of the pieces included are jarring on the ears and they blend and are mixed very well. It was a steal for the price too as its a double album. Its also great for those times when you want background music rather than silence because you need to concentrate but not really listen. It is so soothing and I really love it. There is also a 2nd album in the series and that's ace as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Great CD, all the familiar relaxing classical songs from adverts etc. Good value. The sound is nice and even so you don't have to keep adjusting the volume.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
much 'relaxing' classical music is depressing, overly centimental or dominated by one style eg. Mozart - However this collection is a stunning exception - I am a classical music buff but if you left me on a dessert island with only one cd - this would be it - really really really handpicked choones from composers at different times, from different places. I had to buy a 2nd copy because my 1st cd seemed to delaminate - the fact that I must have listened to it several hundered times probably wore it out. Try to look for the 4 CD limited edition and dont be tempted by lookalikes - go for the real thing.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Love this CD I have to put it on random now because I`m usually fast asleep by no 4 on the CD, brilliant to help you relax.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)