Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Classical Compilation Album
2 CDs with good recordings of 36 gentle classical tracks of varying styles which come nicely packaged with background information about all the music. A lot of the music can be found on similar compilations, however the tracks on this album are often slightly shortened versions which do not compromise the music and have the advantage of using less hard disk space if...
Published on 11 Feb 2007 by John R. Murdoch

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mix-up....
While there are some lovely pieces of music on these CDs they don't match the titles. When I bought this 2-set CD I thought that maybe I had received Vol2. or something by mistake as none of the tracks match the information on the CD insert. I decided to check by listening to the samples here on Amazon & discovered that they too are incorrect. Just to ensure I wasn't...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Classical Compilation Album, 11 Feb 2007
By 
John R. Murdoch (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
2 CDs with good recordings of 36 gentle classical tracks of varying styles which come nicely packaged with background information about all the music. A lot of the music can be found on similar compilations, however the tracks on this album are often slightly shortened versions which do not compromise the music and have the advantage of using less hard disk space if converting to MP3. With Windows Media Player 11 a lot of detail is added under track title which is helpful but frustratingly composer is placed under contributing artist instead of the performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection, but shop around, 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are lots of these "relaxing classics" albums around at the moment and they can all seem identical.
Already owning most of Classic FM's back catalogue in the "relax with..." series as well as several others, it might seem strange to buy yet another compilation album, but there are some absolute "must have" tracks on this collection that are hard to find elsewhere (Delibes' Flower Duet, Gorecki's 3rd Symphony, Pook, Massenet, and so on)
So, if you just want to own one collection of relaxing tracks - keep looking around, get the mix of tracks that suits you best. BUT, if you want to round off a collection with some truly lovely and hard-to-find tracks or just want a slightly more "off the beaten track" selection, then it's time to reach for that credit card!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best Classical Compilations ever., 10 Mar 2002
By 
Of all the multitudes of classical compilation, this one stands out by far. The selection covers every possible taste and mood, and is the only Classical CD that I would want in my car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mix-up...., 23 Oct 2007
While there are some lovely pieces of music on these CDs they don't match the titles. When I bought this 2-set CD I thought that maybe I had received Vol2. or something by mistake as none of the tracks match the information on the CD insert. I decided to check by listening to the samples here on Amazon & discovered that they too are incorrect. Just to ensure I wasn't going mad I found the CD set on a US website and listened to their samples & they were correct!!! I wish someone could explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classical Music compendium, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Maxigriff (Winchester, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This selection is really little different to many others on the market, recording quality is iffy in places. For the money it is not a bad buy for a CD to play on car journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chill out, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this CD I have to put it on random now because I`m usually fast asleep by no 4 on the CD, brilliant to help you relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely relaxing cd with wonderful songs, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very lovely cd, it is so relaxing, all the songs are good. My daughter asked me to turn it off one morning as it was making her feel like going back to sleep instead of getting up. It would be great for insomniacs! highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the classics (excuse the pun), 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD, all the familiar relaxing classical songs from adverts etc. Good value. The sound is nice and even so you don't have to keep adjusting the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..the original and still the best, 11 Feb 2006
By A Customer
much 'relaxing' classical music is depressing, overly centimental or dominated by one style eg. Mozart - However this collection is a stunning exception - I am a classical music buff but if you left me on a dessert island with only one cd - this would be it - really really really handpicked choones from composers at different times, from different places. I had to buy a 2nd copy because my 1st cd seemed to delaminate - the fact that I must have listened to it several hundered times probably wore it out. Try to look for the 4 CD limited edition and dont be tempted by lookalikes - go for the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely very relaxing!, 16 May 2000
By A Customer
The music on this CD is pleasant to listen to, and the pieces are played so gently that you start to drift of to sleep sometimes! Several of the tracks are easily recognisable 'favorites' and it's the best classical CD that I've listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews