Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stopped nasty bikethieves
At the time of writing i'm pretty chuffed with this particular purchase because someone tried to nick my mountain bike. The combination lock (with all numbers on) had obviously confused the tiny minded miscreant to the point where they became less enthusiastic about trying to take the bike and decided to stamp the rear wheel into an interesting new shape instead. Who...
Published 19 months ago by Ted

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bike not stolen yet!
Quick delivery as always. The lock itself is fine and is a good length and sturdy, but the fixing ring that is supplied so it can be clipped onto the bike frame is very poor quality. When fixing the ring to my bike frame the screw went through the thin plastic of the ring, making it unusable. It is not a big deal as the lock coils nice and tight at the moment so I just...
Published 21 months ago by Daz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stopped nasty bikethieves, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
At the time of writing i'm pretty chuffed with this particular purchase because someone tried to nick my mountain bike. The combination lock (with all numbers on) had obviously confused the tiny minded miscreant to the point where they became less enthusiastic about trying to take the bike and decided to stamp the rear wheel into an interesting new shape instead. Who knows why people do this? Misdirected sexual tension perhaps, or an inability to cope with the stress of having to find the remote when Jeremy Kyle is on tv.. I guess we'll never know for sure. But i do know that this little lock stood up to a beating and my bike was still there. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars combination bike lock, 1 May 2012
By 
MelanieG (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
Good value and speedy delivery. Excellent quality lock - extremely tough and very user-friendly. Have also used several of these locks on our farm gates for about 5 years and they're still working well after severe winters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a lock, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
isis 1958 (Pendle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
It's a lock.

It seems sturdy enough, and it also looks sturdy enough to deter a casual thief.

Mechanism easy enough to set.

Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bike not stolen yet!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
Quick delivery as always. The lock itself is fine and is a good length and sturdy, but the fixing ring that is supplied so it can be clipped onto the bike frame is very poor quality. When fixing the ring to my bike frame the screw went through the thin plastic of the ring, making it unusable. It is not a big deal as the lock coils nice and tight at the moment so I just coil it round the frame (like I used to when I was a kid).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
Considering it's a very cheap product, does the job perfectly well.
Important to be able to change the combination and this lock lets you do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
For the money a sturdy lock, just what I was after, exactly as described, arrived very quickly, all very ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bike got stolen near Bunhill Row, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
Well... this Item was supposed to keep my bike safe ... all I can say is that my bike got stolen today in central London... from the damage to the lock it looks like it was hardly difficult for the thieves (a bunch of kids which I saw) to snip right through the bike lock.

I can only recommend to any bike owner to invest in a proper lock to keep his bike safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop to the shops, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
If you are looking for a heavy duty lock to protect your pride and joy and it's going to be outside all day or night then look elsewhere.

If you are trying to thwart a thief with a pair of decent bolt cutters, this type of lock is useless - it's really just a deterent for oppurtunist while you pop to the shops or similar.

I bought this lock to use with a pram - those things are expensive and proving popular to steal - this is perfect for that since most of the time it's locked indoors - it's just to stop oppurtunists at the cafe or doctors office.

It has a 10 digit combination that you can reset, the bracket is a bit useless but it's not so heavy or bulky you can't just wrap it around the frame (or carry in a bag if you have one)

So even though this lock isn't heavy duty - it gets 5 stars from me because for the price it does exactly what it's supposed to - deter opportunists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easily cut through, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
My bike was stolen within three weeks of being locked up with this lock in the early evening on what would have been a busy street, the lock was cut straight through and I think must have been quick seeing as there were people around. I was surprised because I didn't think my bike was even worth stealing! Do not use this lock if bike thefts are common in your area. Also the bracket that came with it was such a faff I didn't bother using it but it was very easy to change the code to something you could remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice & sturdy, 6 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metalock Metalock Coil Combination Lock 180 cm x 10 mm (Sports)
Nice and sturdy lock, large easy to use dials (good for when your hands are cold), can set your own combination. Only negative point is the attachment bracket is a bit useless. The plastic is a bit too soft and it's not good fit meaning that it's difficult to attach the lock on it and can't be entirely sure that it's snapped on properly (i.e. might fall off while riding). Not a major issue for me though as I wrap the lock on the bike anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews