Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Waltz Dream with Love and Laughter
As there isn't one, I will provide a Product Description:
You are most cordially invited to a wedding celebration concert with André Rieu in one of the most beautiful opera houses in the world, the famous Semper Opera in Dresden. The staging is truly sumptuous with the dancers performing on a raised ballroom above the orchestra. The gowns of the sopranos are...
Published on 19 Jan 2010 by Angela

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera DVD
Perfectly organised - as always - but we do prefer the more intimate - and slightly less formal - presentations (the Dublin one in particular!).
The Andre Rieu concerts are always enjoyable nonetheless.
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by Irene P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Waltz Dream with Love and Laughter, 19 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As there isn't one, I will provide a Product Description:
You are most cordially invited to a wedding celebration concert with André Rieu in one of the most beautiful opera houses in the world, the famous Semper Opera in Dresden. The staging is truly sumptuous with the dancers performing on a raised ballroom above the orchestra. The gowns of the sopranos are the most lavish imaginable.

As well as the charming bride and bridegroom of this joyous occasion, there are 40 more fabulous pairs of dancers from the famous Vienna Debutantes of the Elmayer Dance School in Vienna. Together with the beautiful sopranos Mirusia Louwerse and Carmen Monarcha, the handsome Dutch tenor Morschi Franz, the bombastic Platinum Tenors, the Johann Strauss Orchestra and the inspirational direction of André Rieu. English subtitles available for the linking introductions. There are the comic moments, the encores and the lively finale we have come to expect from Andre and the JLO.

André Rieu and his Johann Strauss Orchestra have performed throughout Europe, in North America, Japan and Australia. They have won a number of awards including two World Music Awards and have recordings that have gone Gold and Platinum in many countries around the world. André Rieu plays a 1667 Stradivarius. His repertoire includes a wide range of classical music as well as popular and folk music plus music from famous motion picture sound tracks and theatre musicals. His lively and colourful orchestral presentations have attracted worldwide audiences to classical music.

1. Wiener Melange
2. The Wedding March
3. Hoch Sollen Sie Leben
4. Vienna Blood
5. Plaisir d'Amour
6. Figaro Cavatina
7. Dancing Through The Skies
8. E Lucevan Le Stelle
9. I'm Off To Chez Maxim
10. Espana Cani
11. I Hear The Sound of Cymbals
12. Wer Uns Getraut
13. You and You Waltz (Du Und Du)
14. Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again
15. All I Ask of You
16. The Beautiful Blue Danube
17. Radetzky March
18. Strauss & Co.
19. Adieu, Little Captain of My Heart
20. Dancing Through The Skies II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu.Live in DresdonWedding at the Opera, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Jean Shergold (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD is the very best of Andre Rieu so far;so happy it makes you play, and keep playing it......EXERLENT !)
LOVE IT LOVE IT.I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO PEOPLE WHO LIKE GREAT TUNES.

fast posting will and well delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music with the "Feel Good" factor, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Alan Ayres "Alan Ayres" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have purchased several DVD's of Andre Rieu from Amazon, and his orchestra gives me hours of pleasure. They are not just music, but super productions. Guess I will be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful show., 6 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is another must watch DVD of Andre Rieu.
Superb entertainment and how wonderfully happy everyone looks from the orchestra, singers and indeed the audience.
Andre Rieu brings his enjoyment of music to everyone, it is totally captive and entrancing.
This is feel good factor entertainment - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live in Dresden, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Once again a most enjoyable concert and so differant combining beautiful music with some humour thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rieufan, 10 Jan 2010
By 
R. Goodhew "musiclover" (london borough of bromley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of Andre Rieu's better concerts with less emphasise on crocodile tears stage managed sickly audience participation.Well worth the money I paid, totally enjoyed the concert but did miss Carla and Susan his resident singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Sadly we have this item already but under a different name. but we watched it anyway as Andre is brilliant. As usual it was delightful lovely music and such a cheery orchestra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu, 17 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A lovely DVD with all his usual beautifull music and dancing. An usual format of a wedding party but is well worth buying as it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Cant buy Ahdre Rieu dvds in England
Seems i have bought about six now from Amazon
Well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anothert excellent D.V.D., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Dresden: Wedding at the Opera [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i can find no fault with any of the D.V.D. i have bought of Andre. He always has the music to lift the spirits when you are feeling down. Wish he would come to Aberdeen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews