Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL
If you have been a fan of Yello over the last 30 years, then this album will be a welcome listen. Rich warm swirling electronic sounds with the traditional deep base lines and the added smooth trumpet of Till Bronner. Millionaire ex-professional golfer and entrepeneur Dieter Meier does not dissapoint with his familiar soothing voice and the humour of Boris Blank gently...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Skylord

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather safe (and slightly tired). Yello try Jazz and Muzak!
As a fan of all their albums to date (bar maybe Pocket Universe, as that was a little too far removed from expectations) a new release by the duo (plus inevitable guests) is always a welcomed event.

However something doesn't quite kick in with this album, whether it be the quirky catchy songs like "Expert" or the tracks dominated by guest appearances. Much as...
Published on 15 Jan. 2010 by M. B. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL, 18 May 2010
By 
Skylord (Somerset, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
If you have been a fan of Yello over the last 30 years, then this album will be a welcome listen. Rich warm swirling electronic sounds with the traditional deep base lines and the added smooth trumpet of Till Bronner. Millionaire ex-professional golfer and entrepeneur Dieter Meier does not dissapoint with his familiar soothing voice and the humour of Boris Blank gently simmering in the background provides a smile. The Duo have matured like a good bottle of Claret with a polished and refined Swiss production. Welcome back old men - see you in Las Vegas 2015!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
If you like Yello's music then you'll love this!
Me & my Mrs had this playing 1 night while lay on sunbeds in the back garden with a fire burning & it was perfect!
'Stay' is now 1 of my fave tunes ever!
Like other reviewers have asked - come on Yello, give us a tour!
It's a shame Billy isn't still around to put his vocals on this album too!
R.I.P pal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the difference., 5 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Touch Yello -CD+DVD- (Audio CD)
For those that enjoyed Touch and its simply stunning production values, then this actually is a definite 'must have',
if only for the bonus tracks on the audio cd.
The final six tracks take the meaning of production and mastering to a whole new level.
These are not clever 're-masters' but complete re visits to some old classics and new material from 'Touch'
The version of The Race (X Race - track fifteen) is utterly sublime, and at a much slower pace than ever before.
Oh Yeah is again cleverly re done in a different style.
Bostich makes up the final track from the back catalogue.
The remaining tracks are basically re visits to some from the Touch album. Be prepared for some serious bass, of the floor shaking variety.
Scorpio Rising will literally have the hairs rising on the back of the neck.
It begs the question - if these guys can produce and master something like this so well, why on earth are there SO many bad / rubbish ones constantly released?
No loudness wars here, just real dynamic range.
The DVD is great fun and is the 'virtual concert' ie - digital rendition of presumably what they hope to achieve in a show in Vegas (so I have read) sometime in the future.
Now that would be a show worth going to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yello at their best as usual., 11 Jun. 2010
By 
Paul Segieth (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
Yet another superb album. I just wish they would do a tour and release albums on a more regular basis. 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more then a bit surprised, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Yello -CD+DVD- (Audio CD)
It is funny really. It has taken me nearly 3 years to get this. I didnt really like The eye, I felt it was a bit safe and unsurprising, so when this came out I felt it wasnt worth getting. How wrong can I get. This has pretty much every kind of music in it. You have chill out, jazz, house, ambient. It reminded me of St germain in parts and that is great. these two have now been going on for over 30 years and they have had a lot of peaks and troughs. This is definitely a peak. On the same as Zebra, stella and sold pleasure. Well done my swiz friends. Keep those surprises coming. I will look forward to the next one around 2015
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric connoisseurs of impeccable sound, 26 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
This unique duo of stylish, multi-faceted personalities, Dieter Meier and Boris Blank are, to lend a quote from the opening track, Experts in the game.

Theirs has always been a world of its own, leaving little space for imitation or wider musical following. Where some acts opened doors to an entirely new space in electronic music ready to be filled in and developed by others, Yello has always stood alone, on top of their own mountain with no space for others. Just as it is impossible to copy vintage wine, their world shares similar rare qualities that feel uniquely rewarding.

Touch Yello is no different. Saying Boris Blank's instrumentation and music production are flawless would be stating the obvious. His tracks range in mood from mysteriously playful, to nocturnal and cool, from razor sharp to soothing and moving. On the whole the album has a more loungey feel.

The guest singers bring extra colour and warmth, especially Heidi Happy, whose penetrating and soothing voice in tracks 2 and 12 weaves through the tracks beautifully and has the capacity to seamlessly move.

It's incredible to consider the range of styles Boris Blank can pull off and still sound unmistakably Yello.

Some tracks manage to pass by, creating great background accompaniment, but others hit directly home with their sheer beauty and elegance.

Tracks of note would be 1. The Expert - elegant and suave, perfectly sums up the duo.

2. You Better Hide (with Heidi Happy) - a surprisingly beautiful and heartbreaking plead. Masters at work here.

3. Out Of Dawn - Dieter Meier's trademark voice on top of nocturnal latin rhythms.

5. Till Tomorrow - an echoey, jazzy instrumental, with muffled trumpet warming up the room.

10. Vertical Vision - another, slightly more sinister instrumental, which could make great stage music.

11. Trackless Deep - catchy memories of a great summer holiday in tones and lyrics, tropical rhythms, blue ocean, breezy beaches and coconuts, surprisingly keeping the overall mood undisturbed.

12. Stay (with Heidi Happy) - in my opinion an absolute jewel in the crown of this album. Touchingly open lyrics, beautifully produced with minimal sparks and light touches, unassuming and almost hidden among the other tracks. Heidi Happy's voice penetrates right into the heart, and her plead touches the sensitive side, it's all done in 3:03 minutes. Rarely can such little time create so much response these days. This track alone would carry the album far enough for me.

14. Takla Makan (with Dorothee Oberlinger) - the closing track is an exotic instrumental, evokative of the night in the desert [edit: excuse my ignorance, Takla Makan is a desert in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region of the People's Republic of China, thanks for correcting], cinematic in its feel, enhancing the night mood.

Despite the few unnecessary "passing by" tracks, it's an absolute 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touch by YELLO is exceptional., 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
An absolute gem from YELLO is Touch;well worth the price of admission. Superb sound quality(played on my Marantz CD7 player). I believe any high quality audio system will highlight the exceptional quality of this release.This cd has superbly clear & clean textures, no edge to the sound. A very open and dimensional sound field populated by wonderful effects and the contributions of some very talented musicians. Technically and musically brilliant. Immersive and throughally enjoyable. I thank YELLO for this wonderful release.YELLO you have set a benchmark for quality! A highly recommended release that rewards with repeated listening. William
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yello Back with a slicker and more polished sound, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Mark R. Nolan "mark robert nolan" (Manchester City Centre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Touch (Audio CD)
I can't agree with the previous review. The new album is, to me at least, slicker than "The Eye", Yello's previous offering from 2003. Whilst the formula again includes the usual Dada influenced madness coupled with excellent electronic flourishes, along with some fantactic guest vocal performances, this time in the shape of Hiedi Happy and Boris Blank himself (could he sound more tuneful, if less crazy than Dieter...?)the production appears to be even more polished if a little more down beat than "The Eye". I would consider it a polar opposite to "Pocket Universe" which I also loved because I am (and was even more so at the time,) a lover of european techno music. In fact its a little closer to Sade than Yello have ever been before.

The trumpet sounds come from Till Bronner who contributes extensively to the slick sound, as does Dorothee Oberlinger with her excellent flute solos. For long standing fans, Yello have decided to revist their classic mad dance hit "Bostich" and whilst it still has elements of the original, it is the only real filler here, for me.

For those fans who still love Yello because of their awe inspiring soundscapes, you will not be disappointed. The closing track is "Takla Makan" and reminds you just how atmospheric Yello's music can be.

If you are a fan you will love this album and it repays repeated listening. If you are casual fan but want to try some pure Yello product then can I suggest that you try "One Second" or "Baby" as they are probably more accessible. That is not to say that "Touch Yello" is not accessible, its perhaps not the most representative of their material in that whilst excellent, it turns the pure Yello 'bonkers' button down a little. Still very much a work to be proud of and has quickly become a favourite amongst friends who know little about their music. Its just a shame there has been no proper UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. James A. Long "Jimbo's Lair" (Blackpool,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Yello -CD+DVD- (Audio CD)
This has to be one of Yello's best albums ....So good I bought it twice....I got the single disc, then after seeing this special edition with bonus tracks plus a dvd ...Well - I just couldn't resist . The production values as ever are amazing & crystal clear. A bit extra cost, but , worth it ? .....Oh Yeah !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great product!, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Yello -CD+DVD- (Audio CD)
A great album! Dieter Meier and Boris Blank great job. This album was recorded with a touch of retro. Look virtual concert, Dieter Meier and Boris Blank in great shape. Stunningly beautiful Heidi Happy. Excellent sound. I expect these guys new album (CD + DVD). Thanks for the gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touch
Touch by Yello (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews