Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain package
Let me be up front about this - I love Red Dwarf, even the last couple of series had their share of great moments. So the chance of replacing all the VHS sets (that took up a whole book shelf) with a box set no larger than a 3xVHS box was irresistable. And it does what it says on the box - it's just the shows! Of course I would like to see the extras, but at my age with...
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by Pieter Hounslow

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, poor screen resolution on DVD.
A good price, but the transfer process hasn't been kind. the first four series especially are pretty poor quality visually, very pixelated and blurred. For me it detracted from my enjoyment, but conversely my son aged 11, thought it added to the 'spacey atmosphere' so there you go. If you're expecting nice clear DVD /HD quality you'll be disappointed. Show is still as...
Published 3 months ago by Mark Davies


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain package, 29 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Let me be up front about this - I love Red Dwarf, even the last couple of series had their share of great moments. So the chance of replacing all the VHS sets (that took up a whole book shelf) with a box set no larger than a 3xVHS box was irresistable. And it does what it says on the box - it's just the shows! Of course I would like to see the extras, but at my age with two young kids I don't know when I'd ever have time to watch them. And the shows themselves are great and it's good to have them on a digital format now. So for the sake of space and economy I was very happy to buy this package and get exactly what I expected/wanted:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What It Says On the Box.., 8 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
All the Episodes from ALL Series of Red Dwarf. I had all the series on VHS and now replaced with this DVD collection.

Red Dwarf - Just the Shows is ideal for ANYONE with a good sense of humour. TIMELESS Fun... I was addicted to this series when the first episode "The End" was first shown on TV in the late 1980's. I can watch it over and over again and never get bored and much like Black Adder in life there is always the opportunity to quote lines from the show...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking value for money, wonderful first six series..., 23 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Having grown up watching the mid-series (IV, V and VI) in the early nineties on the BBC, I picked this box set up having foolishly lent all my individual series remasters to someone from uni I haven't seen since.

Presentation is a bit grotty and cheap looking in regards to the title menus, but that's totally acceptable at the price. It was quite refreshing to watch the original transfers, it certainly added to the charm knowing you're watching the 'original' cuts.

As a brief rundown of the quality of the series, they follow a trajectory moving from character comedy more into situational comedy as more money was made available. Series 1 and 2 focus more on close knit character humour (with brilliant writing for the burgeoning relationship between Lister and Rimmer, especially in the fantastic 'Thanks for the Memory'), through series 3 and 4 where the concepts and ideas began to be developed a bit more as Starbug allowed travel to other settings (plus, pleasingly, character development of the Cat from marginal - I'd forgotten quite how marginal in the first series - to a major player, along with the welcome addition of Kryten).

I personally feel RD peaked in series V and VI, where the writing was sharp as a tack and some of the ideas and settings fantastic. All 4 characters are well developed and there is a brilliant 'cockpit' dynamic with quick pacing and superb banter between all. Hardly a dud episode in those 2 series, but many classics, Quarantine, Back to Reality, Legion and Gunmen of the Apocalypse probably the best.

To be honest, upon recent rewatching, it struck me quite how atrocious series VII and VIII are. Series VII has some nice conceptual ideas, for example in Tikka to Ride, the season opener, but the humour once Rimmer departs is very flat and Kryten goes from being wonderfully dry and cynical in the preceding 2 series (I feel he owns Series V) to some squeaky, irritating and frankly irrational character who seems to suffer from a complete personality reset and emerges wholly unfunny and quite embarrassing. Kochanski tries her hardest, but the cast are working with substandard material and it shows. Season VIII suffers similarly, although Chris Barrie is back (which saves it from being a complete car crash). Some of the episodes in Season VII and VIII are utterly dire, so be warned.

High Points: Future Echoes, Thanks for the Memory, Queeg, Marooned, The Last Day, Justice, Most of Series V and VI
Low Points: Series VII and VIII almost without exception, sadly (Tikka to Ride and Cassandra can make a case). A couple of duds from the earlier series like Body Swap and DNA which whilst not being atrocious, aren't up to the high standards of that around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans will love it!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This package is exactly what it claims to be. Nothing more and nothing less...just the shows. Quality is excellent and real value for money! If you are a fan of Red Dwarf like me and want to revisit the series I can't think of a better way to do it. The dry wit and wonderful characterizations are always evident and because the sets were always intended to look tacky if will never date. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Both Just the Shows: Bery Vanilla, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I assume you know what Red Dwarf is if you are looking at getting this so i'll forgo a story explantation.

Just the Shows contains the 52 shows from the first 8 seasons of Red Dwarf and combines Jest the Shows 1 & 2. The episodes are the original unremastered edits so there are some errors on the transfers of the earlier episodes which include warping and lines. These are for the most part only to be expected for such an old program.

The remastered versions of the earlier episodes had them cut down to 16:9 and lost much of the frame. It's good to see the whole frame even though there are black bars on a widescreen monitor. These transfer includes the original intros and small one liners that were "americanised/internationalised" in some later versions (ie Felicity Kendal's Bottom referenced instead of Marilyn Monroe's).

The only pity is that it does not include the extended and remastered versions from season 7 which were definate inmprovements. It does not have the combined episodes of 8 ie. the 2 shows from 'Pete' combined as on the season 8 dvd. I had some trouble removing them. The whole box is about the size of 4 standard dvd cases back to front.

The box set presentation is good with episodes descriptions and one disc for seasons 1 - 6 and two for 7 and 8. The menu's consist of a main page listing the episodes and subtitle options: on or off. There are also chapters for each episode. These are nice easy menu's that however for navigation and not filled with as much junk as the standard season dvd's

The pictures in the menu are terrible though and i don't know hat they were thinking using them. Something like the bodysnatcher collection might have been better or even the artwork from the original videos.

All in all i'm happy with this. I would have liked however the extended and complete stories from 7 and 8 rather than the original broadcasts. I would have liked better pictures in the menus as well.

Delivery was 1 day earlier than estimated and they arrived in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf. Series 1-8, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Hi , I bought this set for myself to remind me of all the fun I had watching them when I was a teenager . Im 42 now. It's a fantastic set to own at outstanding value . I recommend grabbing some beer one night when the kids have gone to bed and sticking these on. What I really love is the way this iconic comedy evolves from standard early sitcom sets to very cool scenes and effects later in the series .
The jokes , pranks and story lines are timeless. I'm now addicted all over again. I think there is a bit of Dave Lister in all of us. Love it. Great value as stated and prompt delivery. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, poor screen resolution on DVD., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A good price, but the transfer process hasn't been kind. the first four series especially are pretty poor quality visually, very pixelated and blurred. For me it detracted from my enjoyment, but conversely my son aged 11, thought it added to the 'spacey atmosphere' so there you go. If you're expecting nice clear DVD /HD quality you'll be disappointed. Show is still as funny mind you, so if you're a fan wanting to update your VHS to DVD you might not mind.
I am watching on a 48" HDTV, so maybe my expectations have gone up, or maybe it is just poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smeggin' brutal, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The Jupiter Mining Corporation ship "The Red Dwarf" has been drifting in space for 3 million years. It's only inhabitants are Dave Lister, the last remaining human in the universe; Arnold Rimmer, a hologram of his dead bunkmate, a creature that evolved from Dave's pet cat; Kryten, a Series 4000 service mechanoid and Holly, the ship's semi-senile computer.

BBC2's sci-fi comedy first aired in 1988 and has produced some ten series, the most recent of which ran on Dave in 2012. The series is distinguished by it's laddish humour, its almost constant leading cast over it's (so-far) 24 year run and its cheap and cheerful production style. It started off as a somewhat disregarded denizen of BBC2, quickly gained a cult following then sold out to the man and went mainstream, went into suspended animation, returned, jumped the shark, got remastered, went back into stasis and was subsequently revived on a different channel (Dave). Bit of a rollercoaster ride, really.

The format of the show has remained more or less constant as a sitcom revolving around the four main characters (played by Craig Charles, Chris Barrie, Danny John Jules and Robert Llewellyn, with Norman Lovett and Hattie Haydridge both playing Holly) as they bounce off the Red Dwarf's walls and each other, with frequent encounters with aliens, Genetically Engineered Lifeforms (GELFs), rogue simulants, androids of one sort or another and, not infrequently, alternative versions of themselves (the heroic "Ace" Rimmer and the Cat's appalingly uncool alter ego, Duane Dibley being two stand-out examples). The plots are often based around or make sly reference to) well-known movies such as Cassablanca, Alien, Pride and Prejudice, Blade Runner and Robocop. The "science" which drives many of the stories is intentionally laughable drivel and the sets and SFX are, as already mentoned, cheap and cheerful.

This is classic British humour (Men Behaving Badly owes the Dwarfers a fair debt of thanks) untaxing and unsophisticated on the surface but with an undercurrent of complexity, poking fun at lad culture and authority figures with equal abandon. Noel Coward would sneer, but I suspect he would be secretly taking notes.

Series I starts well. Despite being (at the time) a new production, there is nothing tentative about it, the cast seem comfortable in their roles and the storylines are fresh and fun (note, however, that Kryten doesn't join the cast on a permanent basis until SIII). As the cycle progresses through the first few series there is, of course, some "bedding down" and the humour, the format and the characters all develop and mature somewhat, but it is a question of degree. Despite a very few missfires, the SI to SVI will not disappoint (look out for Bodyswap, Backwards and Back to Reality). SVII and SVIII are less well regarded by fans for various reasons; principally the relationship between the two writers, Rob Grant & Doug Naylor, was dissolved at this point and the show's format changed. The character dynamic was badly upset by the introduction of a new permanent character (Chloe Annett as Lister's long-time love interest, Christine Kochanski is a largely unfunny gooseberry) the partial loss of Barrie's Rimmer, the sudden appearance of a much larger supporting cast (in SVIII) and an increasingly confused and over-involved story arc. While SVII is generally acceptable, SVIII is largely awful and worth a miss. No matter - despite these problems, there are many long hours of laughs to be had from this giant of a box-set.

This DVD Box set presents, as advertised, "nothing but the shows" with no extras. It is ONLY the BBC series, i.e. sI-VIII, and in their un-remastered format at that. Indeed it is simply a reboxing, with original packaging, of the two, 4-series box-sets.

As far as the screen-quality is concerned, despite this being the original unremastered format, SI actually looks better than I had expected or remembered. The remastering process may have added some value, but a good deal less than you would have thought and I doubt that you're missing much if anything buying the series in this original format.

Series Listing
==============

Series I (1988)
1 - The End
2 - Future Echoes
3 - Balance of Power
4 - Waiting for God
5 - Confidence and Paranoia
6 - Me2

Series II (1988)
7 - Kryten
8 - Better Than Life
9 - Thanks for the Memory
10 - Stasis Leak
11 - Queeg
12 - Parallel Universe

Red Dwarf III (1989)
13 - Backwards
14 - Marooned
15 - Polymorph
16 - Bodyswap
17 - Timeslides
18 - The Last Day

Red Dwarf IV (1991)
19 - Camille
20 - DNA
21 - Justice
22 - White Hole
23 - Dimension Jump
24 - Meltdown

Red Dwarf V (1992)
25 - Holoship
26 - The Inquisitor
27 - Terrorform
28 - Quarantine
29 - Demons and Angels
30 - Back to Reality

Red Dwarf VI (1993)
31 - Psirens
32 - Legion
33 - Gunmen of the Apocalypse
34 - Emohawk: Polymorph II
35 - Rimmerworld
36 - Out of Time

Red Dwarf VII (1997)
37 - Tikka to Ride
38 - Stoke Me a Clipper
39 - Ouroboros
40 - Duct Soup
41 - Blue
42 - Beyond a Joke
43 - Epideme
44 - Nanarchy

Red Dwarf VIII (1999)
45 - Back in the Red: Part I
46 - Back in the Red: Part II
47 - Back in the Red: Part III
48 - Cassandra
49 - Krytie TV
50 - Pete: Part I
51 - Pete: Part II
52 - Only the Good...

Red Dwarf IX Back To Earth and Red Dwarf X are NOT included in this box set.

Rimmer: Holly, as the Esperantinos would say, "Bonvolu alsendi la pordiston, laushajne estas rano en mia bideo." I think we all know what that means.
Holly: Yeah, it means, "Could you send for the hall porter? There appears to be a frog in my bidet."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf review, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
What a value for money purchase, all the Red Dwarf series for under 20 quid, this is such a giveaway. When I unpacked the DVD's, I felt like I was stealing something, I paid less and I got more. All Red Dwarf fans this is a must buy especially at that price. Thanks Amazon for bringing this wonderful product at a dream price. The DVDs are absolutely and amazingly funny, full of good humour, creative and intelligent, enjoy Holly, Rimmer, Lister and Kryten in all their shows for under 20 quid, Red Dwarf has never been more accessible to everyone. You'd think you are buying stolen goods but you are not, it really has gone down to that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Purchase - Not To Be Missed!!!, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Well what can I say? I ordered this as a treat for myself around a month ago; myself being a huge fan of the show. They're all here; every episode (bar the 'Back to Earth' trilogy) and as usual; the sharp wit and antics of the show, in having all the episodes to watch, has made me fall in love with it all over again.

If you're a fan of Red Dwarf, then it's a serious must have - as it will fail to disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998]
Red Dwarf: Series 1-8 [DVD] [1998] by Chris Barrie (DVD - 2009)
£19.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews