Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Balance of Sound
Two years ago Atreyu released their major label debut `Lead Sails Paper Anchor'. It was an attempt to push their sound in a more accessible direction. It was not received as well as was intended. So for this their fifth studio album Atreyu have taken another look at things. The accessibility is still there in some form but it is balanced by some of the bands earlier...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Toby Staunton

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I understand that bands wish to change their direction after a few albums and this is their fifth studio album now, but this is a whole different genre. This is not Metalcore. If you like atreyu you like metalcore as they are one of the first. I have really liked Atreyu for years but this doesn't fell like them at all, i have a fear this will deal a heavy blow to this...
Published on 3 Nov 2009 by Mr. Aden R. Britton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Balance of Sound, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
Two years ago Atreyu released their major label debut `Lead Sails Paper Anchor'. It was an attempt to push their sound in a more accessible direction. It was not received as well as was intended. So for this their fifth studio album Atreyu have taken another look at things. The accessibility is still there in some form but it is balanced by some of the bands earlier metalcore aggression. The whole thing starts in epic fashion with a riff to die for and rolling aggressive drums supporting some powerful vocals. `Bleeding is a Luxury' is the first track on the album to really show the new balance of sound. The opening riff is accessible and the vocals alternate between aggressive half screams and something all together more open and epic in style. The breakdown towards the end accompanied by some veritably aggressive strings is fantastic. The title track then follows with a style more similar to their 2007 release than anything else. Much of the album though balances the aggressive and epic sounds though. It works particularly well on `Black Days Begin', `Gallows' and `Ravenous'.

The highlight of the album comes with `You Were the King, Now You're Unconscious'. It's the longest track on the album and starts in menacing style with the sound of a mob in the background. The guitars during the verse continue the aggression and menace. The chorus is epic and widescreen in its ambition, and at just over five minutes long it seems somehow restrained, concise and powerful.

There is no messing around on this album. Atreyu know what they want to achieve and they succeed in many respects. This album has the intelligence to balance the two styles effectively. It's a powerful offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast dekivery, great product :), 15 Aug 2010
By 
Devon Butcher (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
the product was dispatches very quick and delivered to me within two days of the dispatch date. I didn't buy the product for myself, i bought it for one of my brothers that wanted it, and he loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, bad packaging, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
The CD was not sealed and already had some scratches on it.
Love the album though. Best Atreyu album next to The Curse in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listening is a Luxury, 16 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
Old school fans gave the last album a kicking for being a departure from earlier roots...an honest musical shift or a cynical grab for mainstream success? Who cares? Stay still you get panned, change you get panned, so ignore all that and listen like you haven't heard them before because this is an awesome album.

It isn't as heavy as they were, it doesn't have the massive song on the radio standout track of the last album and it isn't a mile away from a dozen other bands but...the musicianship is outstanding, the production is great the lyrics are solid.

To my mind it all sounds a bit like early Foo Fighters covering latter day Inflames (at points it really does sound like Inflames) with the vocals pitching between emo-screamo and hardcore-rock.

One other reviewer said `accessible' and I would agree there is no listener challenge here but this is a good thing, they know what they are about... naming a best track is tough but `gallows' is great as is `you were the king..' after half a dozen listens you will be hooked to them all.

A class act that know how to deliver metal with a twist, and will hopefully push themselves further still, that only a few have reviewed this album is a real shame as it deserves more attention. I cant believe the amount of metal snobs there are out there. As a metal fan 4/5 as an Atreyu fan 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Melodic metal at its best., 25 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
I had no idea of who this band was until I read a review in Q in the recent past and decided to investigate it's riches. What a fantastic idea that was!

What's interesting is reading the reviews of this record on Amazon, clearly their roots are in a more hardcore style which seems to have alienated some fans for this record, but I have to say, whatever they were before, they are now exhibiting some fantastic songwriting atributes that were probably drowned in hardcore growls before.

So, for the curious, what we have here is kind of halfway between the Lost Prophets melodic driving rock and the colourful mastery of Mastodon, a very good place to occupy indeed.

As an album it flows superbly from the first track to the last with no duds at all, so those considering downloading individual tracks, stop right there, stump up the cash and treat yourself to a fine rock album! You'll be playing this through time and time again, I can assure you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album, 6 Dec 2009
By 
T. A. Gough - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
Counted down the days b4 the launch of their new album and it was just what I expected. Every track does not disappoint played several times already. Top quality album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
I understand that bands wish to change their direction after a few albums and this is their fifth studio album now, but this is a whole different genre. This is not Metalcore. If you like atreyu you like metalcore as they are one of the first. I have really liked Atreyu for years but this doesn't fell like them at all, i have a fear this will deal a heavy blow to this genre of music that i feel is highly underrated as it is.

Perfect service from Amazon though, top marks for you guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good, but drifted away from hardcore, 27 Oct 2009
By 
J. Bacik (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
Until now it was pleasure to listen to Atreyu albums, but they drifted away from hardcore. This album is even more melodic than previous albums. There is also more singing.

They are still better than many in this genre, but there is something missing.. I could listen to previous albums again and again, and go back to them from time to time - but not this one. They play slower, lighter, there is more melody. But it still sound better than rest, this is why I rated this so high.

And I would recommend it to every melodic-hardcore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avenged Sevenfold?, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: Congregation Of The Damned (Audio CD)
I like everyone else who has written reviews have been a massive fan for years! But stopped listening to them after Lead Sails. Thinking that it must be about time for them to have a new album out I stumbled across this! Listening to the previews of the tracks there does not seem to be much screaming anymore (which was some of the best screaming in the industry in my opinion) and more singing. This isnt a bad thing, but to me on the previews it sounds a bit like Avenged Sevenfold and that isnt a good thing in my books! So I think I will wait for the price to come down or maybe put it at the bottom of my christmas list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Congregation Of The Damned
Congregation Of The Damned by Atreyu (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews