Customer Reviews


391 Reviews
5 star:
 (280)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens protector
Having used this make of filter 30 years before I was pleased to see it still available. The product is well made and a good fit. Delivery was prompt as expected.
Published 14 months ago by Coco

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hoya UV Filter - 67mm
I bought this filter to protect the front element of a new 17-85mm lens on my Canon Eos 500D digital camera. I have used Hoya filters throughout my photographic career which spans 40 years and have always been happy with optical quality, and this example follows the trend. However, when I reviewed my photos later on the computer screen I noted there was some vignetting...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Bald Kiwi


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens protector, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having used this make of filter 30 years before I was pleased to see it still available. The product is well made and a good fit. Delivery was prompt as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product. reasonably priced., 12 Jun 2012
By 
J. Y. Chen "jVc" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for the price, this is a quality product. bought for my canon 24-105mm lens. and have not taken it off since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality at an excellent price, 5 Oct 2011
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hoya filters are excellent, and if you go to their website, you will find that the HMC (Hoya Multi Coated) series are a step up from the "standard" range. It is very easy to pay more than this for a standard filter, so shop around for the HMC level, which reduces the reflection given by the glass.

The visual effect given by a UV filter is very subtle but still clearly visible, especially in sunny landscape shots. They certainly never seem to have an adverse effect, and so are ideal to leave on a lens permanently as a means of protection. If you want to really visibly enhance your outdoor shots, go for a polarising filter, which can be fitted on top of this if you want to, although this might lead to some vignetting on wide angle shots due to the combined length of the rings.

Overall, excellent and convenient lens protection at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hoya UV Filter - 67mm, 6 April 2010
By 
Bald Kiwi (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
I bought this filter to protect the front element of a new 17-85mm lens on my Canon Eos 500D digital camera. I have used Hoya filters throughout my photographic career which spans 40 years and have always been happy with optical quality, and this example follows the trend. However, when I reviewed my photos later on the computer screen I noted there was some vignetting at the 17mm wide angle end of the zoom range. This was not visible in the camera viewfinder. Clearly, this issue would affect any filter fitted to the front of wide angle lenses, especially deeper ones like polarisers, or if you wish to stack more than one filter. Buying "slimline" filters may reduce the problem. Naturally this annoyed me initially until I realised that I composed my shots in the viewfinder and this only shows 95% of the sensor image. A quick crop to remove the outer edge in an image editing program removed the visible vignetting and gave me the original picture I'd photographed. Doing away with the filter is not an option, and I'll put up with the inconvenience rather than risk scratching the front element of a very useful 500 lens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why the big case?, 24 Jun 2012
By 
Toppam (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Workd fine and was exactly right for the job. A good quality product and well worth it for protecting the 300 lens which it lives on. It comes in the same size plastic case as a much larger lens, but as it lives on the lens, so what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I am fairly certain mine was a dud or a fake, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my "unreviewed items" this purchase is showing as made by Hoya, sold and fulfilled by Amazon.

I am fairly certain that mine bought via Amazon, was fulfilled by Amazon but sold by a seller. I have this filter in 58mm, 72mm & 77mm versions and they are fine. This one though I am certain is a dud or a fake. The green reflections even in broad daylight are shocking. Sadly I was in South America at the time and had it delivered to a friend, by the time it had got back to me, it was more than 30 days after my purchase and Amazon wasn't really interested in my objections.

I went back to Amazon to purchase 52mm and another 58mm B+W UV filter.

Buyer beware when buying filters online, check them in different lighting conditions, Hoya UV(C) filters should not have green flares on the images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 10 May 2012
By 
K. Childs (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived well packaged. Quality seems to be good. Very happy with the price and the quality of the product. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great filter!, 20 Oct 2009
By 
M. Witherington "Gadget Freak" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This filter is good, well built and it appears to do its job (protecting the lens)

Pros:
1) Relativly inexpensive
2) Well built.
3) The Hoya web site says this filter has greater than 97% light transmission.
4) Multi coated.

Cons:
None that I can think of.

I will over time be replacing all my lens protection filters with the HMC version as these are a good compromise (cost against quality) between the standard and super HMC filters.

I have not experienced any real problems with his filter but would advise purchasing a thinner filter for wide angle lenses in the long run it's worth the extra cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoya 52mm filter, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Gordon Downie (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to protect my Nikon lens (just in case) as some years ago I ruined an expensive lens with an inadvertent scratch. Cheaper to replace a filter than a lens anytime. Good little unit and does not seem to have affected the lens performance adversely. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I never use a camera without one, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does what it says, - it cuts out UV so reduces haze on pictures. There are many makes and they all work well but Hoya is a well known filter manufacturer and their prices are reasonable so making this one a good choice.
UV filters do not affect the exposure and as well as cutting out UV also protect the front element of the lens from dust, knocks, fingerprints and accidental damage.
A UV filter is always my first purchase for a new camera or lens, - based on the assumption that it is easier and cheaper to replace a filter worth about 10 rather than or lens (or even the whole camera) which could be worth hundreds of .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoya 49mm UV(C) Digital HMC Screw-in Filter
12.38
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews