Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New Start, 15 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
And it was! First came The Jam - one of the UK's greatest singles bands and makers of one of the finest ever period defining albums 'All Mod Cons'. Stood down in their prime, that youthful image of pride and passion cannot be tarnished. Then hot on their heels came the soulful experimentation of The Style Council - undervalued and under-appreciated, but ultimately under-achieving - the second stage of Mr Weller musical journey seemed to falter and fade rather than burn out. So to stage 3. History now sees this release differently - as it deserves to be seen. At the time it was largely passed by, ignored and Weller's creative light was said to been forever extinguished. No we know that to be rubbish. He was starting out on a new journey; a solo one, unbridled, free of restraints and major label ineptitude and interference. Paul's future was uncertain; he was treading new ground, revisiting old favourite haunts and generally enjoying himself and the experience. Thankfully he survived the press backlash and disinterest to forge on to where he is now. Assured, sort after, and rightly highly rated. He's a fighter and think of the music we would have been denied if he wasn't cut from a strong cloth.

So finally, after the success of the deluxe edition remasters of 'Stanley Road' and 'Wild Wood' comes his first untitled solo release. Unlike some albums, time has been extremely kind to 'Paul Weller'. The remaster is excellent, the extra disc of demos, alt versions and b-sides worthy. Right from the days of The Jam Paul has prided himself on quality support material to his singles. The b-sides are great. His demos are an insight into his working process the stripped down versions are a valuable addition. Alternative versions, well the fans love them, but they don't eclipse the original album versions.

So to the meat of the offering. The remastered album is just a fantastic, a joy to hear. Passionate, powerful, full of experimentation and styles. A hint at the future, a nod to the past and definitely pure Weller. I'm not going to analyze the music - just buy it, listen, savour, embrace and enjoy. What you get for your money is a bargain - if packaging's important to you then it's top-notch. Double-gatefold style, with a booklet full of great pics, the song lyrics and an insightful essay by Lois Wilson. But buy it for the tunes and get a glimpse of a phoenix on the rise, burning brightly and full of expectation. We now know where it was heading. At the time Paul had no clue, but if this had proved to be the last offering it would have been a worthy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album has re-lighted my fire for the great man!, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I had not listened to the album entitled Paul Weller for some time but when I heard he was releasing it again with demos and B sides I decided that I'd invest my hard earned!! And am I delighted I did :). The demos disc is absolutley fantastic and the notes inside superb. I haven't stopped listening to it and would say that if you are humming and harring about buying it, just do it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Weller's Greatest album., 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Before all the buddying up with the dubious talents of the Gallagher brothers and members of the much lauded Ocean Colour Scene and their pale imitation of the mod and mod influenced bands of the 1960s there was a different Paul Weller.After the disaster of the last Style Council album(a Chicago house influenced "effort" called A new decade in modernism)in which Weller claimed Chicago house for a new generation of mods,a failed experiment which didn't see release till a decade after it was recorded,came this.

Weller had entered into fatherhood,loss of musical direction and more worryingly-writer's block then a short spell as the leader of the Paul Weller Movement .After a short spell of this he returned to the music which originally inspired him in his teenage years,the soul and funk of the 60's and 70's and bands like The Small Faces and The Action interspersed with the new influences of with the up and coming Acid jazz scene.So what about the songs?

The album starts with the delicious "Uh Huh oh Yeh",a fantastic Small Faces soul stomper with some flashes of hip hop in the instrumental breaks.a great opener by anyone's standards.Moving swiftly onto "I didn't mean to hurt you",a lovely ballad recalling the influence of Curtis Mayfield and with some fantastic soul stirring lyrics and some of Weller's finest singing to date.The album continues in this vain for the remainder of side one(if you had the old tape or vinyl) of the album except for the precurser to the "Wild Wood" phase Weller-"Bull Rush"-one of the finest songs Weller has ever written,a timeless classic and even displays a nod to The Who's "magic bus"in the outro.The beautiful "Above the clouds"closes side one with it's peaceful atmosphere and "What's going On" Marvin Gaye era song craft.Side 2 opens with "clues"a Traffic influenced jazz-rocker with some exemplary playing from Weller and his band into "amongst Butterflies" with it's great lyrics and vivid imagery contained within.great melody too.As for the rest of the tunes...have a listen for yourself...

Production wise this is Weller's most crisp,clear and fully realized album,Weller's voice is at it's most soulful and smoothest it would ever be whilst still retaining the gruff edge of old ,his guitar playing is at it's most inventive and playful with some of the most unusual Weller would ever employ and it's most technical for those interested in that sort of thing and songwriting wise this is a Weller revitalized and focussed on the job at hand.For me this is the last breath of the young Paul Weller before he would reach the more mature territory of the "Wild Wood"album and the "Stanley Road" era which for me was a mixed and patchy affair and i wish those oasis/OCS boys had stayed away from him and steal the man'ds credibility and soften the sharp focuss of his first two solo efforts.His best album,if only the reviews at the time of it's release had reflected that.Weller's best album...give it a spin,it won't let you down!

I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 22 Jun 2012
By 
A. Austin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Dont mess about, for any fan of the 1st solo album you need this. I think this is possibly his best album. very "of its time" in the early 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL WELLER (DELUXE EDITION), 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
You will not be disappointed with this purchase if you are a Weller fan or simply appreciate great music - this gives an insight to the master at work with a huge variety of tracks. NOT TO BE MISSED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back from the brink !!!, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Bluepaul (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is his first solo album after loosing his way a bit following the decline of The Style Council.
What a return to form. I loved it from first play and still love it today. This edition has an extra CD of demo's etc which only help to add to the enjoyment of the Master.
This album is a must if you don't already have it ( WHY !)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Weller (deluxe edition), 1 Dec 2009
By 
D. R. Wootton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Excellent as ever! - Weller at his best - you forget how good his first solo album was - good demo versions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great re-issue, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is the album that relaunched Paul Weller after stepping out of the gloom from the final days of the Style Council. Originally to be the launch of another band (the Paul Weller Movement that included actor Max Beesely), PW instead went back to basics and took the focus as a singer/ songwriter. Critically acclaimed and to my mind one of his best (equal to Wild Wood and Stanley Road). The man is a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition)
Paul Weller (Deluxe Edition) by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews