Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rock masterpiece
I totally agree with the first reviewer. This record contains 8 tracks of pure, inspired, guitar driven, fun american rock music. In short: a MASTERPIECE.

If you like Led Zep, Van Halen (in their prime), Jeff Beck and so on, you've got to have this record. I think that it's important to explain that anyone interested in this genre of music should have it, since...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by TED

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5-star album, overloud remastering
This is not a review of the actual music, which is one of the greatest ever hard rock albums.

However, I have to disagree with a previous review which claimed there was no loudness war issue in the remastered 'Rock Candy' version. Totally the opposite in my opinion - I find it brash and it just hurts my ears after a while. I've gone back to listening to my...
Published 17 months ago by AndyB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rock masterpiece, 16 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
I totally agree with the first reviewer. This record contains 8 tracks of pure, inspired, guitar driven, fun american rock music. In short: a MASTERPIECE.

If you like Led Zep, Van Halen (in their prime), Jeff Beck and so on, you've got to have this record. I think that it's important to explain that anyone interested in this genre of music should have it, since this record apparently never had the success it deserved.

Ronnie Montrose the guitarist has its own style, aggressive and sometimes experimental with great effect. Sammy Hagar the singer is excellent, and please notice: even if you're exclusively a David Lee Roth-Van Halen fan like me, you'll find him really good here because he was very young and it was his first record (13 years before he replaced DLR in Van Halen) and if you like this singer in general well I suppose you'll be in heaven. The rhythm section is awesome, especially the drummer.

To answer the comment on the first review about the sound : the remaster has been done by Jon Astley, the man behind the Who remasters, and Led Zep at the BBC for example. No loudness war here but dynamic music with an incredible guitar sound, and every instrument is really present. I think it does total justice to the sound of the record. And the booklet is very interesting.
I recommend this remastered CD over the regular WB one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud and Proud !, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
Heavy metal was never quite the same after the release of this album in 1973. US bands started to challenge the prominance of the British heavies like Sabbath, Purple and Zeppelin and "newer" bands like Van Halen, Y&T, Dokken etc owed much to this ground-breaking release. Brilliant production by Ted Templeman allowed Ronnie Montrose's blistering guitar to blast out classic originals like "Bad Motor Scooter", "Space Station #5" and "Rock the Nation" and a blazing cover of "Good Rockin'Tonite".

Unusually for the period almost all of the tracks were fast, and introduced a youthful Sammy Hagar with his throat-wrenching vocals. "Rock Candy" has one of the most recognisable drum intros in rock. It's not rocket science but when the guitar riff comes in it unleashes a power that only Black Sabbath ever matched from such a minimal combination. "Make it Last" also featured basic but huge-sounding drums courtesy of Denni Carmassi.

"Bad Motor Scooter" in its earliest outings went straight into the song. It was a stroke of genius for Ronnie Montrose to replicate the roar of a motor bike revving through the gears to take us into Hagar's great vocal. This has to be one of the most memerable rock intros EVER! Intros play a big role throughout the album with "Space Station" also having its place in rock history (am I the only one who thinks the main riff was inspired by "Paranoid?)

What is surprising is this was the bands first recording and they weren't following any trend. Ronnie Montrose was already a critically acclaimed guitarist and played with Edgar Winter on "They only come out at Night" and Van Morrison's "Tupelo Honey" But he became dissatisfied being a sideman and the rest, as they say, is history! But "Montrose" is not just one of the "best rock debuts ever" (as it is frequently called), it is one of the "best rock albums ever", period ! Contrary to the "poor sales" other reviewers refer to, "Montrose" achieved gold record status in 1977 in the States.

Every track sparkles with excitement and drive and, as mentioned elsewhere, there are hardly any overdubs. It's a tribute to the production that this album sounds every bit as good 30-plus years on! This new remaster offers slightly improved sound - clearer definition with more volume than the original Warner release. The superb booklet notes should be the deciding factor in going for this version rather than the slightly cheaper older CD.

The only drawback is the short playing time, but as older readers will be aware the louder the tracks were in the good old days of vinyl the less you could fit onto a disc. Some of these tracks are available on the "Best of", but Hagar left after the excellent, but more restrained, follow up "Paper Money", and the band went into decline. I'd urge you to buy this together with the follow up, rather than take the compilation option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5-star album, overloud remastering, 6 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
This is not a review of the actual music, which is one of the greatest ever hard rock albums.

However, I have to disagree with a previous review which claimed there was no loudness war issue in the remastered 'Rock Candy' version. Totally the opposite in my opinion - I find it brash and it just hurts my ears after a while. I've gone back to listening to my original CD version and just turned the volume up a bit!

Try opening the remastered tracks in Audacity and you'll see the lack of dynamic range. I find it the same for the RC remastered Ram Jam 'Young Ram' album too. Contrast that with the latest Black Sabbath or Queen remasters which have retained a certain warmth, almost vinyl-like quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEMINAL RELEASE REMASTERED AT LAST, 21 Feb 2010
By 
M. A. Kelly "Wild eyed loner on the edge of o... (Milton Keynes Centre of the Universe) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
A long overdue remastering of a bonafide rock classic.

Montrose had everything you want in a rock/metal band , extraordinary guitar player in Ronnie Montrose,rock hard rhythm section in Bill Church and Denny Carmasi and a swaggering sex-god vocalist in Sammy Hagar.

This cd is remastered superbly and is a hundred times more crisp and clear than my moth-eaten vinyl copy the vocals and guitar are in your face,the bass is solid and the drums sound like a herd of buffalo stampeding towards you.

Every track a winner but for the stand out is "Space Station no5" with a riff that influenced many( particularly suspect device by Stiff little fingers!.

Hagar was much maligned when he took over from Dave Lee Roth in Van Halen but in reality Montrose was the perfect apprenticeship as to my ears the bands are coming from very similar angles.

If you like Van Halen, Kiss,or any American Rock music then this cd should really take pride of place in your collection especially when you realise it was released originally in 1973 I think and stands as a precurser to many bands who followed in its wake.

Second Album "Paper Money" is also excellent although I'm hoping Rock Candy get the rights to that and remaster it too.

Essential purchase for any lover of quality rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding example of simple unpretentious 70's rock, 22 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
This is a strange title for the album called 'Montrose' when originally released. It contains classic examples of tight, stripped down and exciting rock music. Most of the tracks were recorded without overdubs and this gives a live, adrenaline rushing feel to songs such as 'Good Rockin Tonight' and 'Bad Motor Scooter'. Other tracks (in particular Rock Candy) are heavier with a fabulous drum sound and Ronnie Montrose going through his blues rock exercises. A young Sammy Hagar brings authority and passion to the vocals and tops off what is a loud, head-down, party of a record. When you have heard this, so many other rock recordings will sound over-produced and watered down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molten Gold, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
Heavy metal was never quite the same after the release of this album in 1973. US bands started to challenge the prominance of the British heavies like Sabbath, Purple and Zeppelin and "newer" bands like Van Halen, Y&T, Dokken etc owed much to this ground-breaking release. Brilliant production by Ted Templeman allowed Ronnie Montrose's blistering guitar to blast out classic originals like "Bad Motor Scooter", "Space Station #5" and "Rock the Nation" and a blazing cover of "Good Rockin'Tonite".

Unusually for the period almost all of the tracks were fast,and introduced a youthful Sammy Hagar with his throat-wrenching vocals. The 2 "slower" tracks, "Rock Candy" and "Make it Last" featured basic but huge-sounding drums courtesy of Denni Carmassi. What is surprising is this was the bands first recording and they weren't following any trend. But Montrose is not just one of the "best rock debuts ever"(as it is frequently called), it is one of the "best rock albums ever", period ! Contrary to the "poor sales" other reviewers refer to, "Montrose" achieved gold record status in 1977 in the States.

Every track sparkles with excitement and drive and, as mentioned elsewhere, there are hardly any overdubs. It's a tribute to the production that this album sounds every bit as good 30-plus years on! The only drawback is the short playing time, but as older readers will be aware, the louder the tracks were in the good old days of vinyl the less you could fit onto a disc. Some of these tracks are available on the "Best of", but Hagar left after the excellent, but more restrained, follow up "Paper Money", and the band went into decline. I'd urge you to buy this together with the follow up, rather than take the compilation option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic 1970's rock albums., 6 Dec 2005
By 
Roderick C. Wilkins (mitcham, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
Seminal classic 1970's album,up there with any 1st release by any band.Compares with Van Halen, Priest,Rainbow,Rush or Lizzy in the remarkable first album stakes.Good production by the brilliant Ted Templeman,great songs and original songwriting skills and guitar of Ronnie Montrose with Sammy Hagars vocals make this a welcome addition to your 1970's classic rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Colin "(52)" (UK and Azerbaijan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
I first bought this album on vinyl when I was 15 and it was first released. I have not listened to it for years.
Not only is it a great reminder of one of the rock classics of the 70s, the remastering and mix/quality on the CD is simply awesome.
Great driving rock and not a single weak track on it. It is even better than I remember it.
This is a must-have album in any rock/guitar fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric!!...Rock, 19 Feb 2007
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
Yes this is oozing with electricity, I 1st heard `Bad motor scooter` on the Alan Freeman sat show and could not believe the power coming through the air waves! .I had to get a copy and spread the word to my friends. Rock the nation,Space station number 5,The start to this does Tony Iommi proud fierce indeed, this is a scorchin debut and Ronnie is a fantastic gun/guitar slinger, the power chords are crisp and even.Produced by Ted Templeman of Van Halen and Doobie Bros production chairs, excellent,and the lyrics` flowers make me sneeze and prayin hurts my knees, Great stuff indeed.... stick my neck out here and say Sammy Hagar has never topped this album or the second Paper Money.. listen to Dennys drummin and think why did he eventually join AORockers 80`s Heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud and Proud !, 5 July 2008
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Montrose (Audio CD)
Heavy metal was never quite the same after the release of this album in 1973. US bands started to challenge the prominance of the British heavies like Sabbath, Purple and Zeppelin and "newer" bands like Van Halen, Y&T, Dokken etc owed much to this ground-breaking release.

Brilliant production by Ted Templeman allowed Ronnie Montrose's blistering guitar to blast out classic originals like "Bad Motor Scooter", "Space Station #5" and "Rock the Nation" and a blazing cover of "Good Rockin'Tonite" Unusually for the period almost all of the tracks were fast, and introduced a youthful Sammy Hagar with his throat-wrenching vocals. The 2 "slower" tracks, "Rock Candy" and "Make it Last" featured basic but huge-sounding drums courtesy of Denni Carmassi. What is surprising is this was the bands first recording and they weren't following any trend.

But Montrose is not just one of the "best rock debuts ever"(as it is frequently called), it is one of the "best rock albums ever", period ! Contrary to the "poor sales" other reviewers refer to, "Montrose" achieved gold record status in 1977 in the States.

Every track sparkles with excitement and drive and, as mentioned elsewhere, there are hardly any overdubs. It's a tribute to the production that this album sounds every bit as good 30-plus years on! The only drawback is the short playing time, but as older readers will be aware the louder the tracks were in the good old days of vinyl the less you could fit onto a disc.

Some of these tracks are available on the "Best of" compilation, but Hagar left after the excellent, but more restrained, follow up "Paper Money", and the band went into decline. I'd urge you to buy this together with the follow up, rather than take the compilation option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Montrose
Montrose by Montrose (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews