Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Link
This 4-CD set has a small subtitle on the cover: 1971 The Missing Link. Exactly. This is The Stooges after Dave Alexander had passed away, about one year after Fun House and featuring the unique line-up of Iggy Pop (vocals), Ron Asheton (guitar), James Williams (guitar), Jimmy Recca (bass guitar) and Scott Asheton (drums)... never before and never again. Other than Jimmy...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by Charles Miller

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Hardcore Stooges Fans Only
Although Easy Action have produced some excellent box sets in recent years, featuring The MC5, Iggy Pop, Sonic's Rendezvous Band and The Stooges, this is strictly for the hardest of hardcore Stooges fans.

These recordings are certainly of historic importance, but they are audience recordings and the sound is very poor, with Iggy barely audible on most tracks,...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by N. T. Procter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Link, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Charles Miller "objective clarity" (Baltimore, Maryland U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
This 4-CD set has a small subtitle on the cover: 1971 The Missing Link. Exactly. This is The Stooges after Dave Alexander had passed away, about one year after Fun House and featuring the unique line-up of Iggy Pop (vocals), Ron Asheton (guitar), James Williams (guitar), Jimmy Recca (bass guitar) and Scott Asheton (drums)... never before and never again. Other than Jimmy Recca, the remaining four members would to on to record Raw Power, but with Ron Asheton on bass. This release features the best of the best guitarists, slashing and burning through the material... two lead guitars!

Speaking of which, other than I Got A Right, these titles appear no where else... another unique feature within this package. Four concerts from the same tour are featured here and the songs played remain the same for all four shows.

Other things you should know: while a legitimate release, with permission of the surviving band members, who also will receive royalties, this is essentially a deluxe bootleg ...the recordings were made on lo-fi cassettes and have been cleaned up as much as possible by Easy Action. The result will either be less than hoped for by those who only want high-quality live material, but far more than expected for those of us who are used to bootleg-quality live material from that time period. The music manages to power through admirably (with the exception of Iggy Pop, who is somewhat buried) thanks to the efforts of those involved.

The packaging is also better than any Stooges bootleg that has gone before, housed in a thick book format with "bonus" replica Polaroids and concert ticket. One quibble is the disc holders are stapled to a rather flimsy cardboard stock, so mine is already separating. Be careful when opening!

In summary, this set is a revelation for Stooges fans. Again, containing material never released before with a never before heard Stooges line-up. It is as good as it gets for a bootleg (especially considering the source material) and was lovingly put together as a final package that will have an honored place on your CD rack. Perhaps this is not a good place to start for those new to The Stooges (due mainly to the less than modern sound-quality), but destined to be a favorite for completists and those who don't mind the less-than-perfect technology of the original recordings for the opportunity to hear The Stooges during one of their best power periods.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Hardcore Stooges Fans Only, 7 Dec 2009
By 
N. T. Procter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
Although Easy Action have produced some excellent box sets in recent years, featuring The MC5, Iggy Pop, Sonic's Rendezvous Band and The Stooges, this is strictly for the hardest of hardcore Stooges fans.

These recordings are certainly of historic importance, but they are audience recordings and the sound is very poor, with Iggy barely audible on most tracks, so in effect, you are paying for a box of not very well recorded instrumentals and a lot of audience chatter.

I really wouldn't recommend this unless you have everything else by The Stooges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punks Before Punk Happened, 29 Sep 2012
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
The music on this 4 CD live compilation is like nothing The Stooges recorded for any of their studio albums. It's Punk Rock in the purest, most authentic and most accepted modern sense of the word. The riffs are straight out of 1976, think turbocharged Sex Pistols or Damned.

Yet these recordings stem from the beginning of the decade, 1971, which Punk archaeologists have us knowing as a time when the New York Dolls or Velvet Underground were sowing Punks' seeds. Those bands may have had the Punk attitude and made an aggressive and unruly noise, but this collection provides unquestionable evidence that The Stooges were 5 years ahead of either when it came to creating an actual Punk Rock sound.

The only reason this material had zero influence on the development of Punk was because it was released almost 40 years after Punk happened. Had this music made it onto a studio album, Punk, as the modern world know it, would have been born in 1971. With that in mind one can only ponder what effect that may have had on the development of modern music, because there would have been no reason for the comparably sedate Ramones or Sex Pistols to exist. There would have been no Punk explosion in the UK in the mid-seventies because The Stooges would already have made that same noise, faster and more viciously and more lyrically offensively, five years previously.

But enough conjecture about alternative history. How does this CD set sound?

Well. If you're a hardcore Stooges fan you're probably used to bootleg quality live releases. And to the average ear these audience recordings would be considered as such.

But.

In the world of live Stooges releases the sonics of the first couple of discs of this set stand head and shoulders above anything that has come before. Anything. I cannot state that hard enough.

The sole flaw is that Iggy's vocal were captured at an incredibly low volume throughout, often being almost inaudible. But I would rather have that and a backing band with a greater slap-in-the-face clarity and power than what we've been used to with previous Stooges live albums. And what a band The Stooges were at this point, powered by (for the only time on record) a twin-guitar attack from Asheton and Williamson.

If only Easy Action would issue the first two discs as a budget priced double-CD, allowing more of the world to wake up to exactly how The Stooges were operating years ahead of their time.... and to lament how they never made it into the studio with this line-up or material.

So, to sum up. In the world of conventional live recordings this would probably rate one star. In the world of Stooges live recordings it's a solid 5. I'm removing one star simply because by virtue of being a box set its kept out of the hands of the masses.

So, 4 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, but be prepared ..., 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
Once you get used to the sound quality this set is amazing! It acts as a sort of sequel to Fun House, with half a dozen brand new songs that all slowly build to a chaotic breakdown. Just be prepared for the sound quality - you can't really hear iggy most of the time.

The band sound great and the sound quality of the instruments is relativley clear and powerful, but when the playing gets loud you can't hear much of what iggys singing, you can just tell that he's there. When i first got the set this really put me off. However, after a few listens i realised i really enjoyed having brand new ron asheton riffs and james williamson solos, with iggys shouts adding to the overall feel.

Personally, i'd also have preferred just one or two discs at a cheaper price(each CD features the same songs and i'm not enough of a fanatic to require every take in existence), but i dont mind ocasionaly shelling out for one of my favourite bands. If you have the three studio albums and the detroit demo stuff, get this next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great band, awful recording., 20 Nov 2014
As a hardcore Stooges freak this release filled me with excitement and anticipation. Firstly the majority of tracks appear for the first time and secondly, this was a line up that seemed on paper to be the equal of the original band. Jimmy Recca takes over from Dave Alexander on bass and the addition of James Williamson meant that this was a duel guitar line up together with Ron Ashton. I expected this to be the most sonically powerful band in existence, it aint. Ok, I know the recordings are lo fi to say the least and I'm well aware of Stooges bootleg quality being lacking, but the sound is dreadful! You wouldn't know there are 2 guitars, the bass is almost non existent and the drums come over as feeble, it's such a let down considering the calibre of the musicians involved. As for Iggy, well the vocals are unintelligible and way low in the mix. I wish this line up had made it to the studio so we would have a true document of their awesome racket but unfortunately this is all we have to go on.

It may sound hypocritical to say I did glean some enjoyment from these recordings, but then I've confessed that when it comes to Iggy I find it difficult to remain objective. This really is for die hard fans, certainly inappropriate as an intro to the band and I suspect even the hardcore will feel let down. With all the advances in technology it's a shame these recordings couldn't be cleaned up to a decent standard, perhaps at some point we get a true representation of the 5 piece Stooges, until then we live in hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Anders (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
Essential release covering the gap between Funhouse and Raw Power. While Ron Asheton does the lead/riffing James Williamson sticks to some mean rhythm guitar this set of never before published songs (Bar 'I Got A Right') is just sensational. Limited to 1.000 copies only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Of Historical Interest, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. A. D. Bickerstaffe (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action (Audio CD)
I am always pleased to hear material from lost eras in the history of good bands. This had all the potential with the shortlived Stooges' twin guitar era featuring both Asheton and Williamson. The quality of these live shows (each with the same set) is acceptable, and though much has been made of Iggy being off-mike and there being long delays between numbers, the real problem is that the riffs/themes are too simple and obvious - and they go on and on. The later Stooges era - post Raw Power, was much more creative and attractive by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action
You Don't Want My Name You Want My Action by Iggy & The Stooges (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews