Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaw Fire Rewards
The last (and first) album I listened to by Ian Shaw was his
2006 release 'Drawn To All Things : The Songs Of Joni Mitchell'.

It was a revelation. It's a brave singer indeed who
has the skill and self-belief to take on Ms Mitchell's
repertoire. Mr Shaw sang fourteen of her compositions
and lived to tell the tale! Bravo indeed!

His...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but
I'm not qualified to comment on the performance here, except to say that I know what I like and i like it - a lot. The recording is a different matter and that is hugely damaged by an excess of badly-judged echo. What a pity.
Published 20 months ago by Jim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaw Fire Rewards, 29 Oct 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
The last (and first) album I listened to by Ian Shaw was his
2006 release 'Drawn To All Things : The Songs Of Joni Mitchell'.

It was a revelation. It's a brave singer indeed who
has the skill and self-belief to take on Ms Mitchell's
repertoire. Mr Shaw sang fourteen of her compositions
and lived to tell the tale! Bravo indeed!

His new album is a small masterpiece. Voice and piano
(he accompanies himself) nothing more, nothing less.
The concentrated intensity of his performances are
riveting. Whether in a light-as-a-feather rendition of
Noel Coward's 'If Love Were All' or the brutally
exposed interpretation of Nick Cave's transcendently
beautiful 'Into My Arms', he remains focussed and wonderfully
attentive to the spirit of his chosen material.
It is an exquisite engagement.

Even an old warhorse like 'Who Can I Turn To ?' comes up
smelling of roses given Mr Shaw's careful love and attention.

His tone is warm and rich and he is not afraid of taking
the occasional risk. Throwing a falsetto line up into the
air with little fear about where it might land.

Final track, a simple but lovely piano arrangement of the
Welsh folk-song 'Watching The White Wheat', gives a gentle
and affectionate nod to his roots and closes the door quietly
on this comsumately conceived and performed collection of songs.

In some ways Mr Shaw might be thought of as a "singer's singer"
but 'Somewhere Toward's Love' really does deliver something
richly rewarding for anyone who might want to take the chance.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
Just BRILLIANT!
Esp. the title track - Somewhere Towards Love - the best song I've heard for a decade!
The antidote to manufactured pop: Real singing, real songs, just Ian solo at a piano :-))
Hugely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Shaw Does It Again, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore listening to this great collection of sensitive and well presented songs. I highly recommend this CD for anyone who needs to just take some time out and chill. Every time I get to the end of the CD I want to play it again - a sure sign of a great piece of work in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performer, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Keith Yates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
Saw this guy live at the Swanage jazz festival (apparently he's there every year). Superb performance from just him and a piano. Some great tracks on this album - especially "Give me Life" and the title track. Also loved his Joni Mitchel covers on "Drawn to all things". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photodiva, 14 Nov 2009
By 
Ian Shaw has been "the man" for years now, but I can't get enough of this CD. "Somewhere Towards Love", may be the best song I have heard this year. Haunting, yet joyful. Ian uses his voice in a way that new artists can only hope to achieve. To see him live is an experience that exhilarates you. I highly recommend seeing him and buying this CD. His kind of genius does not come round often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
I'm not qualified to comment on the performance here, except to say that I know what I like and i like it - a lot. The recording is a different matter and that is hugely damaged by an excess of badly-judged echo. What a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1st Class, Ian on top form., 24 Oct 2009
By 
Gary Lynch "Gaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere Towards Love (Audio CD)
One of his best todate. His voice is just fantastic. Will need to check when he is next at Pizza Express!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere Towards Love
Somewhere Towards Love by Ian Shaw (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews