Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Bargain
Fantastic 3 CD set. Morrissey says don't buy it because he doesn't get royalties. Don't be put off. 19 great singles and epic B-Sides make this an unmissable treat.
Some of the stuff is on "My Early Burglary Years" but this is way better.
Duet with Siouxsie Sioux is good - much better than 9-minute version of Moon River.
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by P. F. Clayden

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As per usual Amazon fail to package CDs correctly so the cases are cracked - learn Amazon from feedback others do!
By the way the actual CD was wonderful. Every home should have one to remind the occupants what a majestical figure Morrissey really is. Shame on you Amazon regarding the broken case and feeble attempt to package the product.
Published 3 months ago by Mr Mustard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Bargain, 20 Oct 2009
By 
P. F. Clayden "pclayden" (Dizzy London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
Fantastic 3 CD set. Morrissey says don't buy it because he doesn't get royalties. Don't be put off. 19 great singles and epic B-Sides make this an unmissable treat.
Some of the stuff is on "My Early Burglary Years" but this is way better.
Duet with Siouxsie Sioux is good - much better than 9-minute version of Moon River.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for completing your collection... or a great introduction, 9 Nov 2009
By 
D. Simmons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
Much of this music makes the last few Morrissey album releases seem somewhat lacking. But you're likely to already know this before you buy the collection. You're likely to already own half of the stuff in this collection. You don't need me to tell you that Disc 1 is essentially an extended Bona Drag, you don't need me to tell you that some of these B-sides are better than a lot of the album tracks on Morrissey's first few albums and also better than some of the singles that they were released with.

You'll either buy it to complete your collections or you could purchase it as a great introduction to Morrissey music. Either way, buy the collection, press play and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Krupskaya (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
A great collection of Morrissey's solo work including some excellent b sides and rareties. Some of the b sides outrank the singles they were released with. Added to this the rareties which it's hard to find elsewhere and you've got a hands down winner. This is indeed a bargain, and if you only buy one Moz album, make sure it's this one. At this price it can't be beaten. Excuse me, a Moz marathon beckons...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the first two albums, 10 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have mentioned (as with The Smiths)some of Morrissey's best songs can be found on the B-sides of singles and this box-set is a complete collection of every b-side from his EMI years including "Oh Well, I'll Never Learn" which was only available on the CD and cassette versions of Suedehead. Some of my favourite songs of all time are on this album, some of which like "Girl Least Likely To" I haven't heard for 15+ years, so to have them all neatly together in the correct order on 3 discs makes this very worthwhile not to mention the price.

Morrissey has asked fans not to buy this, but hey we spent our hard earned cash buying the singles on vinyl and CD in the first place, so I feel we have a right to this as Morrissey got plenty of royalties from their original releases back in the 80s and 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect collection of Moz classics!, 15 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
Liek other reviewers have mentioned, Morrissey has distanced himself from this box set and asked fans not to buy it.

Sorry Moz. I have to disagree with you here. Buy this set before you live to regret it. Having all the singles up to and including Sunny with all B-Sides included over 3 discs is so much better than the pretty but awkward release of a few years ago where you had each single individualy packaged in a flip top box set that meant you had to play each single seperately.

Aside from Suede there are very few acts around who take the time to produce quality B-Sides which you find here coupled with the single releases. If you are new to Morrissey or a long time devotee than buy this set, sit back with your headphones and enjoy all there is to offer over these three discs.

I travelled 7 hours by coach and train to see Moz in 2009 at Swindon only to get one songe before he left the stage for the night. If Moz didn't want me to buy this set then I can say this is payback for not playing your full show last year. ;p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in one place, a bargain, 7 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
It's great having all these singles in one place, from 'Hairdresser' to 'Swallow On My Neck', the quality control never falters. Peerless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a collection worthy of the man, 3 Jan 2012
By 
commodityfetish (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
It's good to see such a collection of work coming together for such a great price (compare what competitors charge for this and you'll snap it up from Amazon). It's a collection of the singles and B-sides (highlighted tracks on the sleeve are the A-sides, their B-sides follow them for great continuity). I've bought Morrissey 'best of' collections before, but they tend to be a bit hit-and-miss for me (some added that aren't the best, and some missing that are - and sometimes they lack flow or context). This, on the other hand, is a collection of really great tracks at a really great price, and some of the lesser known work is the best, as you might expect from such an artist (making this a necessary purchase for admirers of his work who haven't bought his singles before - you won't find many of these amazing tracks on other releases without buying these singles individually).

The man is obviously a massive legend, both as a solo artist and with The Smiths, but finding a legendary collection was something that I, personally, had found tough until I got this. Morrissey was fighting a losing battle against The Smiths for my playlist space, but this album has turned it around! A highly recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At this price you HAVE to own this..., 21 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Burgess "Martin Burgess" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
I've already got the CD singles box sets, so I didn't really need to have this. However, getting all the tracks onto 3 discs is handy because I can play them in the car without having to change discs every 3 songs and crashing the car. As the previous reviewer says, Morrissey has urged people not to buy this set as he hasn't received royalties from EMI for many years. In that case then, Moz, get yourself some better lawyers and accountants. How can such a big artist not receive royalties from such a big label...? Bizarre. I'm sure his troubles will be sorted, so buy this collection. Some of these b-sides aren't available elsewhere and - let's face it - Morrissey is probably the best b-side act since the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King of "B" sides, 5 April 2011
By 
David E. Carter (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
Just like his time with the Smiths,morrissey's solo recording legacy is haphazard. B-sides,bonus tracks & difficult to find songs littered all over the place,but that's what made it fun, because you knew that tracking down these songs would usually be worthwhile. As a previous reviewer said, it was only the Beatles who matched him for making absolute treasures hidden away,waiting to be discovered. Well, those days of searching are gone.It's all here for you in one glorious package at a mouth-watering price.
I enjoyed virtually every track on the set,( even the creepy,disturbing 10 minute version of "Moon River!" )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Significant Collection of Solo Material, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 (Audio CD)
And yet in such a relatively short period of time. This compilation, which comes in an box version of a regular CD case, exposes just how rich a vein of form Morrissey was in between 1988 and 1995. Maybe he had some songs left over from The Smiths years, but the number of albums he released in this period merely reinforces how exemplary he was.

Some of the songs that have gone on his countless greatest hits compilations are here such as 'Everyday Is Like Sunday'. 'Suedehead' & 'The More You Ignore Me...' are here, as are other standouts track like 'November Spawned A Monster' and the Jam cover, 'That's Entertainment'.

This is a must have for Morrissey fans, especially those wish to have only the best material from this time period and as such aren't keen to purchase every album of his from said period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8de5750)

This product

The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995
The HMV/Parlophone Singles 1988-1995 by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews