Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to see this franchise is still going strong!
Having played all the Age of Empires games over the years, this one is certainly the most impressive. In gameplay terms it is very similar to Age of Kings. The graphics are way ahead of its predecessors, especially now the whole thing is in 3D, and may be rotated to any angle. The AI always was a reasonably good player, but this one is much improved. It still does some...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Thomas Pots

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Seems good if you can get stated
hard to get set up and started also game after a while switches off and you have to start again ?
Published 6 months ago by Philip Moss


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to see this franchise is still going strong!, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Having played all the Age of Empires games over the years, this one is certainly the most impressive. In gameplay terms it is very similar to Age of Kings. The graphics are way ahead of its predecessors, especially now the whole thing is in 3D, and may be rotated to any angle. The AI always was a reasonably good player, but this one is much improved. It still does some stupid things though, like sending its army wandering through an enemy army, and allowing it to be destroyed without fighting back.

This series of games has always been suspected of cheating. I have to say I reckon it still does. I have played quite a few games in which the AI comes at me with huge armies of expensive units, yet when I invade their camp I discover it's all apparently funded by a couple of farms and trading post! That might have been okay decade ago, but these days it's a rather silly way to beef up a weak AI opponent.

The addition of trading posts gives players something substantial to fight about and defend, though the AI never seems very interested in acquiring them or defending them. Hence, you may send your explorer to build on most of the trading post sites without problem. The ships are more interesting and varied to use, though the much-loved "fire ships" of old are no more, it seems. It also lacks the ability to garrison buildings with anything other than villagers. That's disappointing, as this used to make towers very powerful (perhaps too powerful). I run mine on a really fast PC, but the save game feature still takes a staggering length of time to complete.

This collection comprises the original game, plus the Warchiefs and Asian Dynasties expansion packs. These give variety, on top of a game that already offers an almost infinite number of games. As with any game, it is worth downloading the patches, which fix a few bugs and improve a couple of things.

The single player campaign is a bit weak. The story has elements of Pirates Of The Caribbean here and there, complete with an unlikely-looking girl pirate. It's not exactly original. As ever, it pits you against waves of enemies that appear out of nowhere, while crippling your ability to fight back by preventing you from upgrading or building any powerful units, or building walls to defend a town. It's an outdated and frankly tiresome way to design a game. Having just a couple of blokes armed with a stick to fight off a huge army armed to the teeth, is not my idea of balanced gameplay, and it it certainly lacks originality. I played games designed this way 20 years ago, and I want something a bit more intelligent these days.

I am sure you won't be disappointed in AOE 3. It has all the fun elements of the previous outings, plus much-improved graphics. The campaign is annoyingly old-fashioned and boringly difficult to complete, but stick to skirmish mode and all is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite..., 3 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This is my favourite series (Age of empires) of game. Although not as good as Age of Mythology this comes close. Great story lines with videos. Another classic from the AOE series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but warning for Windows 7 ..., 20 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game is everything you want it to be - challenging, frustrating, addictive, etc. However, a warning for those installing on Windows 7. The ability to save games can be disabled on initial installation, which renders the game useless (unless you play it continuously). I did get around this by having to redirect the 'My Documents' folder on my computer, but given this is a game designed by Microsoft for a Microsoft platform, this felt like an inconvenience I shouldn't have had to do.

Overall, though, the game is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC DVD), 3 Dec 2009
By 
C. I. Hilton (lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game is an absolute must have for all AOE fans so most will probably already have the original game and both expansions. I was in the middle of moving house when the game came out so it passed me by at the time.
I have just bought this complete collection and have not stopped playing for over a month!!!
It runs perfectly on my VAIO laptop (running Vista).
There are endless civilizations & technologies to discover and the game carries on the theme superbly from AOE 2.
If you don't already have this (inc expansions) then you owe it to yourself to invest in it.
I got particular sadistic fun in picking off inocent villagers at long range with the array of fire arms now available!
If you don't already have it at this price the complete collection is an absolute give away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, War Chiefs was slightly disappointing though., 10 Jan 2013
By 
Christopher J. Campbell "Chris Campbell" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I absolutely loved Age of Empires 2 and so decided i needed to have this whole collection. I could talk for hours about these games, but here is a quick summary:

The Original AoE3 campaign is great and has loads of game play time in it. The new Home City feature of the game allows the chance for a lot of new tactics never seen before in the series.

War Chiefs is quite fun but the under-powered native american tribes that are a new addition in this game are quite frustrating to play with in skirmishes against a strong European opposition. Also, the campaign is really just more of the same as with the first installment, but this is not necessarily a bad thing if you loved the original campaign.

The Asian Dynasties was a fantastic addition to the series and the campaign offers a lot of diverse game play with the three new and very different factions.

Aesthetically, if you have a computer that is able to run the higher tier of graphic settings available in the games then the graphics are top notch (for their time) .

For the price i must say this boxset is fantastic value for money and is a must have for any fan of AoE or anyone interested in historical RTS games.

Hope this was helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor problem, 28 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
The age of empires installs perfectly on windows 7 , although the expansion packs do not work on windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Installed it!, 19 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I have just Installed it, therfore I will add to the review later. Just to say one has to be a nephew of Albert Einstein to get it up & running. However on first view, and I only have 1gb of Ram it looks superb. I will leave a further review later. All I can say is that Microsoft is Paranoid about being fiddled. I am extremely annoyed with the installation process.

I added the expansion pack. Played the Tutorial for 1 Hour. It is superb. I am an amatuer gamer and get fed up in 10 mins. This is different. The only reason I spent 1 Hour is because I have to rise early in the morning. Absorbing is the understatement. Really great stuff. Highly recommended for new and experienced gamers. Really it is not a Game but a fine History Lesson, 100/100.

Needs only 256 mg ram higher the better and runs on Vista..about all I can say. Watch out for the Installation though, a bit tricky.
Regards,
Greg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of entertainment, with very few drawbacks., 25 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I purchased this game after looking around for a suitable replacement to Command and Conquer, as recently their products have been below par, and I was surprised at how much i enjoy it. With both expansion packs it is easy to get overwhelmed by the amount of armies and what each army has to offer, but after a few hours I felt comfortable on a medium difficulty. I especially enjoy how you also manage a basic economy as well as an army, absolutely love the game and reccomend it to anyone who has played the previous versions or is looking for a strategy based game.
Delivery was on time, very efficient.
Definitely 5/5 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well then, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I did have some trouble installing, as have many others, but after restarting it corrected itself and worked perfectly.
From then on, the game itself was very good, and an improvement from the original, with the native American and Asian adding new elements and styles of play, although I found the native Americans to be rather difficult to play as. The new maps and natives were imaginative and added more to the experience. Honestly I haven't tried any of the other game modes, so I can't really judge how good they are. The campaign is certainly an improvement from the original, and more abstract and challenging then the original, with rather more interesting (and less cliched) plots.
Having said these things, the Native Americans and Asians don't seem quite as well rounded as the European races, and sometimes lacking in character. Their mercenaries are awful in my opinion, and that was one of the more interesting battle style in the original. Moreover, there seems to be an attitude of "how can we make this race different" which doesn't quite work (why do Indian settlers cost wood?! for example) and is rather hit and miss, but that's fairly hard to notice.
Overall, very good, but with some downfalls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but still fun, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
While the story lines in this series are short and the missions only last a short while you will still find this a great game to play. Works well on windows 7 64 bit and no issues with loading and playing. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD)
Age of Empires III - Complete Collection (PC CD) by Microsoft (Windows 2000 / 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £25.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews