Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Apologies
This is pure gold. The last time Kurt graced our shores and what a performance this was. In the modern festival coverage you see bands playing to crowds who really don't seem all that bothered but believe me when i was at this festival no one and i mean no one didn't want to see Kurt and the band blow us all away. That they did
The rumours doing the festival was that...
Published on 28 Oct. 2009 by S. C. Watson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Video quality
Sorry, but I didn't much like this DVD. The quality of the picture is very poor, as if a pirate video which has somehow made it to DVD. Some good music, though.
Published 14 months ago by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Apologies, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
S. C. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is pure gold. The last time Kurt graced our shores and what a performance this was. In the modern festival coverage you see bands playing to crowds who really don't seem all that bothered but believe me when i was at this festival no one and i mean no one didn't want to see Kurt and the band blow us all away. That they did
The rumours doing the festival was that hed had an over dose and was unable to play and that carter usc were set to replace, which was a damp replacement on a wet Sunday headline set
So when Kurt was wheeled on in a wheelchair and made a ridiculous but glorious entrance the scene was set.
The set included many banging numbers and some new stuff at the time but never a dull moment throughout, totally blinding
There wasn't one person there who wasn't touched in some way by this show and it remains one of the greatest sets in festival history
buy,enjoy and scream your heart and head off
Respect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The DVD is very well filmed and edited - it's just a wonder that it has taken Universal this long to make it universally available.

The performance is incredible for its energy and focus (I wasn't there... boo!) . "School", "Dumb", "Love Buzz" (for some reason left off the CD), and "The Money Will Roll Right In" are stellar. I think I prefer other live recordings of the band, but this is as amazing a filmed document as you could hope for. It is a joy to watch the interaction between Krist, Dave and Kurt onstage and the way the first two support a collective determination to make this a great finale, knowing the circumstances.

It puts the guitar band music of the present into the shadows, too... And Kurt's playing at this concert wasn't at its best, really. He seems to be putting all his energy into singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I always thought it was amazing that a three piece band could generate such a full, heavy sound and never is it more evident than here. This is loud, energetic, ironic, amusing at times, crazy, brilliant; everything you could ever want from a Nirvana gig. Most of the songs sound even better than they do in the studio.

Cobain gets all the credit, but it's Novoselic and Grohl who hold this together superbly; the former with basslines full of melody and rhythm, the latter with some of the most powerful, intense drumming I have ever seen. How he keeps his stamina up for the full two hours is incomprehensible. Cobain for his part puts on one of his best performances, although I think the first half of the gig sounds better from the guitar point of view before he switches to the Strat, which has a cleaner sound that doesn't quite suit his voice as well. It's only a minor complaint though, and unnoticeable after a few tracks.

Some extras would have been nice, that's the only real gripe I have with this DVD. Performance wise, it's pretty faultless, and the song list is perfect as well, with them blowing the more popular stuff out early and really kicking in for the second half. The ending is awesome. Glad this is finally out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone in music, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. C. R. Moore "craigisageek" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This DVD is long, long overdue but thank heavens it's here in all it's cleaned up glory after many years of scratchy bootleg versions. Nirvana blew all and sundry away with their set that evening, after all the scathing press ramblings regarding Kurt's personal life this set was a triumph. What's clear is the band's sense of fun and fearlessness in larking about. Take Smells Like Teen Spirit - probably their best known song but the band decide to sabotage it and morph it with Boston's More Than A Feeling! Can you imagine a band from today doing this in headline slot at Reading? Also, technical mistakes are here in all their warts and glory for all to see but this was what Nirvana were all about. Setwise this DVD is a belter - nearly all of the Nevermind album gets an airing along with rarer gems such Spank Thru, Aneurysm, covers of D7 & The Money Will Roll Right In AND early versions of Dumb and All Apologies. The start of Lithium will send chills up your spine as 40,000+ voices sing along with Kurt. 10 out of 10.

A must buy....also, stick around after the credits for a very poignant and previously unseen clip :) A sad reminder that a great talent was lost less than 2 years later - R.I.P Kurt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana at their best, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Bryant "CityTiger" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am a fan of Nirvan but not a die hard fan, I just like a lot of their music (rather than adore it!)

I got this as I work from home and its nice to have a music DVD on as the music is there in the background and when I need to look at something other than a PC screen I can watch the TV for a few minutes.

Anyway, it is a really good concert and includes many of Nirvanas best known tracks. A must for any true Nirvana fan and a pretty good buy even if like me you only like Nirvana rather tha love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost treasure!, 30 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Arthur "Axl" (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
About time that we had a proper gig that we all wished to have been there and where has this been for the last 18 years mind i do understand why they are releasing this miss world Courtney Love needs a nice bit of cash and so why not release it and i am glad they have. This really describes the nirvana of 1992 as well as Kurt Cobain. there set really will keep you glued to your set as songs mixed up from Nevermind, Insecticide and Bleach as well as stuff i didn't know of before but hey it's Nirvana and every time the record company scraps the barrel of Nirvana with putting countless Demo CD's and Live CD's to pay there wages. The sad thing is I love this DVD but Nirvana died along time ago as well as poor Kurt so sorry Mr record company executive but you gonna have to stop releasing stuff because soon all of Nirvana will be released but i bet there a few more tricks up there selves to come because all in all they want to buy the new Aston Martin. But apart from that the gig are fine and i really like the vibe it creates gives a taste of grunge and nirvana back in there prime and i am more than happy to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon, 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Jon Harman (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was there !!! What a masterpiece, it will stand the test of time. I think Kurt Cobain showed you don't have to be a great guitarist to put on a good show and credit to him. The hole weekend was a muddy,stinky mess but i think there will never be a better performance aired by them. Kurt RIP !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you don't already have this get it., 6 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
i already had the cd of this 1992 nirvana live at reading so i decided to get the dvd and i'm so glad i did. it's stateing the obvious but you get it all with a dvd - the visual which really puts the concert into perspective, and you get all the little things like inbetween song banter and when the band are doing mostly visual stuff that is cut out of the cd as well as a little addition of them on leaving to go back stage. the sound quality is excellent and you get less common tracks such as D7. any nirvana fan should have this whether or not they ever actually got to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'm currently trying to build my collection of music DVDs and this is a great addition. They have a lot of energy on stage and their live performance of some songs on the DVD are better than some of the recorded tracks. The sound quality is fairly good and the mix is decent. The only downside to this DVD is that there is no special features, it's just the raw footage of them playing, it would of perhaps been cool to have a few interviews or videos of the band. If you're a Nirvana fan then you should get this and watch it multiple times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible, 30 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As an individual who was too young to ever see nirvana live i can only imagine what it was like to see this once in a lifetime oppertunity. this dvd allows you to get a glimpse at the magic and an earfull into the glory that is of nirvana. MTV unplugged was good but this allows you to see and hear the true energy, talent and emotion of one of the best bands of all time. a must buy for ANY nirvana fan, grab a beverage, wack the sub on, turn the amp up and prepare to lose yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Reading [DVD] [2009]
Live At Reading [DVD] [2009] by Nirvana (DVD - 2009)
£8.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews