Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to buy!!!
THIS is the Lone Wolf and Cub boxed set to buy.

High quality dvd collection, beautiful colours, simply superb!

It includes Shogun Assassin as well, as a bonus!

Get this one...this boxed set is the definitive one to get...don't cheap out on cheaper box sets, as you may be dissapointed by picture transfer quality.

Picture quality...
Published on 20 Mar 2010 by R. Landon

versus
13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remaster flawed. Give it 2 1/2 stars.
I'm not going to get into reviewing LW&C as story, the series is fantastic. But the touted digital remaster is disappointing. Some of the problems are due to encoding film that has grain, this condition is often amplified in the digitizing process and creates noise (swimming pixels) as is the case here. Also the blacks are severely crushed. There is a total lack of gray...
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by Curtis Gomez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to buy!!!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
R. Landon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
THIS is the Lone Wolf and Cub boxed set to buy.

High quality dvd collection, beautiful colours, simply superb!

It includes Shogun Assassin as well, as a bonus!

Get this one...this boxed set is the definitive one to get...don't cheap out on cheaper box sets, as you may be dissapointed by picture transfer quality.

Picture quality is very good on this boxset. The best yet, I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life as Demons at the Gateway to Hell, 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Bought this boxset a few weeks ago. I have now watched all of them except Shogun Assassin. I remember seeing that a few years ago and enjoying it so I thought I would give the series a try. What a great decision. I thoroughly enjoyed every movie. Mass slaughter, hundreds of ninjas, huge eyebrows, beautiful Japanese women - what is there not to like? The central characters of lone wolf and his cub are well drawn and their relationship is touching and strange. The boy hardly says anything but has a very expressive face - he is destined to follow in his father's footsteps if he survives to adulthood. The babycart itself is a 19th Century armoured fighting vehicle which holds many secrets and nasty surprises. Life under the Shogunate was truly bizarre if these films are an accurate representation of the politics, the way of Bushido and social behaviour. Some of the acting is of the asian eye rolling variety but most of it is very good. The female characters are strong and in fact drive the plot forward in many of the episodes. The fight sequences are brilliant, breathtaking and outrageously over the top. Lone Wolf will not be stopped! The sleeve notes for each movie are excellent and give an insight into Japanese society as well as providing background information on the making of the films and character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finest finally remastered, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Finally someone took the initiative to remaster, what is in my humble opinion, the finest Samurai movies ever!
If your into, gore, blood splatter, swords and nudity, all delivered with intelligence and artistic flare; you'll love this.
I've waited years for this to be remastered so I can actually see what's going on instead of just black everywhere.
Well worth the money too as the box-set is beautiful and comes with the 80's yankee edited version of the first two films, re-titled 'Shogun Assassin'. Which was heavily sampled by Wu-Tang's main producers, the RZA's debut album, 'Liquid Swords'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody greatness, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
An epic story which is more about the action scenes than anything, but all the characters that come and go an engaging making it all the more poignant if they meet an untimely end.
The production quality isn't anything to write home about but this gives it some extra character, like a bad late night film you stumble across and can't stop watching for it's cheesiness.
The highlight of it all are the amazing action scenes with marathon fights with what feels like hundreds of samurai, to masterful assassins with incredibly unique weapons, to intense silent showdowns. It has it all.
Weather you have a slight interest or a fervent passion for samurai films (in which case you should already own these!), you can't go wrong with Lone Wolf & Cub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got lucky I guess, 6 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I got lucky I guess because I had this item sitting in my basket for a long time, over a year at least but wasnt tempted for the price, thats until a few weeks ago. I couldnt believe the amended price update so I grabbed it at a third of the above. Now onto the movies. This stuff is good and for 1972's even better. I only mention that due to my scathing review of Female Prisoner Scorpion Trilogy [DVD] seems readers did not like what I had to say about it. However this set of Lone Wolf & Cub is great. I dont know what one reviewer complained about the re-mastered picture quality, seems pretty good to me for an old '72.

So suggest you do the same as I did, keep it in your basket 'till your happy with the price.

If you found any of my words helpful to you please vote on it. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good viewing, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
I loved the original video when it first came out in the UK. This is the first time I have had a chance to see the whole series. Gets a bit outrageous near the end of the series but I enjoyed it. I have given the series a rating which is my own personal one, others may see this as a bit gory due to the amount of blood letting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest box set ever created!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
if you enjoy chambara, edo-era japan, bushido, and an indestructable protaganist, whose only goal in life is revenge, and raising his child to become a samurai. then you will love this movie.

my all time fav. martial arts film, very few can even hold a candle to the lone wolf box set.

for beginners, i'd suggest purchasing SHOGUN ASSASSIN, which is film 7 of the set. If you enjoy SHOGUN ASSASSIN, they you will also love the others.

best purchase of my LIFE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg just buy it now, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
good product
the tail of a samurai warrior and his son set out on a mission of revenge

good service
good god just buy it already,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true sword master!, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This is a series of movies that truely showcase the ulthmate weapon,the Samurai Katana.Probably best described as Japan's answer to the Western film genre.But so much better than the gunslingers of the wild west,anyone can pull a trigger,but it takes a real man to master the blade.Give me feudal Japan over the wild west any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Lone Wolf & Club Boxset, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Konnichiwa
An incredible set. Undervalued due to strong (but realistic) violence.
One of the best if not THE best, of a period long forgotten. For Ninpo followers - A MUST!
Sayonara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Lone Wolf & Cub Boxset [DVD] [1972]
£39.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews