Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD course for years!
This DVD course is absolutely what the church needs today across the denominations. It is designed to teach the foundations of the faith but also has an outstanding Q&A section with each session for those wanting to 'go deeper'. Clearly you can't make a systematic theology course which fits everyone's mould exactly but where Professor Grudem deals with contentious issues...
Published on 24 Aug. 2009 by Dr. M. Hutchinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality of the Content
Quality of content in places falls short of the Presenter's reputation. Still a valuable resource and useful for various contexts
Published 17 months ago by egor n


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD course for years!, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Dr. M. Hutchinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
This DVD course is absolutely what the church needs today across the denominations. It is designed to teach the foundations of the faith but also has an outstanding Q&A section with each session for those wanting to 'go deeper'. Clearly you can't make a systematic theology course which fits everyone's mould exactly but where Professor Grudem deals with contentious issues he is graceful and charitable clearly stating his position but explaining alternatives.

These are critical days for the church, we need to be clear what we believe and why; this course is essential material. For small groups, individual use or large church settings, it works for them all.

A gem of a resource and a must for the worldwide church!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Systematic Theology for Dummies, 7 Aug. 2010
By 
Ruth O'D (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
I may be an evangelical Christian, but I have to admit I usually heartily dislike the preachers on these type of teaching videos. Especially the Americans. They are too brash and overpowering, their teeth are too white and their suits too expensive. (I know I should learn to look beyond the outward appearance, but we all have our little prejudices, whether we like it or not). Anyway, despite being American, Wayne Grudem has won me over with his low-key style, his gentle, humble attitude and especially his dreadful hand-writing. The 20 'lessons' are presented in lecture format, so there is no emotive language, no cringe-worthy attempts to woo, cajole or convict the audience, no fancy gimmicks or tricksy editing. He just speaks, writes on a white-board, rubs out his mistakes, draws bad little stick figures and answers questions from a live audience - in short; he is like a real human being!

Wayne Grudem is well-known and respected in Evangelical circles for his Systematic Theology - and this series of lectures covers the same material in abridged form, starting with "What is the Bible?" and "What is God like?", covering theological topics such as man, sin and the person of Christ and ending with "What is the final judgement?" and "what is heaven?". The lectures are fairly easy to understand, and use plenty of everyday illustrations. Wayne Grudem's viewpoint is conservative, but he is not narrow-minded; on subjects that are of lesser doctrinal importance he generally outlines other points of view, while not being ashamed to tell us where he himself stands. I really like his approach and attitude, he is never vague and wishy-washy, but never dogmatic or offensive.

Such a series would be very useful for a church or Bible Study group who wanted an in-depth study into the doctrines of the Christian faith, or a good starting point for someone wanting to get 'into' the theological concepts outlined in the Bible. And if you find it doesn't go deep enough, you can always read his book!

Just a note - when I bought it this item would only ship to UK addresses, as I live in Ireland, i had to order it from a different source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
Fantastic! Everything I'd hoped for as a small group resource. Not seen a course that goes through key doctrines in such accessible details before. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its good to know, and its more than the basic facts, 15 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
very good, all believers should be able to see these at church. I thought it might have been really basic and that I and that I would not learn anything more than I already knew. However I was pleasantly surprised I learned something new in each session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding explanations of Christian Truth. (35 minutes flies by), 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
Exceptionally clear explanation of the truths of the Christian faith.
Helpful. Liberating. Refreshing. Good for all Christians singly or groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quality of the Content, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Beliefs DVD Box Set (PAL): Twenty Life Transforming Truths by Wayne Grudem (x6 DVDs + Full Colour Study Guide) (DVD)
Quality of content in places falls short of the Presenter's reputation. Still a valuable resource and useful for various contexts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews