Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars early doors black keys, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
well it was one of their first, and it is definitely influenced in a major way by the blues. But, the black keys do it so well, if you like the band, i would add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
So glad I finally discovered The Black Keys. Everything I love about music. Hard Row is amazing, thank you Black Keys for restoring my faith in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect album, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
I think their best album is the first one but here music is mixed better. Tune, loudness, brightness are a step over their debut album. You have to get both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVY BLUESNESS, 11 Jan 2013
By 
M. Clark "stig" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
ANOTHER CLASS CD THAT DESERVES CREDIT .THEIR HEAVY RIFFS THEY PUT OUT AND DRUMMING MAKES PURE HEADBANGING TUNES.BUY IT!!!!
TO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Astounding, 24 Aug 2012
This review is from: thickfreakness LP (Vinyl)
I bought this album on CD way back when, after hearing "No trust" on a free Mojo Magazine giveaway.I thought I had heard a cross between John Spencer, Canned heat and the white stripes. The Stripes being my favourite at the time, my head was blown and there was no going back.
"No Trust" is probably still the stand out track on this album,but set you free" is a close contender and the cover of "have love will travel" is probably better than the original. Surfice to say that "Midnight in her eyes" is very remaniscent of Jack Bruce and Cream. I cant hep but feel that this is the band my highly regarded White Stripes can never be.
Its because of this band that the Stripes,can never fulfill potential,I hate to draw the obvious comparison but it is unavoidable, sure you can listen to white blood cells and tap your foot a bit. Thickfreakness Drags you up by the jock strap -you were unaware of wearing, Throws bourbon and marlbrough down your throat, sends you to work in a vulcanisation plant and then throws you into a tar pit afterwards. Its Blues, Its raw, its Astonishing in its musicianship and it has attitude in tanks.It some how manages to retain the energy of a one hit take with overdubs yet displays a tightness and mutual symbiois rarely seen from a duo act in this genre. The Krankies it aint
This album was a major defining moment in my listening history and turned me away from my beloved old school hip hop for a while and back to colon shaking tremelo bass, Distorted but tuneful and recognisable vocals, Blues songs with meaningful and melodical hooks and charisma to send them sky high.
My Wife has just started listening to ""El Camino, altgough that is a fine album more accessable Im guessing for the top 40 with shades of Garage punk, this will always be the best to me and after all this time it never fails to make the hairs stand up, when you turn it up.
Also check out " Rubber Factory" if you like this and "blackroc" if you have an interest in alternative hip hop.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 31 May 2012
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
Not as good as rubber factory but still a huge album to add to your collection. I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thickfreakness, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
After quite a few years of owning this album I still really enjoy listening to it every time its played. This is a sure sign of good music. One of the early Black Keys records but still a must buy. Really great songs. Thanks to the Black Keys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 29 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (MP3 Download)
Growly, gritty, distorted and high octane. This has it everything you'd want, need or expect from a two piece blues rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the roots but not back to basics., 14 Nov 2005
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
Many people will probably say that this is not really a back to the roots of the blues type of album, but to a more of a ‘rock’ audience this is. However in no way would I say this is a bad thing. The Keys are absolutely superb. Released in 2002 after their first smaller album ‘The Moan’ the Keys first full length album is sensational. Songs like ‘Busted’, ‘Do the Rump’ and ‘Countdown’ all seem to posses such energy. This is hugely helped by the great guitar and vocals by Auerbach and the drumming by Carney has you tapping your foot in seconds. This is definitely an album with more of an original rough bluesy edge than the second and third albums by the Keys (which are also superb). Must say I was a bit confused by the last track which is very much different from the rest of the album but I will leave that be to be analysed by the experts in this genre. All in all a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Oct 2014
By 
A. J. Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
This is a great album; more raw blues and not so polished as more recent cd's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thickfreakness
Thickfreakness by The Black Keys
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews