Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2003
Ah, at last!!!! The proof that you can be ethical, spiritual and successful in business. Michael Roach, is the first American to achieve the Tibetan degree and title of Geshe. This took him 22 years of hard study and practice - not a light task. He was challenged by his teacher to prove that the Buddha’s teachings worked in the "real" world by applying them quietly and without fanfare in a business context. Despite his initial reluctance Michael Roach took up the challenge and helped take a diamond business from a start-up with a $50,000 loan, to becoming a company with a turnover of $100 million per year.
Of course it's great to have inspiring stories to leave you feeling uplifted, but Michael Roach also provides the tools he used along the way as well. Some of these may be fairly familiar to readers, such as the idea of "setting the day with silent time", but I suspect that the "six-time book" will be new to most (try it and be amazed!).
The six-time book can be used in conjunction with his list of 46 common business problems and their "real solutions" based on the wisdom contained on a Buddhist text known as the Diamond Cutter. The text of the Diamond Cutter is woven in throughout the book, with commentary by a Tibetan Lama from the 17th and 18th centuries and further explanation by Michael Roach himself.
I found this book fascinating, informative (I knew nothing about the diamond trade before reading this), challenging, uncomfortable in places when I used it and looked at some of my own patterns of thought and behaviour, difficult in places, but overall a most rewarding and helpful book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you have failed in business or succeeded but remained unfullfilled this book is full of advice for an alternative way. Michael Roach shows how the only difference between success and failure can be the way we percieve that business. The Diamond cutter also can be adapted for most areas of life. I have never been so enthralled by any book, I will use this as a guide for my future knowing it is a holy way of doing business, if there is such a thing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
I have read a lot of books about buddhism. But this one is par excellence the best in regards to business and a sustainable business approach. A must-read for buddhist managers and those who want to become one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I bought this as it was recommended from a business perspective. However, I think it also covers many topics about every day life as well. I found it a really challenging & interesting book, & definitely one I will be re-reading.
Basically, one of the main premises is that every thing you experience is due to the fact that you once acted like that. E.g. shouting & unreasonable boss - means you once were like that to some one else.
I'd really recommend it, a thought-provoking read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
If like me you had never imagined Buddhist principles could be used in a business environment you are in for a very pleasant surprise. The author interprets Buddhist teachings in such a way as to make them simple for everyday use. The result are powerfully beneficial to all concerned as well as to the bottom line. If you take these principles on board they have the capacity to transform dealings with colleagues,customers, suppliers & even rivals. The results improve the working environment, customer & staff trust, happiness & satisfaction all round as well as having the potential to dramatically increase the business's profitability. I am not a Buddhist & you certainly don't need to be one to enjoy this book. Read it & be inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2005
If you want to learn how the world (business or personal) really works, than look no further. Geshe Michael Roach is a Buddhist monk that proved an ethical way of life is the best way to a profitable and happy life. I have not only read the book but seen him teach live and he most definitely knows how the world works and has no fear of telling it the way it is. A very down to earth straight forward teacher that will inspire change, if you want it. So don't just read the book, try out the advices for a few months and see your life improve.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
A great book to have an overview about buddhism in society. Ancient comes to present. Good to have close for understanding meaning of live.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I had built my hopes up that it was going to be a great guide in my daily business and spiritual life. If you are at ease with slow thinking, take your time and read it, I am sure you will get a lot out of it. If you are looking for a handy book to dip in and out of for good ideas, look elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
This book is invaluable to everyone no matter what faith you believe in. Great ideas about how to balance work and life to allow more ideas to flow in all areas of your life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
If you are in management especially, if you truly want success (and to make friends) this is how you do it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)